Futurism logo

The Introverted Leo

The Shoe Only Fits One Foot

By Blue DymondPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
9
The Introverted Leo
Photo by Ingo Stiller on Unsplash

Born in the first week of August I am right smack dab in the middle of the Leo time frame. For those of you unfamiliar with the sign, Leo's are known to be prideful, strong willed, and confident leaders. They love to stand out and be the center of attention. As a fire sign they are literally a force to be reckoned with. They walk into any situation knowing that they are the most qualified in the room.

For most of my life, whenever I met someone new and we clicked; whether it be friend or a love interest, they'd all eventually ask the same thing. "What's your sign?"

As soon as I tell them I'm a Leo it turns into them trying to prove me wrong. "There's no way", "Are you sure?”, "What's your birthday”, until they get to the dreaded, "I don't usually like Leos".

Based off of everything the horoscopes describe of them I can see why some are immediately intimidated or overwhelmed by the sign. Coming from someone who should have been a water sign at birth it can be emotionally draining to be in the presence of an actual Leo.

I am a very introverted intellectual. I'd rather blend in than stand out and I'd rather advise than full blown lead. I run from social media and currently only have one to help with my writing platforms. Leo is just not my sign no matter how the stars try and align it.

Since Leos are known to be one of the more aggressive and straight forward signs that thrive off of being around others, it really sets the wrong expectations for some who actually follow the horoscopes and use it to determine how we'd get along.

Leo's Personality

So, as I stated above Leo's, like their element, shine's a bit brighter than the other horoscopes. They are very self-confident, generous, and strong minded. Once they set their mind to something, they are on a one-way street to success, no distractions allowed. Leo's charismatic personality, their knack for being social with everyone, and their huge boost of self-confidence adds to their natural born leadership skills. They may come off as arrogant and have an extremely hard time accepting criticism.

Leo's are creative and passionate and thrive being in a position where they have to perform. In today's time Leos are very into social media like Tik Tok, Instagram, and Facebook.

Leos in Friendship

So, usually, Leo's are cool with everybody. They don't mind sharing the spotlight as long as they remain in the center of it all. They're loving and generous especially when it comes to close friends. They have excessively big social circles, so while one may know of a Leo there's very few who actually know the Leo in depth.

They are known to push that same vivacious spirit and leadership onto their friendships. The same way they don't take no for an answer when on their own journeys, they will also push their friends to do the same. So, all in all they believe in and support their friends with the same ferocity they do themselves.

Leos are seen as social butterflies. While they may not let you see who they are on a deeper level they will pull you under their wing and let you ride their wave of personality and spotlight.

Leos In Dating/Love

Supposedly, Leos love dating. They are humongous flirts and aren't ashamed of it one bit. They don't mind handing out their number to increase their social circles and don't mind dating more than one person at a time as long as it’s nothing serious.

Once Leo's do get serious, they are extremely loyal and attentive to their partner. They love hard and have exceedingly high expectations for their partners to be the same way.

Since they love being the center of attention their date night expectations are usually anything that involves being seen, like a night on the town, a club/lounge, or a nice restaurant that's well known. Basically, anywhere that involves them getting dolled up and ready. They will fully expect their date, and whoever else is around, to shower them with compliments.

Alright, so now that you've seen everything there is to know about Leo's let me show you how I'm the complete opposite of this fire sign.

Princess Diaries

My Dating/ Romantic Life

I hate dating. I run from it at all costs. The reason? It is absolutely too much work. As a social introvert I'd rather go on dates that involve more talking than activities. I'd rather it be somewhere low key, and I would rather not be around lots of people. It would also be a plus if I can get away with wearing a pair of joggers and a hoodie. Starting to see why people don't believe I'm a Leo?

I learned early on that dates like that usually come around much later in the dating phase.

As a person who blossoms talking about things that are more psyche, historical, intellectual, I absolutely hate small talk; That awkward phase of getting to know someone where you talk about the weather, general things that don't really interest you. You know the part where you're talking just to talk because you're afraid of revealing too much of who you really are early on? Yeah, I'd rather skip that part and show you who I really am right off the bat and you immediately decide whether you can put up with it or not. Again, complete opposite of the Leo.

My Friendships

Friends? What friends? What are these things you speak of? Okay so I have friends. Well, I have A friend. As I said before I am extremely shy and introverted. Always have been. To be around lots of people is emotionally draining to me. My idea of a social circle is me and my friend or siblings having a deep conversation about our favorite historical figures or participating in our version of a writer’s room.

Shockingly, the one friend that I have is a Taurus (although she rises as a Gemini) and she pulled me under her wing. She's the life of the party and very vocal about what she expects and what she wants. While this scared the living daylights out of me at first, and emotionally drained me more times than I can remember, now, I love her personality and how it balances me.

What They Got Right

I am definitely deeply passionate about any endeavor I go on. I don't take no for an answer and I am awfully hard on myself when things don't go as I expected. I do love hard and make sure that whoever is in my life whether it be friend or romantic partner, gets enough praise and affirmations and help them to excel in what they deem important in their lives as well.

I am creative and do better in jobs that don't involve me sitting behind a desk unless it’s for art or writing.

It's not shocking that some of the most famous artists, actors, and politicians are mostly Leo's. Hello Leonardo DiCaprio and Barrack Obama!

So, overall, I can’t go pull up my horoscope for the day and let it lead me to my future husband or predict the way my day would go because to put it bluntly they're wrong. I've thought that maybe because I was born exactly 3 months early on August 5th instead of November the 5th is the reason why I relate more to water signs than I do fire but thats a whole other story.

Author's Note: Thanks for reading through. Don't forget to drop a like down below and/or leave a tip!

astronomy
9

About the Creator

Blue Dymond

A little bit of everything from Psyche, to fiction, to poems. Come take a look around, we're all friends here!

Instagram: @thatgirlbluedymond

Facebook: Blue Dymond

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Willow Dawn Merryweather2 years ago

    I too am a Leo and introverted too. I can be quite chatty though in the right circumstances but generally I only like deep conversations hate chit chat though can do it a bit. Hate parties. People exhaust me. But my astrology chart has Virgo moon and Venus plus my Leo is in the 6th house which is the house of Virgo. My chattiness is likely my mars in Gemini. But I’m only really chatty when I know somebody. So I think that all these things in my birth chart offset the stereotypical leoness of myself. I prefer to spend my time alone mostly.

  • Lisa2 years ago

    My daughter is an introverted Leo too. I love that she doesn't fall into the cookie cutter box of what supposedly a Leo is. She is incredibly shy, gets anxiety being the center of attention and feels more comfortable having only 1 or 2 friends. She is protective and is a force to be reckoned with in her beliefs, she is everything opposite a Leo or it could be that this is what Leo's today look like. As people evolve so must the definition of our star signs. ❤

  • derepade gbafade2 years ago

    Thank you... This was nice. Am a Leo too, but am an extrovert. I was more trying to understand another Leo that is surprisingly an introvert, and I am courting at the moment. Thank you. I better understand her now.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.