Futurism logo

The Great Reset...Or So They Call It

Let's think about just what and where we would like this reset to go in 2021

By Susana ShadowsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Straight up as far as politics go, how the government is or is not being run, depending on who you talk to I, have to admit. I am clueless.

Not clueless because I am uneducated I guess you could just call it somewhat challenged.

I did not choose the word challenged to insult anyone anywhere. I am just a 50ish woman who calls it as I see it but will be the first to admit I am smart enough to know what I don't know.

In this case, I do not know enough about politics, and government doings to fill a gum wrapper. This is not because I have not been allowed every opportunity available to educate myself on these important matters.

Facts are they have never seemed too important to me in my lifetime. I know what you must be thinking, what an idiot! The truth is I have never found myself really caring enough to pay attention. (I know, the insults awaiting that, but, it is just me)

I do not consider myself a professional writer, or advice-giver. lol, just a middle-aged-ish woman with some thoughts she would like to share. Read, skim, or delete as you will. At least I have gotten a bit off of my mind, so thanks.

I guess I like to avoid the scary, and dull realities of life. If I don't think about them too much then I am able to get through my day peacefully without anxiety and a freakout or two in the bathroom.

I have three grown children, two grandchildren. In all honesty with all the craziness and chaos that has been going down in our country over the past several months if I look at them and think about the state of the country, I am scared shitless.

I want to turn on classic television and block it all out. Come on kids let's watch Little House on the Prairie. Sure they had their problems but, in the end, Pa Ingalls took care of them all.

Let's watch The Waltons. Yeah, it is a drama about a poor large family facing all the trials and tribulations of the depression. They did not have much money, had to work hard and scrape by to make ends meet. This huge family all live together in a giant house with grandma, and grandpa and each morning they all worked hard doing their share to provide.

Granted they did not have much, but, did they really need it. They had a beautiful farm, roof over their head, clothes on their backs, room to produce and live off their land. The family was close, loved each other, and worked, lived, and loved together.

Their idea of entertainment was sitting together in the evening talking, listening to the radio, or playing a family game. Not one of them had their noses buried in cell phones scrolling away. Yes, I know, there were no cell phones. I'm just saying. Sometimes easier is just that easier.

Hell, I would even settle for the Andy Griffith times. Such a peaceful town the Sherriff did not need to carry a gun. The biggest ruckus on the weekends was the one town drunk stumbling in to lock himself into jail sober up. Family dinners every night, church on Sunday, ball games, and town dances for entertainment.

Again simple times. Some may call me a TV junkie and I would not argue I do love the classic family shows. What I see when I sit outside in the evening on my porch...people driving too fast, blasting their music at the annoyance of others, kids running all over in groups, scrolling on phones, and seeing who can out swear the other being disrespectful to all they pass.

I know times must change, develop and progress. It is the way it has always been. But If we are going to call life these days The Great Reset, can't we at least reset to a nicer era of life.

An era where we all lived as one in America, working for the same goals, family, jobs, freedom, and peaceful life. Taking care of our own country first, then, reaching out to others.

Stepping out to say good morning on our way to work. Not peeking out the door to get our mail from our locked-down lives. Reset to a pandemic free life, in a country where we were all proud to work, raise a family and work damn hard for what we have. Instead of being scared to death, locked away, afraid we will lose all we have.

Seriously, the Great Reset...let's think about what we really want to reset to.

intellect
Like

About the Creator

Susana Shadows

A woman of the world who feels like she has already lived many lifetimes and adventures in just a handful of decades.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.