Futurism logo

The End

Of the World

By Jade MuccuffPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

I woke up in an unfamiliar room. The walls and ceiling were white. The lights were bright and unyielding as they shone onto my face. The bed I was lying in had a papery feeling to it. I lifted my arms up and inspected them. There were bandages around my wrists. An IV stuck out of the crook of my left elbow.

"Hello?" I called weakly. There was no reply. I slowly sat up and looked around. There was a man sleeping in a plastic chair in the corner next to my hospital bed. He was a dark cloak. There were scars on his hands and arms. He wore barbed cuffs on his wrists. I know this man.

But from where? I looked at the IV and growled as I felt my irises turn blood red. A pair of scarred hands gently took the IV out of my arm. As soon as it was out my eyes returned to their normal coloring.

"That's better now isn't it?" Kasamoto murmured.

I nodded, unable to speak. Finally taking in my attire I saw that I was wearing the white gown that accompanied being a patient in a hospital. Thankfully, my clothes were laid out neatly on a table next to the door.

"I'll be right outside," he said quietly before leaving the room.

I looked first at the white bandages on my wrists. White does not suit me. I held my arms out with my hands in fist form. Closing my eyes, I changed the color from white to black. Much better. I pushed back the sheet that was covering my legs. The clothes Kasamoto set out for me had two main colors: dark blue and black. The only dark blue was on the denim jeans. The black shirt was made of stretch cotton. There was also a black leather jacket. Also knee high black leather boots.

I was already wearing panties, a bra, and socks so the only thing missing was a hair tie. My glasses were on the stand next to the bed. I slipped on my glasses. The monitor showed that my vitals were good. I got up out of the hospital bed. Stretching up on my toes, I reveled in the past few hundred millennia. Was it the year I would finally meet his crazy but handsome and respectable self? Hopefully in this life he wasn't so sadistic. Or masochistic for that fact.

Anyway, first things first: getting dressed. Then I needed to know the exact date of when I was. Also, where might be a good thing to know. I just needed to find him. Only at the moment I find his current self-will I know if my search was for nothing. He was the key. The final piece of the puzzle. In order to find out who I really was I had to find his current self and help him achieve enlightenment from the gods.

Kasamoto was one of his past lives. And he was the only past life that has stuck with me throughout all these years. I ripped the hospital gown the rest of the way off. I slid into the jeans. As I was putting on my shirt the door opened and Kasamoto walked in. He silently closed the door behind him.

"Don't worry, we'll find him." Kasamoto said in a low voice as he helped me into the leather jacket. "Maybe you should stop picking fights with the alpha wolves."

I smirked and adjusted the jacket on my shoulders, pulling my hair away from my neck. "Well, you said he'd be an alpha...I had to see if it was him!"

Kasamoto was watching my facial expression very carefully as if I were going to have a breakdown of sorts. "I know you're anxious but at this rate he will sense you before he's meant to."

My eyes widened. That could destroy the very fabric of the universe. And if that happened... well... let's just say that the results would be hugely catastrophic. I focused on my probly frizzy and messy hair. I snapped the fingers of my right hand. I reached and smoothed down my neatly side parted hair. Kasamoto grabbed my black and camo backpack.

"Follow me," he motioned toward the roof. Kasamoto spun on the spot and levitated up to the ceiling, fazing through everything to get up high in the open air. I closed my eyes and focused on going up to the roof. "Look what's happening, Mind Slayer."

Upon hearing his voice, I opened my eyes to see pure and utter destruction. What have the humans done? There's an electric billboard that flashed the current time and date.

12:57 pm

September 22nd, 2015

Late! I was supposed to meet him 9 months ago. I was late. I turned to Kasamoto in panic. He put his hand on my shoulder to hold me in place and make sure I don't destroy what's left of this hospital.

"Calm down, Mind Slayer," Kasamoto sent a calming pulse wave through my shoulder to the rest of my body. I relaxed immediately. He had told me to calm down, but I was finding it rather difficult. I was supposed to meet him 9 freaking months ago! I scanned my surroundings once more, looking for a township sign. I rolled my shoulders back and let out a massive pair of big black wings. I flew up to see the next nearest town. I saw a nearby sign that said, "Welcome to Tombstone, Arizona."

