Futurism logo

The Love That Guides Us

By: Monica Carneiro

By Monica CarneiroPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Love That Guides Us
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

After the apocalypse, the only safe space was at the abandoned lighthouse in the small town of Gloucester. Sitting on the shore with my toes in the sand, wind in my hair, and sun on my skin almost made me forget that everything was different now. It had been years since I had last seen another person; since I had last seen her. I mean, it was probably for the best considering the circumstances. Being on the beach was good for many reasons, but it did truly help with being safe, it really had nothing to do with the fact that I was waiting for her to come back to me.

Years of fighting for survival and keeping the lighthouse safe made me grow fonder of my new home. The fondness for my people was also growing everyday; my new people... Though my fondness for her grew with each passing day as well; well~ for it. Something much too far away from me now. Perhaps that's is why over time I built a routine. Morning bright and early is time for the beach, midday - you guessed it time for the beach; most days I even fell asleep on the beach. I usually turn the lighthouse light on at nights though, hoping that will be the sign my love needs to return back home to me.

The hope seems to continue to grow and ache; years of loneliness and solitude will leave you seeing ghosts in broken mirrors. I'm not completely alone, of course, I do have my friends - though most aren't actual humans, but there are a few who have joined my fight. Though this tale is not relevant to them, but to something much greater. Something many have no pleasure in knowing. Consider yourself lucky.

The reason I fight to maintain this lighthouse, this safe haven, isn't just to have a great view. No, it's because beyond our seawall, we have treasures that many before us would have begged to see. Laying at the beach every night wasn't just because of the calmness that overtook me each time. My love was returning to me, and it was bound to be at any moment, I had to be ready.

And lucky for me I was. I didn't know it as I was writing this to you. But tonight was going to be the night that changed the lives of each and every survivor with us. She was who saved us. That night, as I lay on the beach, listening to the waves crash and breathing in each breeze; I finally heard what I had been waiting to hear. There is no way to put in words what the sound was. But believe me there is no way to replicate it. I quickly sat up and found that my love had returned.

Over the horizon, lay the most beautiful of ships. It was no ordinary ship though, because it wasn't made for just water. In fact, it wasn't even made in this timeline. There she stood, strong and unyielding, the ocean seeming to cradle her; while the stars mirrored in the reflection of the water. It was almost as if seeing her really flying through the galaxies.

"You almost seem more excited to see this old thing then you do me." The smirk you wore told me you understood why I was so excited for this arrival. "I do have to admit, she is much more experienced than you at this." That caused a full laugh to escape you.

"Shut up and come sail this ship off the horizon with me."

I smiled at that;

"Gladly."

The end.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Monica Carneiro

Aspiring Novelist and Screenplay Writer. I am just trying to write some relatable content. Hope you all enjoy!

Insta: @momocarneiro

X (Twitter): @momonkeybutt

Tumblr: avatarmomo98

Wattpad: AvatarMomonkeybutt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.