Futurism logo

The Last Glass

A Date with a Goddess

By Antonio RodriguezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

"And for you, miss?"

"The best Merlot you have."

My late night had transformed itself into a fairytale. When I walked into the Vineyard I never expected to see her there. I thought this was going to be another night I spent alone at a bar waiting for my date to show up. But there she was. Long black hair, brown eyes, dark skin. Her dress a combination of Heaven and Earth. And her smile. By God, her smile! I know it's cliched but it lit up the entire room. I saw her and no one else. From that moment on I knew that it must've been fate. She had a lipstick stained glass at her side; she was early. She extended her hand to greet me without standing. Her legs crossed, right on top of left, revealed less than what anyone else would hope for but just enough for your imagination to wander. Her soft hands met mine and I immediately apologized for my nervousness. I tripped over my own name several times but she found it charming (I found it embarrassing). After finding the right words to pronounce my name I asked what she was drinking.

"Merlot." she said, and I had not heard more bittersweet words than those.

"Ah!", I said followed by "I'm a Cabernet fan myself."

"That's because you've never had Merlot with me.", she responded.

My eyes brighten and my mouth did a half smile. "Witty, aren't we? Let's have at it then." I ordered a glass of the same wine she was drinking, She was right, it was better than I remembered. As I gulped down the dry nectar of her choosing I noticed her eyes again. I could have sworn they were brown. A hazel green now appeared and her pupils seemed to see right through me. Her hair was now wavy as opposed that straight river of darkness. I looked at my glass and thought it odd. I hadn't had more than half the glass. I quickly brushed it off as a mistake of my poor eyesight.

After a few more glasses and learning about her at length it was time to go.

"Already? But you just got here. Stay for one more, huh?", she asked.

"Okay, one last glass and then I'm off. Its' a bit of a drive for me.", I answered.

We spoke some more about our careers and hopes for the future. We spoke about the current social climate and the state of the world. In the midst of it all it occurred to me that I shouldn't have had that last glass. My already weak eyesight could barely focus, my tongue heavy under the spell of the grapes, my body numb with the richness of the alcohol; "Weren't her eyes hazel-green?", I thought, Why do they look red now?"

"Aren't you going to ask?", she said. "I'm not supposed to tell you but I like you. You're not like the other mortals."

"Mortals?" Now I knew for sure that I was drunk. Her red eyes penetrating my every thought, following my every movement. This was it, this was the moment to ask for another date and then leave. Leave before making a fool out of myself. But it was far too late. I could no longer speak. Or see. Or walk or stand. I recall the bartender calling a cab and asking for help moving me. I couldn't even say goodbye.

"Pity.", I heard her say. "I really did think you were different than the rest." The rest was unintelligible but her voice still echoes in the back of my mind as clear as day:

"And for you, miss?"

"The best Merlot you have."

fantasy
2

About the Creator

Antonio Rodriguez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.