Futurism logo

The Lost Stone

Quest of the elves

By Kris NaillonPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
AESON

My name is Aeson Moonshadow. I am a high elf. My family—which consisted of my older brother Devin, my parents, and me—lived in a small village near the forest, called Deep Pine.

Life with my family was great. Devin was quite a bit older than I was, at 89 years old—almost an adult elf. Although there was a big age difference between us, we still enjoyed many adventures together: playing elf games, magic, and exploring the forest. I was five years old, and even though by elf standards I was still considered young, my training started with Elvin ways of fighting, magic spells, and music. The pan flute was my choice, and I had become quite proficient at it.

Early one morning before dawn, Devin took me into the forest as we had done many times before. He told me there was something important he needed to give me. He talked of its importance to our family, and to guard it with my life if necessary. Before he could tell me any more, we heard screaming, and a commotion coming from our village. We ran to find the Gnolls rampaging and killing all they could, even devouring some elves. Gnolls are giant, savage, hyena-like race, that are generally feral and aggressive by nature, and often attack without warning. Devin told me to run away and not to look back, no matter what I saw or heard. I ran into the forest, and hid in a hollowed-out tree stump. When it was over, I ran back to find Devin. He was nowhere to be found. Only his pack remained, which was torn a bit, and, lying next to it, his bow and quiver half full of arrows. In his pack was a small block of something unknown to me. It must have been about an ounce. It was light green, and glowed a bit when I held it to the sunlight. Was this what he was going to give me? I wondered. Was this why the Gnolls had attacked us, and what did they want it for? I looked around, but could find no one in any of the village's homes or shops. The others in my village were either dead, had run away, or were taken by the Gnolls. While not all of our villagers were fighters, they would still defend the village with everything they had. Several dead Gnolls were evidence of this.

I lost my family and my village in one day because the Gnolls had decided to attack us. Feeling lost and alone, I went into the forest. There, a pack of wolves took me in, and I never really left the forest. I found a natural connection with nature and the wolves, as well as other animals—the owls also became a favorite of mine. One owl, who befriended me, I named Mistwing. He was very dear to me, because he was the very first owl to let me get so close to him. It was a sad day when he also was killed by a Gnoll. To remember him and what the Gnolls had done to my clan, I carry one of his talons in my pack. Being so close to the wolves, often one or more of them usually travel with me. A wolf that I named Blue is my current companion.

As time went on, a traveling wizard by the name of Molic Grey found that Devin was still alive, but that he had been enslaved by the Gnolls. Devin was in chains and heavily guarded, but he had just enough time to tell Molic what had happened that day. He hoped that I had not been found by the Gnolls. Molic told Devin that he would search for me, and let me know my brother was still alive. When Molic found me, he told me he was to be my guide. While he was, in fact, a human and not an elf, he knew quite a lot of elf ways. In his travels, he had come across many elf villages and towns, and had learned much of their culture. As Molic had promised Devin, he would teach me all he knew about being an elf.

It then became my quest to find Devin, free him, and hope he could tell me more of what this unknown object is—and maybe more importantly, what it does. Since I have studied archery under the direction of Molic Grey, I have decided to become a ranger and help those who cannot defend themselves against the oppression of the world. I am now 120 years old, and have dedicated my life to finding my brother.

While Molic and I had come across a few elf villages and had gotten to know many of the elves that lived there, none of the villages really felt like home to me. I guess being raised by wolves, and spending so much time in the forest growing up, that is where I feel most at home. Other rangers in these villages have banded together, taking on quests and hunting trips to provide for themselves and their families. I have joined some of these expeditions to help fund my search for Devin.

I also spend my days searching and mapping out new and undiscovered territories, in the hopes of finding Devin and the Gnolls who took my brother, so many years ago. Molic sometimes accompanies me on these trips, when his duties allow it. The Gnolls prefer living in the wilderness rather than civilized villages or towns, and can move their clans around often, making them almost impossible to track. I spend my nights playing my pan flute and listening to Molic’s stories of his travels. This may sound rather mundane, but as you will soon see it is filled with many adventures.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.