Futurism logo

The difference between good and evil pt 2

Enjoy! Written by: CR Cole

By CR ColePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Veronica's snores filled the small area of the plane we where in, her head nestled in my shoulder the same way it was when she was a small girl. The other men in the plan, a small detail of guards and a few other scientists, made up the rest of our landing party. The island, which I later found out was a seven hour trip from were I was, left a tinge of excitement and mystery in the air.

One of the other scientists, Matthias, sat up straight and asked. "What do you know about this Island miss Jones?"

Looking over at him the plane insides come into view, a basic plane with very little detail of note, besides the suitcases and large metal cases around, all of which holds years of research. "As I've told you before Matthias, I only know what they sent in the letter." I say.

"Your not nervous or anything? Like how they knew so much about our work and were it's going." He says a slight edge of nerve evident by the way his left hand squirms over his knee.

I give him a reassuring smile and say. "Call it a scientific hunch but I feel good about this."

"Seems like a lot to go through for a 'hunch'." One of the soldiers in our detail pipes in. He doesn't try to hid an arrogant smirk beneath his large amount of facial hair, his words bring doubt to my mind, but only for a second.

"Look, if they meant us harm they could easily have taken our research to the habitat for humanity or some other self righteous goody two shoe organization. Fact of it is is that they didn't, no doubt they have the means to, they're probably scientists like us researching the same thing, and maybe our combined efforts we can make this a reality."

The soldiers shudders at my words before saying. "Eternal life isn't something we should play with, that's Gods domain, aren't you afraid of the consequences?"

The impatience in my voice doesn't try to hide itself when I respond. "Only a fool believes in those fairy tails, God isn't real and we never will be, it's just an idea we make up religion, that's all it is. This serum will save the world, imagine the greatest king you could ever think of, if that king had eternal life never again would we have a debate of who to lead us, we would already have the perfect leader."

He remains silent and I take it as my silent victory. How would such a small minded man be able to understand such complex thoughts, foolishness, if God was real than Veronica would have her mother, and no baby would die.

It isn't long after that exchange when we hear the voice of the pilot telling us were going to land soon. I look outside my window and see a gorgeous tropical like island, a long runway greets us as we touch down, all around us is thick jungle in between the jungle trees however are paved trails leading into a large U shaped facility facing inward on us, the large white washed walls gleam with the afternoon sun, vines seem to be grown in a way around the building to make intricate and beautiful designs.

All at once I'm hit with the scale of the facility and the surrounding forest, the combination of nature and industrial science is woven together in a symphony of harmony that speaks to all my levels of humanity.

"Wow..." Veronica's head is now fully up as she takes in the scene around us, breathtaking and all consuming I agree with her. "Wow indeed."

We all hustle to get our supplies out of the plane, one by one suitcases and metal boxes are taken out of the plan and set on hot pavement. The sun beats down as we get situated, I'm helping one of the guards when Sam, another scientist, taps my shoulder.

I turn around ready to ask what she needs when I see it, coming towards us from the surrounding forest directly in front of us on the runway is a man, next to him is a girl, no older than 18 and behind them are 8 very large men, each of which were masks and have no distinguishable features, odd.

The man himself however takes front and center stage, he is tall maybe 6'4, but not only that hes gorgeous, his black hair stands straight up complementing a shorter face supported by a very strong jaw, for a moment I'm absolutely speechless as he smiles at us and says. "Welcome all of you! we are so happy to have you here, our research has hit quite a snag, and our men in the Americas say that you miss Jones are the best in this field."

His eyes are clear blue, boring into me like the sky. It takes a moment for me to realize he's talking to me, cursing myself for being a fool I quickly straighten up and hold out my hand. "Of course, I'm happy to have accepted your invitation."

He smiles when I hesitate and don't say a name. "Theo, call me Theo. I'm the lead scientist here at Thoth Island." I look him over one more time, a little too much, and realize his apparel is not that of a traditional scientist, in fact he wears a lazy button up that rolled up to his sleeves, underneath it is a black tank top that outlines the shape of his abs. black pants bring together his outfit nicely.

"Is there anywhere for us to sleep?" Veronica's voice comes from behind me and I curse myself again, what's going on?

"Oh of course were are my manners!" He takes my hand swiftly placing his other hand on top of it, his eyes linger on mine for a moment before he says. "If you would all follow me I have a place for each and every one of you to sleep, and tomorrow we can start the work."

The men in my unit start to grab the boxes and suitcases but Theo holds up his hands and says. "You needn't worry about that my boys here are more than capable." Then without another word the eight men behind him come forward and pick up our equipment and luggage with apparent ease.

Theo turns around and holds his elbow out for me to take, with a little hesitation and a small reassuring nod from Veronica I take it. "This way!" He call out cheerfully, and so my small procession of jet lagged scientists and soldiers follow an unknown man, into an unknown place, never in my life have I done something like this, but it somehow feels right, like this is were I belong.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

CR Cole

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.