Futurism logo

The difference between good and evil Pt 16

Enjoy! Written by: CR Cole posted every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday

By CR ColePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

"Please Ray we can't beat it without you!" I shout into the forest, all night we've been arguing and now dawn has broken but Ray is still stuck.

"What can you do Kelsie huh? Atheist suddenly turn godly right? Blake had the power the blessing and anointing and he still couldn't beat that thing. What makes you any different!?"

"Because I have Tho-"

"Thoth my left butt cheek! You think because God gives you power once he'll do it again, you got lucky that Thoth showed up but now were going to try and get ourselves killed trying to fight that thing!"

"Ray if you would stop being so d**n thickheaded then you would realize that I can change you and make you stronger."

"Like I would let you any were near me! Your the reason that thing is alive, your the reason were going to get killed, and your the reason Blake is dead!" His whisper, although quiet, still breaks my heart and for a moment I'm speechless, but before I can continue into him a loud voice comes from the right sound of the camp.

"Hey!!" Brie is yelling and Veronica is next to her, both there faces are kissed with the streaks of tears but each of them look stronger than ever.

"Are you both idiots." She stomps her little body into the middle of us and says. "I'm eight and I have more sense than you dopes."

Both me and Ray are absolutely silent and slightly dumbstruck at the little girls words.

She turns on Ray. "Don't you ever dare blame someone else for my fathers sacrifice, he made it willingly and he would do it again. If your so scared of Goliath then go, I have no problem fighting him on my own if that means I honor my fathers legacy."

I allow a small smirk to come to my mouth but after a second she's turned on me. "And you! Set aside you pride for one second and seek to understand Ray, you two have been going in circles all night and your trying to dissect every one of Rays answers and make it logical but it isn't, Ray is afraid Kelsie, and instead of affirming him and encouraging him you've been calling him weak and stupid!"

Feeling scorned I say nothing but look to the ground, the little girls words pierce me in a way I don't suspect, and as a result I can't look at her as an unusual conviction takes over me.

"I'm not gonna fight him again." Ray says in a whisper, I look up at him incredulously, but Brie seems unfazed.

"Then go." She says.

She waits as he leaves into the woods then she comes up to me and says. "How are we going to defeat the daddy killer?"

"Veronica?" Without even asking Veronica is next to me with something to write on and something to write with, and I tell them both my plan, and how were going to achieve it without Ray.

As I go through they both nod and understand, Brie's eyes get big during one part but she keeps her composure. At the end they both seem hopeful and we put the plan into action.

Brie and Veronica get set near the facility as I do, I'm gonna distract Theo as Brie uses her animal call and the power of her Spirit to call every animal on the island to attack the facility and it's sentinels, once that's done and their distracted we'll use the distraction to sneak into the lab.

I wait outside the facility and call out. "Theo! I want to talk to you!"

After a moment of wait Theo comes out of his tower with two guards flanking him, and next to him is a stitched up Charles, Blake's killer.

I use my words the best I can, flattering him and trying to convince him to let me come back and make Tartarus stronger, I know of course he's playing with me and he'll kill me when I get in there but I need him to be outside of his lab when this distraction comes.

Then like clockwork Brie makes her call, and the animals of the forest come out to rush Theo and his guards, but Theo is ready and right behind him bursts forth an army of his creatures, Tartarus included.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

CR Cole

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.