Futurism logo

The Mystic Tale

By Sabali Daye

By Sabali DayePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1

The Mystic Tale

By: Sabali Daye

Snow falls consuming all beneath it. As the moon peeks through the dark clouds, the land radiates like pearls under white light. Rustles of the evergreens whistle to the tune of the frigid winter breeze. Dancing to the natural symphony shuffles the small stealthy feet of Lynx stalking the woodline. She seemed carried by the winds as her movements flowed fluently in the same direction of the limbs of the evergreen. Just out of the reach of the woodline underneath a wooden picnic table stood, a grungy little brown hare staring at the brilliance of the moon as if in a trance. In its paws it was holding something unusual. A small milky stone with dark streaks that seemed to glow just as bright as the figure in the sky.

“Normally you’d be my breakfast little one, but I couldn’t help but notice the strange orb you got there” said Lynx from the darkness of the tree line.

Frozen in fear the hare looked around startled by the sudden break in nature’s silence.

“Wh- wh who’s there?” Stuttered the hare as he jumped behind the leg of the table, and tucked the stone under his armpit.

“Normally, I am but a reaper of hares such as yourself” said Lynx. “But today I am interested in what you are hiding there,” She growled as she pounced on the seat of the picnic table just above the hare's head.

“I-I-It was a gift from my father before he disappeared one night. He used to say it protects our family.” Uttered the hare as he backed up to the opposite end of the table looking for a safe route to scurry away.

“Protection?” Laughed Lynx. “What’s stopping me from carving you up right now and taking the orb for myself? Huh Little Bunny?” Hissed Lynx as she pounced to the opposite end of the table and wrapped her tail around the hare. She scraped her claws on the wood and peered deep into the eyes of the hare, licking her teeth at the thought.

“Well if you did, you’d never know what the stone is, and it would be useless to you.” Said the hare staring back into the eyes of his predator. “Its secrets would die with me!”

“Secrets, you say bunny?” Said Lynx with even more intrigue. Her eyes grew as large as the stone as she fixated on its glow. “There isn’t a secret in the world that the Great Mystic couldn’t reveal to me, so I think it’s time to end this charade, and fillet me a bunny!” She raised her paw dramatically!

“Wait!” Shrieked the hare. “You know the Legendary Great Mystic?!”

“Why of course I know the Great Mystic, and it would be more than willing to tell me the secret if I brought It half of you!” Exclaimed Lynx.

“No no no It wouldn’t!” exclaimed the hare. “I am supposed to be meeting It tonight! I was told that It needed the secret to complete his knowledge of all! Please don’t!” He wailed as he covered his eyes with his ears, and clutched the stone tighter. Lynx sliced down her paw violently swift striking just above the head of the hare.

“Tell me bunny, what is your name?” Asked Lynx more curiously than ever before.

“Snowshoe, Snowshoe LittleHare!” He said relievingly. Realizing he gained some leverage LittleHare stood tall on his hind legs poking out his chest in confidence.

“I came all this way to bestow the knowledge given to me by my father to the Legendary Great Mystic!

“And in return…”she hissed. “What will you get?” Fixated on the stone, her eyes gleamed ready to devour LittleHare at any sign of an attempt to run.

The winds blew stronger as she leaned in eager for his response.

“I’m not exactly sure,” He lyingly sighed. “My father never actually got that far. All I know is what was instructed of me before he vanished into the night sometime ago. For generations my family protected the secrets of this stone, and waited on this Divine Night to fulfill its prophecy. When the great light in the sky illuminates the land so bright that it could blind the heavens. Tonight is the night and this is the place!” LittleHare convinced as he looked up at the moon again, almost forgetting he was nearly beheaded just a few moments ago.

“What makes you so sure that tonight of all nights is as divine as you say?” Lynx asked as she stalked circles around LittleHare. LittleHare laughed. “What’s so funny bunny?” Lynx hissed sharpening her gaze on the hare, and raising her tail in attack mode.

“Ugh nothing..” LittleHare chuckled as he hopped up onto the bench, swinging his feet off the edge as he gazed back and forth between the moon and the stone. “It’s just a joke about curiosity and cats you know?” Confused by the sudden nonchalant attitude of LittleHare, Lynx grew a little furious. She pounced up on the table top and dug her claws into the edge of the table behind LittleHares head.

“No, I don’t know!” she hissed furiously. “Now tell me how you know, or I’ll proceed with making you brunch. Then, I will hunt down the rest of your family, and slowly carve through each of their skulls until the secrets pour out of them like fresh blood juice on a moonlit night!” She tapped her claws one by one in a delightful rhythm on the table amused at her threat.

