Futurism logo

The Lamentation of an interdimensional warrior facing the pain of immortality.

Sometimes living forever isn't all its cracked up to be.

By jamie kenePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Lamentation of an interdimensional warrior facing the pain of immortality.
Photo by Guillermo Ferla on Unsplash

My eyes are tired and filled with tears

I've experienced countless lifetimes over distant galaxies

Witnessed the birth of all reality and glimpsed the death of a universe

I've slain kings and fought with daemons in the pits of black oblivion

Scaled the great blue snow covered cliffs of An'nk‐Tyar'tha, only to snatch a piece from the great red sky

My back is bent and my arms are weary

Time proves itself a cruel master, she stings me with her whip

I've laid down my rifle and stared into the murky pools

The reflection frightens me

I see a grey bearded black man, skin drawn and haggard, with the weight of long ages of sorrow penciled across them

The eyes are yellow, sad and dying, they've lost that luster of joyous antcipation

How many times must I don this armor?

How many times must I press against my lips, the familiar cool of my helmet's metal?

I feel as if I have not slept in several millennia.

This thing I hold in my hands. A gift from Yananna.

Oh how she has made mockery of my soul. Foolishly, I thought it a gift for one to live forever....but now i see that it's a curse.

She has poisoned me unto eternity. I cannot give her back this sentence.

I wish that one of these days I can finely lay down my weapons, take off this armor, and finally be at peace. Maybe one day I'll finally be able to get some rest.

The vast morbid expanse of space leaves me feeling restless and destitute.

Endless seas of black ocean roil and rip my soul away gradually piece by piece.

Until there is naught left but a shell of a man, emblazoned in shining armor.

The crest of my helmet, the golden scales of this metal skirt, loiter the corridors as I comb these shadowy stygian depths.

I feel my mind ripping away from me, even as I stand aghast, cowed by the colossal monuments of yesteryear.

Time has no recompense, truthfully what do these ragged ages even mean?

I've ventured beyond the broken veil, searched the very passages of reality, gone where no one, be he man nor God, has traveled.

Beyond Heaven and Hell, beyond Life and Death. I've learned that these things are simply just vague inconsequential romantic concepts of a doomed and pathetic comedy.

When you've witnessed horror on a cosmic scale, eschewed within the gravitational forces of a collapsed star, Oblivion seems only like a children's fairytale.

I am weary, my bones grown tired, my sinews are taught. A sense of loathing has come over me. I owe her no allegiance.

I take off my helmet and raise the barrel of my weapon up until its pointed straight at the side of my head. All I need to do is simply pull the trigger and I can end it all.

Then all the misery, all the pain, all the grief of watching everyone I've ever known, everything I've ever loved turn to dust right before me, can end. Once and for all.

The sting from eternity's whip, lashes across the soul and she has proven herself to be an insatiably cruel master.

The nature of a collapsed heart is only unlocked by the secrets it belongs to

I stare out into the endless void, there are unanmeable lands, still unclaimed and unchecked by the tribes of mankind.

My heart beats, I wish I could rip it from my chest and send it floating away towards infinity

The wanderlust subsides, within me it is ever apparent, the loneliness, the stillness, all I desire is love....

I bare the scars of sharpened blades, the wounds of poisoned arrow tips never fully heal, my skin is sun scorched and dry like leather.

I cannot go on without my armor, without my weapons, without this thing around my neck. It is as much a part of me as my own immortal soul.

Melancholy clouds my judgement, and I spin its dial. It activates and that familiar warmth takes me as my molecules begin to break apart.

I know not where I go from here this time and I dont care. Wherever I end up, death always seems to escape me.

Perhaps one of these days I'll finally get lucky...maybe one of these days I'll finally be able to die...

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

jamie kene

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.