Futurism logo

The Star Sunderer

An ancient temple, an otherworldly evil...

By jamie kenePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Star Sunderer
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

I raised my plasma rifle up and fired three large simultaneous bursts.

The phosphorescent electrified bright green substance singed the air.

The effect produces a scent similar to burning rubber.

I wasnt sure what would emerge from the portals that precluded this black abyss of nightmares.

I clutched the golden emerald jeweled amulet dangling from around my neck and cursed it.

Cursed it for bringing me here. Of all the infinitesimal realms in existence why on earth would I have landed here?

Momentarily distracted by my thoughts, I just barely dodged a large circular object which came hurtling at me from within one of the portals.

It ricocheted off the wall of the chamber and fell crashing and rolling to the floor.

In its ubiquity, I could plainly make out its distinction. It was a large bulbous object, a fleshy grey color.

There was a sort of hard calcified chalky white layer of resin encrusting its outer dimensions, fractured and segmented in several places.

All over it juttingly sharp shiny black and purple  boney spike like appendages protruded from a fleshy red and blue veiny interior.

The object rolled about then proceeded to seethe and pulse rather synchronisticaly.

Allowing me the stark realization that it in itself was an actual living breathing being!

As I stared at it in amazement, another almost identical object came hurtling towards me.

Only this one was far larger, and came at me with much more violent speed than the first.

I barely managed to dodge the damnable thing, as it whirled passed me with such devilish fury.

Clutching my weapon in both my hands, I dipped and darted free to a safe position.

While at the same time firing off several more rounds of superheated plasma from my gun straight into it.

As they made contact with the strange spikey orb, I noticed that a peculiar thing began to happen.

The supercharged green matter seered its countenance, producing a sort of cytoplasmic steam.

I heard a shrill high pitched whistling noise, like the kind a tea kettle makes when it becomes too hot.

This noise emanated from the thing as it started to ripen and swell. The red and pink veins of its fleshy interior began to bulge and its pink color darkened.

It started rolling about feverishly, incessantly increasing its speed as every moment passed.

The whistling noise became even more shrill and the bulbous thing began to bounce up and down as if in frantic excitement.

In astonishment my old eyes watched from beneath my helmet's blue crystalline visor, as the smaller orb then rolled up to the larger one.

It too began to bounce up and down, mimicking it's larger sibling and gradually increasing its movement speed until they both were in perfect consistent harmony.

Not knowing what to make of this strange display, I steadied my weapon closer to my chest and backed away slowly into a far corner of the chamber.

Both of the spiked orbs bulged and swole to almost twice their original sizes.

Suddenly, both abruptly stopped bouncing, the whistling noise ceased and they stood silent together.

Then with a speed that defies all human description, they both rolled straight at me.

I fired at them, but they came on with such a sheer velocity, it was only possible to get off two rounds.

The only thing I had time to do was hold my arms out in front of me in a feeble attempt to protect my body from the impending confrontation.

One of the boney protrusions jabbed straight into my palm.

I felt excruciating pain from underneath my brown gloved hands.

Despite it's sharpness, it did not actually puncture the synthetic polymer material, but I was still unfortunate enough to feel its impact.

Once both orbs had made contact with my body, they both exploded in a gory, bloody mess.

The force of this blast sent me hurtling backwards off my feet, knocking my plasma rifle completely out of my hands.

The base of my skull collided with the wall of the chamber and I was temporarily stunned.

My armor was now completely saturated with bright purple blood, steaming bits of entrails, and large wet pieces of "meat".

Wiping some small portion of this smudge clear from my visor, I was greeted by an even more horrific sight.

For through the black squalid abyss of one of the portals came a being of such terrible countenance the entire chamber shook.

It stepped out from the desolation of some hellish dimension. Mighty and terrible to look upon.

A towering ten foot tall, orange golden furred, cyclops. With a single large smoldering turquoise eye, crackling and pulsating with vapoarisic energy.

Its skin was like that of an ape yet possessed of a soft lustrous almost metallic brown sheen.

Large and heavily muscled, the creature let out a raucous bellow that shook the entire chamber and sent slivers of fear dancing through my heart.

It's two massive arms were raised high over its head, each ending in long red dagger like tendrils.

Its huge oversized sloped head bobbed from side to side as it roared and reared blasphemies too unspeakable to name. The mouth was a large vacuous cavern of jagged gnashing yellow teeth. I could detect no tongue, just a bleak dark hollowing full of endless junctions of teeth.

The ancient amulet I wore around my neck not only granted me access to lost dimensions of time and space, but it also gave me the ability to communicate with otherworldly beings.

Almost Instantaneously my mind latched onto the full parameters of what the creature was saying in its deafening display.

"Defiler! Defiler! You will pay for your vile transgressions! I am O'uukagg'ta-the star Sunderer! Scourge of the cosmos and conqueror of a thousand worlds! It is I who first spawned from the swirling storm of chaos and crept through the infinity of the black flame! I who slew Jagabada and covered the very stars in her blood! This is my temple you've no place here! You have desecrated my sacred altar and slain my children! Now I will feast on your blasphemous soul for all eternity!"

I rose to my feet and steadied my plasma rifle. Holding it in one hand, I unsheathed my sword and held it high in the other. I let out an ancient Kushite war cry...the spirits of my ancestors!

Then I ran straight for the creature.

As always, I go forth ready to meet death head on.....

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

jamie kene

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.