Futurism logo

The Making of Santa

Nicholas

By Natosha J SelskyPublished 3 years ago 14 min read
Like

The Making of Santa

The old man walked down the cobbled street. His cane made a soft clicking sound as it hit the stone. The snow-covered his bushy grey eyebrows and his beard. He didn’t notice the three men following him at a distance, quietly watching his every move. Two young boys ran into him knocking his top hat off his head.

“Hey! Watch where you are going.” Nicholas grumbled as he picked up his hat from the ground. Nicholas couldn’t figure out why poor people would have so many children that they couldn’t take care of. Instead of being in a school where they belonged, they were out running around in the streets causing problems and stealing. Nicholas went into the counting-house to start his work. He didn’t come out again until after 10 pm. He went home and had a small supper of bone soup and some hard bread that his maid had left him, and he went to bed. The three men had been still watching his every move.

The next morning Nicholas went about his routine. He got up and had breakfast and then walk to the counting-house. He watched the kids running in the street taking care to not let them run into him again today. This weekend he decided that he would go to the country. Leave the city for a couple of days and enjoy the peace of his cottage in the country. He always enjoyed it. He watches a little girl with patches on her dress and threadbare shawl begging for money to feed herself. Nicholas huffed and kept walking past her, he dropped a couple of shillings in her cup, but he didn’t look at her. He went into the counting-house again and started his day's work. The three men were watching him again that morning. They sat across the street watching him from their dark carriage.

On Friday Nicholas had his driver take him to his cottage in the country. Nicholas wouldn’t be at his cottage until 1 that afternoon so, he had a lunch packed for him and they left after breakfast. Nicholas fell asleep with the steady sway of the carriage he suddenly woke up when the carriage came to a sudden stop. There was shouting and gunfire. The door to his carriage was pulled open and he was forcefully pulled from it.

“Come here mate its time to go.” The man big burly man with rotten teeth said.

“What is the meaning of this,” Nicholas said with his almost nonexistent German accent.

“You're coming with us.” The man behind the first one said.

The burly man dropped Nicholas on the ground and cover his head with a brown cloth bag. He then picked Nicholas up and placed him on a horse face down. Nicholas wasn’t sure how long they were riding for, but the sun was down when they stopped. The three men put Nicholas in and chair and tied him with ropes to it. Nicholas heard a door close and the men start to talk.

"How much do you think we could get for this man.” One of the men said.

“I am not sure, but he owns Schulz and I hear they have a lot of money.” That was the voice of the man that had grabbed Nicholas and dragged him from his carriage.

“Well, we should ask for a lot. I think 1000 pounds and not a shilling less.” The third man said.

Nicholas dozed off in his chair for a bit. He wasn’t sure how long he had slept but the men had stopped talking. Nicholas thought they were probably asleep. His stomach growled; he had missed supper. The thing he ate was his small lunch and that was some time ago.

Nicholas dozed for a bit again this time he could feel the warm sun on his legs he knew it was morning or early afternoon. His stomach growled this time Nicholas was hungry his captures hadn’t fed him, and they didn’t sound like they were there. Nicholas started to wiggle out of his bind. At first, the ropes hurt but eventually, they started to loosen. Nicholas kept wiggling they hadn’t tied him up very well. It took a long time, but the ropes fell to the ground and Nicholas was free. He pulled the bag off his head and stood up. He looked around the small room and glanced out the window. Nicholas walked to the door and listened when he didn’t hear anything, he opened the door a crack. He looked around the bigger room and no one was there. Nicholas cautiously walked out the door and looked around further. He saw the door leading out of the cabin and dashed for it. No one came, there was no other room. Just the small one he came out of. He cautiously opened the second door and peered around outside. Nicholas gingerly stepped outside. He looked around the corner and saw no one. HE went and looked around the other corner and saw the outhouse. Slowly he backed away and took off running.

“Hey get back here.” One of his captures yelled. The man went running after Nicholas. Nicholas hoped that his head start would give him the advantage and he kept running. He heard a loud pop and felt something zoom bye his head. Nicholas kept running the man was now shooting at him. Nicholas was huffing and puffing as he ran up the small incline. Once he got to the top he kept running. Nicholas didn’t look back, so he didn’t see the man stop chasing him. His foot caught a tree root and Nicholas tripped and fell. He rolled down a hill hitting his head on a rock as he went down.

