Futurism logo

The Misunderstood Zodiac Signs

I’m a Cancer and I’m proud, with its strenghts and weaknesses

By Daniel TothPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
5
Photo by: pixabay.com

Horoscope articles based on your Sun sign in newspapers, magazines, and on the Internet are usually misleading and make you think astrology is wrong. But when it comes to the interpretation of your birth sign and other astrological factors, it can make a little more sense.

I was never into zodiac signs or anything related to spirituality and astrology. Seeing these things on tv, they always felt quite forced and seemed very generic. Until recently, when I met some friends who are really into astrology. First, I thought they are those typical ‘zodiac maniacs’.

But they told me that it’s much more complicated than we may think. Today, almost everyone knows which zodiac signs they are based on their Sun sign. However, when people try to find information about their Zodiac sign, they read up information about their Sun sign instead. This can make them confused and they feel astrology doesn’t work. But to fully understand and know more features of our personality – like hidden talents, compatibility, planetary cycles, and career –, we need to know our Ascendant, moon, and planetary positions. This can be calculated by knowing the date, hour, and place of birth.

Sun in Cancer

Some people confuse their Zodiac sign with the Sun sign. There’s a lot of difference between the two. Meanwhile, Zodiac signs refer to the 12 constellations of stars – Sun, Moon, and the planets –, the Sun sign is one of the 12 zodiac signs that establish your true horoscope.

This sign shows our character, personal identity, and ego. Your Sun sign is how you experience life and express your individuality in the early stages of your life.

Sun in Cancer is usually dreamy, self-sacrificing, craving for love and strongly influenced by their emotions having difficulty hiding them. If you ask my friends, they would all agree I’m all the above. I could never hide my feelings, I don’t even have to open my mouths, but everyone knows how I feel about certain things. Moreover, I tend to put others in front of me to make them happy and I often forget about what I want.

What I most love about being a Cancer is that I’m quite intuitive, I often feel other people’s intentions and can effortlessly pick up the energies in a room as I’m very sensitive to emotions.

However, like every sign, we have our bad sides as well. Due to the fact we are very sensitive to emotions and moods, we can manipulate people emotionally and if we don’t like something, we can see red very easily blow up quicker than a bomb. This often happens with me when someone tries to convince me the opposite which I believe in.

Even though many traits match with my Sun sign, there’s still plenty that’s not like me. I’m supposed to be someone who lies all the time, reluctant to move out of the house, and tries to convince people that I’m a perfect person who is made up of love, sunshine, and unicorn bubbles.

By Rodion Kutsaev on Unsplash

Ascendant in Libra

The Ascendant is also needed to get the full picture. the first impression we make on others in a personal sense and it represents our physical appearance, our physical bodies, and overall health. It grows stronger the older you get and it affects your personal identity.

According to my Ascendant, we are nice, pleasant, and approachable who make good first impressions and we are good listeners. My friends turn to me for help as I give them good emotional support. Sometimes they even say I’m like an oasis in a desert or an air freshener in a bathroom.

We also have the skills of diplomacy and peace-making. If I want to reach a certain goal, I can put the differences with the person aside and work together.

On the other hand, I usually prefer that others don't experience my ups and downs, which sometimes work against me. To keep things pleasant, I can easily give off the impression that I’m fine even though I’m not. Throughout the years, I was always "typecast" as the easy-going, agreeable guy of the group, and it can sometimes feel difficult to break out of this mold.

Moon in Virgo

The Moon sign shows how we express and deal with our emotions and what our innermost needs are.

I find security in the little things in life and I enjoy running errands. I love helping others take care of their lives and I’m at my best when I feel useful and needed. This is one of the reasons why I started working in tourism. If somebody needs help, I was the first to jump up and take on the task no matter how ridiculous the request was.

I’m also very considerate and like to plan ahead. I always envied those people who can be spontaneous, as I feel very uneasy without a steady routine or a simply satisfying job. When I have a goal, I usually don't tell anyone, so I wouldn’t be influenced by others. I need time to think if it is a good idea or not.

I’m going to emphasize those planetary positions that most influence the Cancer sign, and you will see that cancer is packed full of contradictions.

Mercury in Gemini

It affects mental processes, artistry, and expressiveness. Mercury’s position reveals our mental ability, the speed of our thinking, and our relationship with others. Mercury is the ruler of Gemini, so it dominates over Cancer and can add certain traits that we wouldn't think a Cancer would have.

We are interested in a lot of things. Connecting with people and getting to know them is very important to us. We are also quick-witted which can come across as messy or scattered at times. In my case, this comes in handy as I love meeting with new people, learning about new cultures and new things.

However, if I want to have a gathering or do a house party, this can be challenging as the different personalities of my friends can clash and the party can easily turn into an episode from the Real Housewives.

Venus in Gemini

Venus rules our sentiments, what we value, the pleasure we take in life, and our approach relationships.

Gemini as a lover bases communication and variety in their relationship. We need mental connection with our partners, to create, socialize, and have lots of ideas. We don’t necessarily like to be “chained” and feel like we have this whole lifetime of excitement.

If we feel that the relationship is getting “boring” or we are not in the flow, then we might ghost people or break up with our partners. This is completely true of my previous relationships. Cancer has a reputation in relationships that they are sentimental and loving, who would do everything for their partners. However, for those people whose dominant sign in Venus is different – like in my case –, they can be the complete opposite of what we think. This is very true for me, as I can easily ditch people if I don’t feel the mental connection with the other half.

Jupiter in Sagittarius

Jupiter is the planet of luck, vision, expansion, and helps us to be happier, prettier. However, this optimism and growth can easily turn into blind optimism, excess, arrogance, and exaggerations.

We’re very philosophical, forward-looking, and enthusiastic about things we’re interested in. This is when my moody Cancer comes into place. If I have strong opinions, beliefs, and perceptions about certain things, I may take it quite personally if others disagree with them. This might as well can turn into a bit of a nag and all people can see is a huge adult baby.

Saturn in Pisces

This planet sets our boundaries, gives us obstacles, shows restriction and our limitations. As bad as this sounds, this can bring structure, meaning, and definition into our lives.

Saturn in Pisces is the only position on the list I see no resemblance with. My Sun sign is more dominant here as I should be quiet and introverted, but instead, I’m very hot-headed and impulsive. Unfortunately, when I’m moody or angry I can easily bite someone’s head off!

Pluto in Scorpio

This is another complex planet as it has wide arrays of strange principles and viewpoints. Pluto symbolizes the transformation between feelings and spiritual energy and not only it affects us as individuals but as a whole. Pluto is often associated with death, the subconscious, and the afterlife. I often find myself talking with my friends about death and what happens to us after we die.

Moreover, we can be very naïve and easily influenceable because straight, rational thinking is just not our forte. Again, the moody Cancer! As much as I can be considerate and philosophical, at times I can be controlled/influenced by my emotions.

Even though I haven’t believed in astrology for a long time, I'm starting to understand the complexity of it. Our zodiac sign only gives us the basics of our personality. Family background, education, culture, and the environment around us can partly or completely alter our personality.

In my case, the moody Cancer will probably always be in me and it's fine. I'm proud of who I am. Even with the flaws.

____________________________________________________

If you enjoyed this read, hit the like button, share and check out the rest of my work on Vocal. Thanks :)

astronomy
5

About the Creator

Daniel Toth

Amateur Writer | World Traveler | Animal Lover | Foodie

Follow me on: Twitter and Pinterest

If you enjoy my articles/stories, like and share them. Thanks :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.