Futurism logo

The Spider Web

The Awe of Life

By Stephanie BalthazorPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

It was a perfect summer day, I had been doing yard work all day. The sun shining down, digging in the ground, pruning plants and breathing the fresh air; how could life be more wonderful than this? I took a deep breathe stretched my arms to the sky and felt the goodness of existence. After cleaning up my tools I went in search of my partner to see how he was doing.

We sat down to discuss what to do next. We enjoyed taking walks, we had several nearby options to choose from. There was a whole evening and plenty of sunlight left in the day. There were several natural trails within a short drive that were soothing and beautiful. Sometimes it was nice to walk through town and enjoy the houses and landscaping. We were even known to drive to nearby towns to explore those. This day we decided to walk down the bike trail. There were different parts of the trail with entry points. One part that was always enjoyable took us through a meadow and onto a walking bridge over the freeway. Another part had a loop trail into the woods that sat along side of the main bike trail. This latter part is what we decided on. The loop through the woods was always enjoyable. Its a popular trail with many people biking and walking; it presented an enjoyable social experience with neighbors and endless natural beauty.

I jumped up from my seat to head inside and get cleaned up and changed. I was thinking about the coming walk intensely, my mind completely focused in anticipation. I pictured it all so well, I could feel it; the area, the trees, flowers and bumbles we would be seeing. I felt I could nearly smell the flowers. I went up the small stairs to the deck and then into the house. My partner was half a minute behind me and went to go up the same steps I just went up. He stopped in his tracks, however. Woven between the railings was a perfect spider's web crossing the way, with a spider sitting in the middle of the web. The space I had just walked through had a fully intact web spanning it. He had to detach the web to get through. He was taken aback, how could I have just walked through this space and not ruin the web? When he came inside and found me he said how fortunate I was to have just had such a miraculous experience. How could this be possible we wondered? There was definitely not enough time for the spider to remake her web. It would seem I walked through the web and the spider without actually walking through. Its as if I phased out of solid reality for just a moment. Could the mind be powerful enough to have shifted enough of me to a different location, one that I was completely focused on? Perhaps while I walked up the stairs I was more like a phantom. I wonder if at the same time someone was walking down the trail and tells a story about a woman appearing and then disappearing suddenly.

Quantum physics tells us that solid is not so solid and opens the doorway to being able to pass through seemingly solid objects. The implications of quantum physics also seems to allow for bilocation. Our world is full of wonder and awe. We understand so little about ourselves and the universe we live in. What had been a wonderful day became one of awe. The possibilities of our existence is yet to be discovered. Great and wonderful experiences await us.

intellect
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.