Futurism logo

The Govern

What will happen to D'vyn if she doesn't make through the teaching of The Govern.

By Destiny SmallsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

“Where am I?” D’vyn asked. “You’re at The Cove” the doctor said to her, as she looked over her paperwork and looked at her information on the chart and screens around her. D’vyn heard about The Cove, people never leaving or leaving anver being the same. “How did I get her?” “The Governs brought you in, they believe you can be useful to our cause.”

The cause? I’ve heard about The Governs cause and their only cause seems to be pain and hurt. “ I don’t want to be a part of the cause, I hate your cause!” “If you keep going like that you will never leave. Now someone will be in here in 5 minutes to take you to the teaching room. If you try ANYTHING, they will stop you.” There was no way for me to escape. There was no way out for me.

It felt like five seconds went by and soon I was wheeled away by 5 huge men in red combat suits. The teaching room was an all red room with boards and screens and I wasn’t the only ‘student’ in there. There were 8 other people here with me. As soon as I was brought in the doors locked and the red lights were now yellow, as yellow and as bright as the sun. “ Good evening class, you are all here to support the cause. You were all chosen. “How did we get here!” someone shouted. “You can’t do this! Just take people from their homes, we have families, this is fucked up!” another boy shouted he seemed to be the same age as me maybe a little older. Then, everyone around me started to shout at the woman who was talking on the board. Without taking her eyes off of us she calmly pressed a button soon everyone who was yelling was now screaming in pain. “You see those ropes ‘round your waists? They are there to electrocute when you begin to get out of line. Not enough to kill you, just to let you know that this behavior will not be tolerated. Now that we have seen the hard way of things, we can now try the easy way.” I knew I did not want to get on her bad side, or at least let her know I’ve been on her bad side.

This felt like it has been going on for hours. She let us know about our ‘jobs’ with the Govern and what is expected of us and how we are suppose to handle the others. I hated every minute of this. “ Now you will be sent to your designated rooms until tomorrow morning and after breakfast we will begin your physical training.” Thank God that’s over. The chairs and the electric belts loosen and let us up. Some of them left out limping from the shock. Two of the Red Men lead me to a blue room, no books, no TV, no posters, just a plain blue room. Just like the rest.

The beds are hard and I barely got any sleep. The alarms for ‘morning meal’ went off at 4:30 in the morning. Who eats breakfast at 4:30? Crazy people do. We had us wear light blue suits as our training suits. The better we do the darker our suits will get, until they are blood red. We couldn’t talk, just eat and stand outside. Once everyone was done, our instructor came out. He looked like a MMA fighter, no facial hair, a red scar that looked like a branding starting at the top of his head to the small of his back, he was about seven foot two. “ You are here! So you can defend and protect the Govern! I don’t give a fuck if you like, as long as you do your job and don’t make me look bad. I could tell this was going to be a shitshow. He had us spar with each other. The boy that was in ‘the teaching’ with me yesterday was paired with a man twice your size and I a woman twice mine. “ I wanna see what kind of damage you can do when you are really pissed off,” Kung said. “When I blow my whistle you will begin.” He blew his whistle and suddenly i'm being bum rushed and pushed. I have to find a way to get this lady off of me before I find out what kind of punishment there is if I don't do well at this. I start punching back, pushing my thumbs in her eyes until I am able to get up. I knee her in the face and continue to top her while she’s down. It’s either her or me and it damn well wasn't going to be me. Soon, he blows his whistle again, I look at the kid I remember and the man he was paired with. The man that probably weighed three times as him, wasn’t moving and his head was gashed. “ You have a lot of anger, we can use that. Take him to get more fuel.” Kung called over a Red man and he led him to the kitchen. “ Take the lessers to the Game Room.” One by one a Red man dragged them away to the ‘Game Room’. I had a horrible feeling that they weren’t going to be the ones playing any games.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.