“It's the glow!” LittleHare retorted looking back up to the Moon. “Only on the Divine Night does the stone share the Light in the skys glow! It’s said that this is what draws the Great Mys…..”

Suddenly, a bustling gust of wind whirls through the trees and the field causing snow to rise from the ground in a spiral, and the light from the moon falls dark upon their faces! Lynx hopped back instantly, bowing in awe at the magnitude of Its appearance. It’s large silver wings flapped effortlessly with great force seeming to control the winds of all the land with each stroke. It’s coat shimmered as bright as the moon casting a shadow on all beneath its glory.

“An Owl the size of the Sky just as the legend says!” herald LittleHare as he gazed upon the figure he had only heard stories of for so long. “Oh Great Mystic, I come to you bearing the gift of beauty and knowledge that you seek!” He bowed his head and presented the stone. “I only ask of you one thing in return. If it is your will, please grant my family eternal protection from all predators, and reunite my father with our family?!”

“I shall do as you ask Hare! What is it that you have to teach me?” The Great Mystic’s voice shook all in its wake.

“This is the Moonstone. It was taken from you in your infancy during the dawn of time! It is said to hold great power, as it is a symbol of abundance, ancient wisdom, hope, love, fertility, protection, and to act as the third eye of yours. Once bestowed with it, you will once again be whole, and able to bare children of your own. It has been my family's duty upon acquiring this gem to protect it with our lives, until this very day. Please take what belongs to you, and become complete again, Oh Magnanimous One!” LittleHare explained in marvel once again bowing his head and raising the Moonstone to The Great Mystic. The Great Mystic reached down with its colossal talon grabbing the stone and placing it on Its forehead. A blinding light flared across all in existence. The winds kicked back up and just as instantaneous as The Great Mystic appeared, it vanished.

“So as it appears, you knew exactly what you would receive” said Lynx stretching out as if exhausted from what she had just witnessed. LittleHare hopped up onto the tabletop standing tall and proud as if he was never in any danger.

“I mean, you laughed when I said protection,” LittleHare chuckled scratching behind his ears with his foot.

“How about we test that theory!” Lynx hissed insulted by her prey's new found resolve.

“We could… or you could accompany me on my journey back to my family! I could tell you the joke about the curious cat.” LittleHare hopped off the table over Lynx’s head toward the wood line.

“I’d rather not be surrounded by undevourable prey... Best luck on your journey bunny!” Lynx exclaimed in disgust as she hopped over LittleHares head disappearing into the darkness of the night. Almost simultaneously another gust of wind kicked up from the woodline swirling in an unusual pattern. “This wind was different though,” thought LittleHare, as to it had no piney, evergreen smell, yet a familiar nostalgic scent. One that he seemed to nearly have forgotten.

“Snowshoe, you have done our family a great deed I see!” A strong bravado voice rumbled with the winds.

“Father!” LittleHare shouted in excitement. ”I did just as you said! Where are you? The Great Mystic said you’d be able to return to us!” He questioned as he looked around in a fuss for his long lost father.

“Look up Snowshoe,” commanded his father.LittleHare looked up only to see a silhouette of his father formed by wind and debris. “Unfortunately my son, that's an impossible task. The night I disappeared our family was in great danger, as we were being hunted by a hoard of evil foxes who had heard of the Moonstone’s secrets. I was able to divert them from finding you all, but at the cost of my own life. The Great Mystic used Its benevolent abilities to allow me to speak to you one last time.” LittleHare’s father explained calmly as his sons eyes filled with frozen tears. “There is no need for tears my valiant son! My sacrifice was not in vain! For you acted victoriously as I’d hoped, and have saved our family from an eternity of peril plagued lives. We can now flourish in peace not having to look over our shoulders in fear of being preyed upon! Rejoice my son for your fearlessness in the face of danger has blessed us for generations to come!”

“But Father…” LittleHare cried out wishing the circumstances were different.

“Gather yourself my son, and head home to celebrate with the rest of our family!” his Father demanded as his silhouette and voice began to fade. “I love you my son, and nuzzle your mother for me. Tell her not to despair for I will always be there in the spirit of the wind!” His presence faded and his scent no longer hugged the nose of LitteHare. After a few sorrowful moments of sobs and tears, LittleHare took three deep breaths, gathered himself, and smiled. Disappearing into the darkness of the night, he continued the final leg of his journey back home to proudly tell his family his Mystic Tale!

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Sabali Daye

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.