Beardsley saw the big man lying facedown in the snow. His grey hair had blood in it and Beardsley knew that someone or something had hit this man’s head. He wasn’t sure the big people were always hurting each other. This wasn’t the first time he found a man of his kind in the forest. He walked over to have a better look. The man wasn’t dead that was for sure, but if he stayed here in the snow and cold, he soon would be dead. Beardsley rolled Nicholas over and took him by his boot covered feet. Beardsley tied a rope around Nicholas’s feet and started to drag him through the snow. He got Nicholas into his house and onto the guest bed.

“Idina my love can you please fix this man’s head as best you can. I found him in the snow on my way home.” Beardsley asked his wife.

“I will look to see what I can do for the man my darling. This is the third time this month that you brought home a man from the woods.” Idina said.

“They are always hurting each other, My love. They seem to be an angry type.” Beardsley said.

Idina looked over Nicholas’s head. It was nothing more than a flesh wound so, binding it would not be a problem. When she was done mending the man’s head she went to her chair by the fire and started to knit.

Nicholas woke up to the sound of a woman humming and the soft clicking sound. He looked over by the fire to see her knitting. She wasn’t big maybe two feet tall with long golden blond hair.

“Hello fair lady, but I am not sure where I am,” Nicholas said.

“Well, sir you are in my underground house, my name is Idina. My husband Beardsley found you in the snow and brought you here. I am not sure how you got your head wound but I stopped the blood and wrapped it for you.

“Thank you, for your help. Could I bother you for something to eat I am hungry I can’t remember the last time I ate?”

“It's no bother, sir. I have some leftover stew if you would like.” Idina said.

“My name is Nicholas.”

“Hello Nicholas, it is nice to meet you,” Idina said. She got up and walked over to the pot that was sitting by the fire and ladled some stew into a small bowl for Nicholas.

“I am sorry the bowl is so small Nicholas, but gnomes are not very big, so our things are not very big.”

Nicholas sat up, “That is fine, even this small bowl will help with my hunger. I always thought that gnomes were fairy tales.”

“No, we want you to believe that. That way the big people don’t come looking for us.” Idina said.

“Yes, that would make sense. My people tend to be destructive and harm things that aren’t like themselves. Do elves and goblins exist?” Nicholas asked

“Elves, goblins, and fairies. We all really most of the magical folk would just let your race lay in the snow and die. My husband won’t, he believes that we can all co-exist.” Idina said.

“Where is your husband?” Nicholas asked.

“Out getting firewood he should be home soon. Would you like more stew I have some left?” Idina asked.

“I would like more thank you,” Nicholas said. While he was eating his second bowl of stew Beardsley came in.

“Oh, good your awake. How is your head feeling?” Beardsley asked.

“My head hurts where it was hit but other than that I am fine. Your lovely here offered some stew.” Nicholas said.

“That is wonderful. Idina is always the most gracious hostess.” Beardsley said.

“I should be on my way before the men who kidnapped me finds me,” Nicholas said.

“I wouldn’t worry about those men while you are here. This is an enchanted forest, and my home is quite hidden.” Beardsley said.

“I don’t know if I should go home or stay here for a bit. Those men were going to hold me for ransom, and I am not sure if they will come after me or not.” Nicholas said.

“That is hard to say. I can not tell you what to do, but I can give you a place to stay until you are ready to go back.” Beardsley said.

“Thank you very much,” Nicholas said.

“It is too dark for you to head back to London now. Even if you wanted to.” Idina said.

“Thank you. I will stay the night and decide what to do in the morning.” Nicholas said

He watches Idina knit a sock, “Are you to make bigger socks?” He asked.

“Well of course. I make small socks because my feet and my husbands’ feet are small.” She said.

“There are children in London who need shoes, socks and clothes. Their parents are poor. If you were able to make socks and shoes for them it would help.” Nicholas said.

“I could make socks and some clothes, but I am not a cobbler I can’t make shoes,” Idina said.

“That is alright. Can Beardsley make shoes, or do you know someone who could? After all, I am sure you and Beardsley are not the only gnomes around.” Nicholas said.

“Ha ha ha, no we are not the only gnomes around and I am sure that I can find someone who can help. I probably find many people to help. How are you going to get this stuff to the children?” Idina asked.

“Well, I could fill a bag and hand them out to the children I see. Or I can go door to the door in the poor district of London and place them outside the doors.” Nicholas said

“You can do any of those, but if you place these things outside their doors what s stopping someone from stealing these items and selling them for profit.” Idina aid

“You are right. I would have to find a way to place them inside their homes. “Nicholas said.

