Futurism logo

The Definitive Ranking of the 9 Skywalker Films!

The best and the worst of the series.

By Greg FalconerPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

The Star Wars fan base has always been very divided when talking about which of the films are the best. I think it has a connection to the generation of films you grow up with. I adore the prequels for this reason which I have found is a rare opinion in the Star Wars community. Everyone has a favourite Star Wars film and a lot of people have vastly different opinions.

This article is going to be my ranking of the 9 films, completely my opinion. I love every one of the films as they all have moments in them that amaze me and feel like Star Wars. Sadly, one has to come last.

9. The Rise of Skywalker - 4/10

Coming in last on my list is sadly, The Rise of Skywalker. I say sadly because I had so much hope for this film. The final third of the film with the ghost of Han Solo and Ben coming back to the light side to fight with Rey was fantastic. However, that was the only good part, there was a couple of plot holes that ruined it and the inclusion of Palpatine was a cheap attempt at fan service. The final battle was underwhelming and Finn and Rose were completely forgotten about. Overall, this film made it obvious that this trilogy was not planned out and was a disappointing way to end the best story in cinema history.

8. The Last Jedi - 6/10

I actually enjoy this film, every other film I just enjoy more. I loved the final third again, the final battle was very exciting and Rey becoming better with the force was fun to watch. There are some things that I really don't like though. Luke Skywalker is my favourite character in all of movie history and in my opinion this film destroyed him. I hated that he was a hermit the entire time and we did not see the Luke that we saw in the Legends books. I think this film was different to most Star Wars films, in some good ways and some bad but it just didn't really feel like the Star Wars I grew up loving.

7. The Phantom Menace - 7/10

As a prequel fanboy, it hurts me to put this film so low. I adore this film for many reasons but I can recognise it's flaws. It has one of the best lightsaber duels in the series. Maul vs Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan is amazing to watch and meeting Anakin for the first time is good to see on screen. There are a lot of boring parts of this film though. Most of the Tattoine scenes are very slow including the pod race portion that feels like it goes on for an eternity. Overall, I feel like this film is a very slow introduction to the prequel era but the further in you get the more exiting and action packed it becomes.

6. The Force Awakens - 7/10

The Force Awakens is a very good film. It is the perfect start to the sequel trilogy. The new characters were amazing, I loved that Finn was a Stormtrooper that ran away. Rey being an orphan on a desert planet was beautifully similar to Luke. The introduction of Kylo and Snoke left so much to the theorised and talked about. A lot of people have said that it was a copy of A New Hope, but I think being so similar to A New Hope was perfect because it felt like Star Wars. This film was an amazing start to a not so amazing trilogy, I just wish they has done more with the following two films.

5. A New Hope - 7/10

It is no real surprise that this is right next to The Force Awakens in my list. As I said before they are really similar, this film just does it better. This film has so much going for it, the first introduction to iconic characters, a very well written story that stands up today, a mysterious enemy that turns out to be the best villain in history. Like every other film it is not without its minor flaws, the start of the film with the droids is a bit slow and the lightsaber fight looks like two old men arguing in a store. However, this films is timeless and is one that I will never tire of watching.

4. Attack of the Clones - 8/10

This is a film that is very divided in the fanbase, personally I love it. Watching Anakin grow up a bit and seeing the struggles between Obi-Wan and him is amazing. The first half of the film is a bit slow but once it gets going it is a masterpiece. Obi-Wan on Kamino is one of my favourite scenes in Star Wars and his fight with Jango Fett is full of action. The fight on Geonosis and seeing a lot of the Jedi order together is action packed and the lightsaber battle with Dooku is so cool, seeing Anakin with two lightsabers makes me so happy every time I see it. Sadly this film cannot come in my top three but it is an amazing film.

3. Return of the Jedi - 8/10

The top three on my list are such good films that any one of them could have come first. I think a lot of Star Wars fans would say that this film is their favourite. There is not a part of this film that drags, it is action packed from start to finish. The start with Jabba's palace shows a fully trained Jedi Luke and Han Solo being saved from carbonite. The last third of the film with the Luke vs Vader fight and Anakin coming back to the light side is perfect. This film was the perfect ending to the original trilogy and left enough mystery about Anakin and the Jedi to launch the prequel trilogy in the early 2000s.

2. The Empire Strikes Back - 9/10

The Empire Strikes Back is rightfully regarded as one of the best, if not, the best Star Wars movies of all time. It has so many good parts that they are hard to list. The beginning of the movie carries on seamlessly from A New Hope and throws the film straight into intensity. Seeing Luke training with Yoda in the second third makes me happy every time I see it. The final third showing the gang being captured on cloud city with nothing but Luke to save them and then the final battle with Darth Vader leading to the biggest and best plot twist in cinema history. This film is a cinematic masterpiece and will never age.

1. Revenge of the Sith - 10/10

I think Revenge of the Sith coming first is a very popular opinion especially with people my age. Growing up with the prequels I have always and will always adore this film. Showing Anakin falling to the dark side and secretly wishing he won't will always be my reaction. This film might not be as cinematically sound as Empire but this will always be my favourite. Throughout the film we see Anakin become the all powerful Jedi Knight he was supposed to be, only to see his mind corrupted and being forced to fight his master/brother to save the one he loves. This film is by far the most heart-breaking and beautiful of the 9 films and is truly what George Lucas wanted for Star Wars, Space Opera.

star wars
Like

About the Creator

Greg Falconer

I enjoy Films, TV shows, Comic Books and Video Games. Everything I write is my own opinion and just a bit of fun!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.