Futurism logo

The Last Son of Eden

By Ramon Bernard

By Ramon BernardPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
The Last Son of Eden
Photo by Dustin Humes on Unsplash

The last Child of Eden

Ramon Bernard

I'm so bored here in Eden, Father died long ago and mother soon after. I was alone for a long time. I was born here yet I know many things I shouldn’t. Math, Train, fireworks, Pasta, even ice cream. I know all about those things.

Mother was a priest of God and father was just a faithless man. I wonder how he felt the day he saw the sky fall.

It was said that when the weight of the dead Angels and Demons become too much for the lands of heaven to bear. They will crash down to the earth in a raging fire. That is when the world ended. Angel and Demon killed every living creature to add to their forces. Human, Incest, even Dogs. Everything that lived, died in those few hours.

My Father said he found my mother praying while the city was split in two traveling into the emptiness of space. He told me the sky was like glass that was made of liquid. He was in awe but Mother cried looking at the chaos and distortion. Somehow in the madness of it all found an island in the sky, a garden if you will.

As they reach the garden an Angel crashes right in front of them, a burning being with many faces. Mother said she heard a soothing voice commanding her to die for the lord but all my dad saw was a monster and songs like a chime. A Demon showed up moments after this creature couldn't be described to me. Or so my father said.

They fought in front of my parents, killing each other. Mother in her belief went to help the angel but father pulled her back. The two creators were splitting the small chuck of land floating in the skies. It was the only thing keeping them alive so high in the sky or space, He wasn't so clear on the details. They would have died that day if he didn't take the burning beings blade and kill the demon. The angel rose and went to my mother. So father buried the demon blade into its body.

She screams and curses, telling him that it was all over and they need to die but mother couldn't kill herself much less her other living creator.

They float to Eden in silence. The silence was broken with her tears. Father sat there as he heard singing in his head and felt malice in his heart.

Once at Eden, the two looked around for food and found plenty. Mother never said a word to him, in fact, they are complete strangers. She didn't speak to him for days. They found the apple of wisdom but chose to not make the same mistake Eve did so long ago. It was only when father fell ill and cried out in pain that mother spoke to him. His body was burning up and she lacked the information to treat him. Days passed and soon her only choice was the apple. It could give her the wisdom to save him. It was selfish but she didn't want to be alone. But he told her, that if anyone was to eat the apple it shouldn't be a saint like her.

So he with his weak body walked over to the tree to pick an apple. Mother stayed behind not wanting to witness the original sin. She told me she tried to pray but she didn't have the faith anymore. It is funny that a woman, the love god, in his garden couldn't offer a simple prayer.

Father returned with a half-eaten apple. He understood what was happening to him. His mind was infected by the Angles and his heart by demons. He called her by her name “Jen” Shocked she was about to question him but she knew it was the fabled apple.

He sat down next to her telling her that he will die.

“Really?” she asks

He seemed so sure, calm even. He told her that he was blessed by the angel with the songs of gods in his head which in time will drive him mad. His heart being cursed by the demon will cause his heart to feel the endless rage of the underworld. His soul would be torn apart in time with the two forces inside of him.

20 years is all he had so he chose to live in this peaceful place with her. Not like they can leave. His name was Eric. She asked if there was anything she could do for him and he told her to just live with him. That alone will quiet his mind and soothe his heart.

Years went by and the two fell in love. They gave birth to me. The last mortal name Luke. My father was kind and funny. He also knows a lot. Mother was happy and oddly carefree. She was always by dad's side.

Before father passed we looked at the stars, He handed me an apple telling me he can't explain it all in time. He spoke about the war of creation and how we have been in Eden for 80 years. Something about Eden being hidden between reality makes time go slower. Never let your mother have an apple; she has the right to be sin-free.

I took a bite, I began to cry, falling to my knees. I understand the death of it all, the madness outside of Eden. The battle between heaven and hell. The countless deaths that have happened. The pain of it all.

I look into his dad's eyes “you only have a few Moments left.”

“I know ”

Mother passed away a few days after dad. She died from a broken heart as they used to say.

