Futurism logo

The Sting of the Scorpion

Scorpio

By TMPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I am an early November birthday, therefore my astrological sign is Scorpio. I have always been a passionate person, especially about things I truly believe in. Let’s just say I am almost 100% trait for trait a true Scorpio.

I wasn’t really sure what to believe as far as astrology goes. That being said it’s probably my life long interest and intrigue with science, with astronomy drawing the most of my attention. I definitely remember my astronomy teacher from high school proclaiming astrology as a pseudoscience that was made up for entertainment purposes for people to waste their time questioning more of life’s unknown answers and meanings. At the time it sounded a little harsh but he was a very intelligent guy, and passionate about effectively passing along his knowledge.

I don’t remember exactly the first time I looked into what traits a Scorpio stands out with. I definitely know that it wasn’t until within the last ten or so years that I was intelligent and self-reflective enough to really comprehend what types of people we are. I can’t speak for anyone else but I definitely believe it means something, well heck, a Scorpio is truly me.

The good, the bad, the ugly, all of the above. Let’s be honest, how many of us can truly see and admit to ourselves who and what we really are? I’m by no means perfect but I can definitely say that, at least within myself, I now can.

Scorpio strengths are listed as being resourceful, brave, passionate, stubborn, and a true friend. I am definitely the first four, but the true friend trait I’ve come to question some. I don’t really make much effort towards friends like I used too so therefore I’m in doubt. However, I would still be just as loyal and supportive if I were to ever be called upon by anyone that I grew up close to. So...that means something right?

Our weaknesses are that we are distrusting, jealous, secretive, and violent. I definitely agree with the first three. Violent.... I’m not physically violent but I have been known to think or say some violent things while consumed by anger. Not proud of it but it’s the truth so.

We like the truth, facts, being right, long-time friends, teasing, and a grand passion. Again I’m pretty much all those things, just not sure what my grand passion is yet. However, I’ve believed for my entire life that I definitely have one, just still haven’t found it yet. I wake up everyday with faith that I will eventually. As far as dislikes go, dishonesty from others is the worst thing you can do to me.

Scorpio’s are very passionate, loyal, leaders and they may take their time to earn your trust but when you betray us, it’s almost a definite that it will be extremely difficult to win us back.

The big head scratcher I’ve come across is that in intimate relationships we need to be the dominant personality but that really hasn’t been me. I’ve had two relationships in my adult life combining about 15 years in which the other was definitely the dominant party. That being said both of those relationships have not worked out and I’m now 40 years old and alone. The positive upside that keeps me going is that maybe they really weren’t the right person for me so what does that say...? Definitely something I’ve been working through.

The other trait that really draws my interest is the fact that it takes us some time to really fall in love with another. That is definitely true. It also says that when we do we are very committed and truly give it our everything to these rare situations.

Through the ups and downs that life has thrown at me I’ve always had a, hard to explain, feeling of some kind of greater purpose. There has also been many times I look in the mirror and tell myself to wake the heck up, grow up, and let that childish fantasy go. I’m not saying I dwell on this every day, but when I’ve been at my lowest of lows it’s been just enough to continue moving forward.

I’m not one to sit around questioning why this and why that, at least not anymore. I definitely have had my moments consuming my consciousness with plenty of that type of thought. Instead I now use this to find confidence after I’ve lost it. To improve from mistakes I’ve made. I try to offset my weaknesses with my strengths. I, quite simply, just don’t give up. I am not at a place in life I pictured myself being in at this point in time but I just somehow know there is more to come.

Well I suppose it’s a good place to look back at what I was once told by my high school astronomy teacher to say I definitely believe in my astrological sign. Almost all of being a Scorpio is more me than I ever thought possible. Yes some of it depends on how I have translated it to me, but it’s true enough for me to have no choice but to believe it means something. I can’t speak for anyone else but it truly has been an amazing, spiritual experience for me.

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

TM

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.