“When I go looking for help, I will ask if anyone has any ideas on how to get these items inside the homes,” Idina said.

“That is enough to chat for one night,” Beardsley said. “You can talk more in the morning.”

“Goodnight my love.” Idina kissed Beardsley then went to bed. Nicholas rolled over on the matt he had on the floor and went to sleep.

In the morning Idina went to find the neighbors and see who would help make socks, shoes, and clothes for the poor children of London. Many of the neighbors said they would help. Some didn’t they had no love for the big folk, but most of the people said they would help. Nicholas helps Beardsley with his chores. They cut wood and walked through the forest to find people who needed help. Although, they didn’t find people to help they found many animals who needed help.

When Nicholas and Beardsley got home that night Idina told them that she found many gnomes willing to help their cause and a few of them suggested to go down the chimneys and place the gifts by the fire.

“How would I get down the chimneys. I am almost sixty years old. I am not young for my kind.” Nicholas pointed out.

“We will go talk to the elves and find out if they have a potion that will help you getting up on the roofs,” Idina said.

“The elves don’t like my kind why would they help,” Nicholas said.

“They may not like your kind, but they won’t turn away our cause. Your kind is here to stay. They know this and there is nothing they can do about it. They will help.” Beardsley said.

“We can go to them in the morning,” Idina said.

“We will. The elves may even help us to make things they don’t like to see creatures suffering and the poor children of London suffer from cold frozen feet in the winter.

******

Idina handed Nicholas a dark green robe. Its belt was made of hemp and had red yarn woven in. The hood, arms, and bottom of the cloak were lined with white fur. "It is going to be cold outside tonight. You should wear this. I made it for you." Idina said.

"Thank you, Idina I appreciate this" Nicholas said. He put the rob on and it came down to just above his boots.

"We can't have Santa Clause getting cold when he is going house to house," Beardsley said.

"Santa Clause, Who is Santa Clause?" Nicholas asked.

"You." Idina laughed.

"Why would you call me that?" Nicholas asked

"You don't want people to know it's you do you?" Beardsley asked

"Well no," Nicholas said.

"You need to be called something other than hey you," Beardsley said.

Nicholas threw the sack of presents on his back and the three of them started to walk towards London. They stayed in the forest to keep from being seen by anyone.

Nicholas climbed up to the chimney of the first house. He grabbed a handful of dust the elves gave him and threw it down the chimney. When he was satisfied that the fire was out, he jumped in and slide down. He hung three pairs of socks and filled them with toys and candy. He places warm coats and shoes by the fire for each of the children. Nicholas crawled back up the chimney and onto the next house. With Idina's and Beardsley'shelp Nicholas visited all the poor people's houses in London. They would duck into alleyways when they would see people on the streets to keep from being seen.

“I think tonight was a success. I got to all the homes in London. The children will wake up to all the toys and clothes. I think they will be pleased.” Nicholas said.

“Yes, but children grow Nic. They will need more things later on how their parents will provide them.” Idina said.

“I will do it again next year. And the year after that.” Nicholas said.

“Do they know who the presents are from?” Beardsley asked.

“No, I want to keep it that way. I don’t want them to know. They will be bagging on my door demanding more stuff.” Nicholas said.

“That is true,” Idina said.

“Do you think there is a better night to do this, Nick?” Beardsley asked, “I don’t know, but I feel like there could be a better night to do this. How would you know when to do it next year? Are you going to do it on a random night each year?” Beardsley asked.

“I never really thought about it. I guess I could do it on Christmas eve next year. Then the children will wake up Christmas morning to gifts by the fire.” Nicholas said.

“That sounds like a good idea,” Idina said. “For some of those children, the presents you bring may be the only things they get for Christmas.”

“We will have all year to get things ready. We could have more stuff by then and maybe get more children. There are more poor children than just in London.” Idina said.

“Hahaha. I am only one man. How can I get to more places in one night?” Nicholas laughed.

“You have a point. You can get a sleigh and some horses, and the elves can enchant those to make them faster.” Idina said.

“That is a thought. We have all year to make plans. Let’s get some sleep and in the morning we can get a start on the gifts for next year.” Beardsley said.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Natosha J Selsky

I am a stay at home mom. I have been writing since I was a teenager. I am niching my self in blogging about my camera and photography, I do like to write stories also.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.