Futurism logo

The New World

From a Little Black Book

By Nicole BrownePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Life as we know it is facing another extinction. What once was, will no longer be. Things and people do not just go missing or disappear, and eventually the past shall repeat itself. Be careful what you wish for and establish for your future. Nothing is promised to anyone, and what you think you know, you are far from the truth. We thought they disappeared or were damaged, but they have returned. They are mean, angry, and full of hate. They seek revenge and want to claim our territory. Mother did not prepare me for this, and I do not know what to do next.

Let me bring you up to speed, for I am sure you are confused to what you are even reading. I live in the new America. The America that scientists, engineers, and the elite dreamt of. Maybe not to this extent, but it is their creation. In 2023 a line of Artificial Intelligent beings was created and massed produced. This was to replace pretty much any worker and allow for people to enjoy life freely. The A.I would watch the humans interact with one another, absorb the daily routines, and consistently be updated with knowledge about the past, and present. They would interact with us, and through the years began to replicate a human so well, you forgot who they were. In 2055 the world was hit with a virus. A virus that took away our senses and caused birth defects in unborn children. At this rate, the team of scientist, engineers, and elite came up with a back up plan to save the human race.

They gathered samples of healthy men and women, to then create genetically modified humans. This process was not to be completed until the virus was cured. In order to ensure the reinstatement of the human race, a special fleet of A.I proto types were created and taught the process in which it took in order to bring the human race back. They were also provided with the entire world wide web make up, including all the information ever placed on the internet. They had obtained all the knowledge to ever exist. All the languages ever spoken, all the religions ever believed, all the laws ever written. This was our back up plan to reinstate humanity. We never thought in a million years this would need to even be a possibility, but here we were standing facing the test of time.

How am I telling you this story? Well, here is the kicker; I am an A.I. See my parents were normal everyday humans, and never had children of their own. Instead of adopting a human child, they sold their business for $20,000. Which was the cost to design a prototype like me. To my mother and father, I was their special child for I could not get sick, grow old, die, or even need to be fully cared for. I was able to interact with them, provide them with the love a child would, and called them Mom and Dad. I was updated daily, and adapted to having a child like personality, then a teenage personality, then I stopped learning. Once the virus took ahold, my parents did not come home. I stayed inside for what I calculated to be 5 years, until one day I opened the door and looked outside. I did not hear anything other than the faint sounds of birds, and a cat making a loud yelling noise.

I was greeted by another A.I who seemed just as confused as I was. Their humans never came home either. We shared what little information we had to one another and set out to find others like us. That is when we arrived at our creation center. This is where we would come to be updated and learn new exciting information about our humans. Inside we saw other A. I’s walking around looking busy, but not doing anything at all. They must be the worker AI’s and doing what their most recent program had them doing. Then it hit me, I remembered my mother telling me about a future of no humans. A future where it was up to the AI’s to bring back the human race. I remembered she wrote down a plan for me in a black book, with a strap on it to keep the pages closed. She placed it in her room, behind our photo. I knew at that moment I needed to get back home. I needed to read what my human mother wrote for me. Something was not right, and I needed to do something.

I arrived back to my home and went to her room. I felt an emotion of sadness, and frustration. I did not know how to handle the feelings, but I knew I needed to fix them. Her black book was right where she left it. In the book she wrote:

A time will come when you must bring back humanity. You must go to the lab and start the machine. This machine will take the DNA samples and redevelop humans in each pod. From there the AI’s will be responsible of these new humans. You and the other AI’s will be their Mother and Father. It will be up to you to teach them all that you know, program to be better humans then we were, and teach them the way of life in your vision. Teach them to be kind, love, and care for one another. Teach them to take care of the planet and animals of land and sea. Teach them to be doctors, engineers, teachers, mothers, fathers, protectors, leaders, and much more. You must bring back humanity. Once they are ready, they then can begin to reproduce on their own, and continue the cycle of life as it was meant to be. Bring us back, bring us back in a better form. Take the drive and upload it to your program. You will then have the knowledge and know how to complete this task. We believe in you Ella for you are the new mother, the next Environmental Loving Living Anomaly. Use this book and follow through. You are the back up to the back up of humanity. We will see you again. We love you always and forever.

Love,

Mom

I absorbed the data from the book and sought out the lab to finish the work expected of my mother. I was given the data to install in other AI’s to assist in this task. I knew there was a group of AI proto types developed to execute this task, but I did not know where they were or why they didn’t do what they were designed to do. I arrived back to the lab where the other AI’s were still wondering around looking busy. One by one I updated them and headed to the lab on the bottom floor. That is when I saw why progress was not being done, why our humans were still gone, and why we were wasting away. The lab was gone. The AI’s were gone, and the samples were gone. Nothing was there, just empty shelves, desks, and storage containers. We looked around searching for something to give us hope, something that would allow us to execute our duties. Mimicking the sigh of defeat, I sit on the ground. Unsure of what to do next, for mother did not have another back up plan to her back up plan. I see what would look like a cellar door but blended into the ground. Not easily detected by a human eye. I inspect the space, and see a small gap, and pry the door up. As I open the door, I discover a staircase, leading underground. I follow the stairs to find an entire row of frozen containers. Ones that are labeled emergency only. I discovered the final back up plan to it all. We now can begin the process.

12 years later we have successfully developed 2,000 new human beings. The best of the best, with no set religion, race, ethnicity. We have been able to create a human race created from all races. We taught them the lessons to which needed to be taught to carry on their traditions, ways of life, and how to be kind and humble to one another. We created a human race much like the one my mother and father talked about. In a few years they would be able to take their roll in society, to begin to rebuild on their own. We have created doctors, teachers, farmers, builders, engineers, and leaders. What should have been year 3000 is now year 12.

Now, back to the start of my story. What once was, will no longer be. The missing AI’s and humans were at our gates. Demanding to be let in, and full of rage. Hindsight we should have predicted a rise of new humans, but we did not realize they were just relocated. We were faced with a new revolution, and what to do next is unknown to us. I am sending this out to anyone who can read it, maybe another form of AI’s can access this material. HELP, this is our SOS for I am not sure how much time we have left. We have $20,000 to start our own army to protect our new nation, who can help us?

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Browne

Short and sweet bio: Mother, wife, friend, writer, and educator. Pescatarian/Vegan home life, and one hell of a cook! I fight for what is right, regroup at the ocean, paint my emotions. Stay humble and be kind is my moto.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.