Futurism logo

The Lost Elvevian King and Queen

Fate brings together what was meant to be.

By Jillian BoonePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
The Lost Elvevian King and Queen
Photo by Pro Church Media on Unsplash

There she is. The woman of my dreams.

Literally.

Unbeknownst to me, she has been appearing in my dreams for the past two years. We're normally in the middle of an enchanted forest. Running. Escaping. The attacker is unknown, but I always wake up with my heart beating to the rhythm of fear.

Besides the dreams, she is beautiful.

A beauty of a woman that cannot be described through mundane words.

No. She deserves more than that.

She deserves plays to be written about her. Stories upon stories of her mysterious and airy essence. There is a lightness about her that follows her around like a shadow. But there is also a looming cloud hanging over her head as if she is trying to defeat the world while saving it. A walking contradiction. A magnificent one at that.

If only I had the courage to approach her and rave about her existence to her. We simply cross paths every day. She makes her way to the library at the moment I'm rushing to class. Only catching a glimpse each day has stirred my curiosity.

Coincidentally, this has been our routine for two years. Not a word exchanged between us. During our few second moments, I feel the heat of her gaze searing across my back. I would never turn around. I know if our eyes met, I would be stuck.

Transfixed.

Immobile.

She's like a modern-day siren, but she only affects me.

But luck was on my side one day. Because this one day, this beautiful woman happened to stop me in my tracks.

Literally.

"Noah, right?"

It was the sound of the first day of spring. The birds are chirping. The trees are whistling. The blades of grass are sighing against the wind.

It was calming.

Hesitantly, I meet her gaze. Her honeydew tucked behind her framed glasses makes my heart speed up. Small blemishes scattered across her face. A small cute reside above her lip, but it's healed. Must be from her childhood. Wiry brown rests at her shoulders.

These simple imperfections make her more perfect to me.

Clearing my throat, I stand with confidence. I give a curt nod. "Astrid?"

A small smile manifests. A smile I've been craving to see. "That's me." A giggle slips past her lips causing my mouth to twitch upward. "This may seem weird, but do you think we could talk for a few minutes. I know this is strange and unusual."

My head tilts to the side as I watch her wring her hands together to loosen her nerves. She has no reason to be nervous. If my heart rate were to be taken right now, I'm sure I would be emitted.

Luckily for me, my professor sent out an email a few moments ago canceling class. Therefore, she can take as long as she wants.

"Of course," I squeak out before swallowing the growing lump in my throat. "You want to take a walk? It's beautiful out."

Out of selfishness, I just want to see the sun reflect from her eyes.

Instead of responding, she offers a small smile before pacing out of the door. I'm one step behind her.

We walk in silence for the first several minutes. We both rest in the sounds of nature as I assume, she gathers her thoughts.

I'm rendered speechless.

After two years of playing a modified version of cat and mouse and hide and seek, we're interacting. Reasons unknown, but I'm grateful.

I don't know what drew me to her two years ago during my freshman year. It's like I felt her. The air was humming. The noise faded away. It was as if I were experiencing tunnel vision for her and I couldn't understand why.

I didn't fight it. Obviously. I became enthralled with her.

"I don't know how to start," she gasps. Her steps have slowed, and her head is cast down.

What's going on?

"Take your time, Astrid."

I cast her an expectant look. The dip in her brow and the gnawing at her bottom lip give away her nerves.

I begin to encourage her again, but a devastating sigh lips past her lips. She's upset.

"You don't remember." It's not a question. A simple statement. One that throws me into a loop of confusion.

My steps falter as I give her my full attention. She freezes beside me but doesn't meet my gaze. "Remember? Can you help me out a little bit?" I try to lighten the mood with a joke, but it's fruitless. "I'm sorry, Astrid. I'm not sure what's happening right now."

"You're not going to believe me," she utters softly.

"Try me."

She eyes me for a brief moment before a sigh emits from her lips. "Have you had these dreams—"

"Where we're running for our lives?" I finish breathlessly. Her eyes widen for a fraction of a second before she gives me a swift nod. "I've had them for two years."

"Me too," she squeaks out. "What do you think it means?"

I shrug my shoulder absently, too consumed in my thoughts. I try to think back past two years. About my childhood or anything that would show my existence before then, but nothing comes to mind. "Do you remember anything about your life before the dreams started?"

Her head tilts to the side as I see her brain working frantically to try to piece together the past. After a minute, she shakes her head softly as her shoulders sag downward.

I let out a deep breath. "This is strange. I mean, it could be nothing—"

"Or something. This is too much of a coincidence."

My eyes meet hers as she runs her fingers through her hair. A spark of familiarity rushes through my memory as if I've seen her do it a thousand times.

"I think," I pause and take a deep breath. "I think I know you. We know each other."

A small frown etches unto her face as the wind picks up.

Take her hand.

A small whisper dances through one ear and out of the other.

To embrace the weird moment, I take her hand in mine abruptly. Her eyes widen in shock before her eyes glaze over.

The wind picks up as a rush of memories overwhelms me. I see Astrid. I see my father and mother. The enchanted forest that haunts my dreams. Lastly, I see my kingdom as I sit on my throne beside my queen, Astrid.

A gasp escapes us both as we sink back into reality.

"How do we get back?" Is Astrid's question.

"We have to figure out how to defeat my uncle before we try to go back. The moment we enter our world, he'll feel my presence and send guards immediately."

We escaped our world two years ago after my uncle stole the throne from under me with the backing of rogue elves. To conceal ourselves in this world, we conducted a spell that would send us to a different world, but it came with a price. We would lose our identity as elves and our abilities, lose all our memories, and we would reconnect at the moment we could gain the throne from my uncle.

"The kingdom is turning on him. I can feel it. If we go back now, we'll have the numbers to take back the throne." Astrid murmurs rapidly.

My queen.

She has the gift of foresight.

"We would just have to recite the spell again backward," she continues. "Are you ready?"

"We have to save our people," I state boldly. I committed to the throne, and my people, after the passing of my father. My mother refused to rule on her own and bestowed the throne onto me.

It's time to go home.

With a reassuring nod, Astrid murmurs the spell then raises her hand and waves it through the air. A small ripple travels through my body as one of the many trees splits down the middle and forms a door.

Taking a deep breath, I take small steps towards the unknown. As I get closer, Astrid takes ahold of my hand, providing an undeniable warmth.

I cut my eyes towards hers and she offers me a breathtaking smile. I give her a hand a light squeeze.

"It's time to fight for our kingdom, my queen."

"I'll follow you into any battle, my king."

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.