So now alone and in my rage, I eat the apple of wisdom. I learned so much about the human world that it only fueled my rage even more. I stuck here in Eden in paradise as the last of the mortals was a cruel fate.

I wanted something to remember the faces of my parents but I had nothing and for days I would just stare at the fractured skies. One day I saw Ore with some logs of wood. I knew what to do. I already had the steps in my head.

With the knowledge of the apple, I learned how to paint and how to smith metals. After some time I had made a perfect heart space locket with a small but life-like painting of my parents. Thanks to the animals in Eden I was able to make clothing.

The only thing I wanted to do is leave Eden. Yet I’m not ready. I know I will die as soon as I step on Heaven, Hell, or even what remains of Earth. So I'm staying in Eden to learn.

The most important thing I realized is that Eden is more like a given tree.

“Yes I know about that too”

Whatever I would need would show up the next day. The only issue was that it always came in its purses form. So if I want a pizza, I would get tomatoes seeds, a chicken, a cow, and wheat seed. I now understand why we always had salad and roast meat.

This made me simplify my idea. I had to go through all the steps one by one. It took me weeks to make a mirror so I can finally see my face in detail. All the animals in Eden came to watch. The more I trinket around in Eden the more they came to watch. I made weapons, nothing clean like the blacksmith of the earth but something. I eat an apple and learn how to fight.

I figured every time I had a question in my mind while I ate an apple I would gain knowledge on the topic. It was like that for Cooking, swordsmanship, writing which was a combo with reading, science, and even history.

Even about the angel and demon. With that knowledge can the ability to bless and curse my weapon. This was the last time I needed to leave Eden a way to kill them. It was finally coming together, it took much longer than expected. The last thing I asked Eden was for a way down to earth.

Stairs going down appeared next to me and I got a bag with my food and weapons ready. I was scared but pressed forward saying goodbye to the only home I ever knew. As I walk for hours and soon I would reach the clouds of earth. Seeing a sea of clouds was amazing. I got into the clouds. Soon I felt the ground under my feet. I was in the ruins of a city.

Wandering the city I can see distortion everywhere, I don't know how to feel. In my mind, I know how a city is supposed to look but I'm just happy to be here.

I walk into what was a pharmacy and see someone in a hood getting some pills. This was surprising but someone was alive other than me. I went to speak to them but as soon as they heard me they ran.

I gave chase and soon Angel spotted me. It was the many winged one, a Seraphim I can hear its voice tell me to die for the lord. I felt utter rage and charge at it drawing my blade. I ran toward the monster of heaven clothes in light.

I can hear a voice saying NO DON'T!!

The Seraphim just watch me saying it can't be hurt by mortal Toys. But I cut it in half and the singer stopped. It bleeds like a human and its wings ruffle as it lets out a dying scream.

I just stood there watching it for a minute then the hooded figure took my hand telling me to follow. So I did, it was a girl and she told me to keep quiet.

I ask her what date is it

There is no one meaning in counting days in the apocalypse but I guess a few months.

It has only been a few months. I was shocked but now isn't the time, I need to follow her somewhere safe.

“The demon will come out soon and we need to get to the sewer.”

I stop her telling her I have no shoes.

“How?”

“Well that would require Leather and I didn't want to kill a cow. It was my friend and the milk was needed.” She looked at me like I was an idiot and pointed to a fallen soldier. I took his boot and soon we were underground.

And she was rushing and said we were late and that we were going to die.

I wasn't sure what was going on but we pressed on. Laughter from the shadow began to be heard. It was a group of Demons. Imps are coming for us. We ran to a door that was closed. It was clover in rune and she bangs on the metal door demanding someone named Richard to open it.

But got no replies. She continues to bang on the door. I can hear the fear in her voice as the imps close in on us. Tears running down her face, she was slowly given up on life. It reminds me of my mother. I took out my blades and walked toward the Imps.

All she saw through her tears was me killing the Imp, slashing and stabbing. Black blood covers the wall as in every last one of them. Seven in total. As I turned to her I saw the hope in her eyes.

She just asked who was but before I answered we heard the door unlock.

I told her “I am The last child of Eden.”

literature
Like

About the Creator

Ramon Bernard

Just for fun

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.