Arizona. I could go see my dad.

I blinked down at Kasamoto, who was just watching my every move like a hawk. He took a flying leap off the roof and landed on the ground on his feet without so much as a sound. Kasamoto took off speeding east. Towards Douglas. Dad lived there. I dove after Kasamoto, weaving through buildings and electric poles and trees. This was quite confusing. He grabbed my hand out of the middle of the air and pulled me faster than the speed of light. He let go, dropping my hand to my side and leaning on the wall of a house. I willed myself to turn invisible and intangible. I walked through the wall into a living room. There was a couch and a few chairs there. I saw some of the adults outside, Dad, his current wife, and a few of their friends. There were noises coming from upstairs, so I ran up the steps and opened the first door I saw. My stepbrother John Junior, was in there under his blankets.

I realized I was visible and awkwardly said, "Um, sorry." He turned ghost white. My little brothers Tom and Andrew were in a room across the hall playing. I peeked in through a crack in the door and smiled. They looked so happy. I shook off the newness and went back to JJ's room. "Get up, bro." I told him. I pulled the blanket off the bed while I simultaneously threw him a pair of slippers. He asked me who I was several times.

I thought he was joking until I heard Kasamoto's voice in my head, "He has no clue who you are. You never existed before this day in time."

I froze then shook off the stupor. "Who are you?" I heard JJ ask once more. I looked over at him and went with my name. Not my mortal name. No, I hate that name but for some reason I hear it and flinch. I'm talking about my spiritual name. What I like to call my real name.

"My name is Jade Muccuff. I'm the Mind Slayer. And you're about to find out why they call me that." I told him straight up. "Grab Tom and Andrew. Then meet me outside."

He nodded. I made my way into the living room and looked out a window behind the couch. Dad was out there with a few of his friends. I tried to turn intangible but got stuck half way through the glass. So, I just broke my way out. Dad looked up. I stood there awkwardly, blushing slightly.

"Who are you?" He asked. Gods I was starting to hate that question.

"Your daughter," I said.

"From who?"

"My mom, her name is Ethel. You two met in California, she got pregnant then had a miscarriage."

"Then how are you here?"

"I've been traveling in time, I'm just a bit late actually."

"Ok, so what do you want?" Dad asked.

"A ride to North Dakota."

He looked at me for a minute. Somebody said that I do look a bit like dad. He nodded and walked to a van parked in the driveway. JJ and the boys were already there waiting. Dad looked suspicious. I told him I need to know what's all going on right now. He shrugged and motioned everyone into the vehicle. Before I knew it, we were on our way to North Dakota. As we entered Steele I saw mom ride by on a bicycle. She looked my way and sped up. We got to the school and I ran into the resource room. He was there. And he was talking to Kasamoto. He looked at me. I grabbed my best friend and went outside. Kasamoto and the boy followed. We were alone.

"Who are you?" my BFF asked.

"My name is Jade."

"Rose," he said. I flinched and looked at him. He was holding an onyx blade with a sapphire hilt. At the base of the blade I saw my mortal name engraved.

"How did you know?" I asked. Kasamoto whispered to me that he had been watching the wolf boy. Feeding him information one millennia at a time.

"I've been waiting for you," he handed me the blade. My best friend vanished. I tackled the boy.

"What's your name in this realm?" I asked him.

"Marcel, it's all true then?" he asked. I nodded and pulled him into a car. Marcel held my hand and asked about my casts.

"I have been in a lot of battles. Most of them external, some internal though. Not sure you want to hear about those ones."

He nodded and grabbed my casts. I flinched, immediately trying to get away. He held tight. I pulled and pulled but he wouldn't let go. When I saw that he wasn't going to let go I figured I must have made a mistake. This can't be him. I felt my wrists begin to get crushed in his grip. I relaxed and focused. His grip loosened only slightly. A power surge emanated from my core into his body. A shot of light energy into the darkness of another. I got my wrists free and ran for it.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.