Futurism logo

The Stars Deemed It So

My destiny is written in the stars

By Eloise Robertson Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Stars Deemed It So
Photo by Denis Degioanni on Unsplash

From the day I was born the stars dictated the kind of person I would be today. In their essence they are energy, power, grace and blinding beauty. How is it that these impressive entities were aware of little old me, my own essence but a spec, a tiny life born an eternity away from their presence? My life is only a small blip on the timeline of the universe. The stars, by comparison, are wizened in their old age. They have seen generations of humans born, witnessed our growths and challenges, our wins and losses, and been present for our deaths. Who else but the stars would know from the instant I was born who I am destined to be for the rest of my existence? They have studied humankind for so long there is a very slim chance that they could be wrong in their assumptions of me. Unfortunately, though, the voices that speak on behalf of the stars above us can spread lies. Blessed we would be if we could bask in the stars’ presence directly, hear their whispers and stare in awe of their immense power but unfortunately we cannot come close enough to them to reveal their secrets entirely. Their knowledge of us may be twisted or lost as we pick out what information we can from so far away, and from the few who claim to know the stars’ best.

On the day of my birth the stars aligned and it has been deemed since that I am an Aquarius. This is a fact that I cannot change; only the divine souls who know the stars best can pass on their knowledge to me or change what is known about the star signs.

According to the stars, I am a water-bearer, a soul who is fated to bestow water or life upon the world. I have been considering not having children. While this might seem like I am refusing to bestow life, I am indeed choosing to save those that already exist by putting less strain on the planet. The stars believe I am a humanitarian. They also claim that I am a rebel who will no doubt incite social revolution, despise authority and social norms and give power to the people! I have not done any of this yet . . . but the all-knowing stars could not be wrong! Perhaps this is something that lies ahead of me yet.

Because of the date I was born, it is in my nature to focus on implementing large scale reform at the risk of seeming distant in relationships with family and friends. I am distant, but not because I am too busy organising a revolution. It is because I am quite simple and empty-headed, even though the stars have nominated me as being a big thinker like the many they have seen come and go throughout humankind’s history. They are 50% correct then! That isn’t a bad score, is it?

The stars will see me fly high and thrive off shock value, holding freedom dearly and exercising my stubborn streak! Or will they? I am actually a very amiable, agreeable person. I would rather not create waves that rock the boat and instead sail smoothly. Maybe the stars were wrong? I was actually supposed to be born a week later but I arrived early, just early enough to be considered an Aquarius.

Was I actually supposed to be a Pisces? Perhaps my fellow humans who study the stars and spread the knowledge held by those glowing entities had classified me incorrectly. A Pisces is said to be a deeply intuitive person who thrives in small groups of people, operating as two halves: their internal and external self. The humans the stars have aligned to class as Pisces are rarely lonely when in their own company, entertaining themselves with their imagination, reading, art, music. That sounds like me! The stars were right all along! I was supposed to be born a Pisces but my birth date had to change last-minute. Of course, this was out of their grand control. The stars have watched me, a Pisces born in January, enjoy being alone while exploring visual media and music and disliking any criticism. The stars expected to see me pick up on all social queues and deep emotions being almost psychic, but I have fallen short of their expectations once again.

As I wonder where my place is in the world and if I remain in the stars’ great gaze, I realize why both the Aquarius and Pisces traits are only partially correct. It is because I am human. Humans are unique; no one of us is exactly the same so how could we all fulfill our star sign in exactly the same way? The stars in the universe knew long ago the complexity of human beings and did not limit us with their expectations. They gave us so much room to grow, so many different pathways we could take while still living up to our star sign. I am exactly what the stars showed I am destined to be: I am human.

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Eloise Robertson

I pull my ideas randomly out of thin air and they materialise on a page. Some may call me a magician.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.