Futurism logo

The Dark Chronicles

Lumen.Exe

By Serenity In FlamesPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
"Who Am I? Thats hardly relevant, given the circumstances... Wouldn't you agree?"

"Well then... Here we are, once again."

It appeared to be night time. The sky was black as silk cloth. A man, dressed In black, and wearing sunglasses, was gathered with several others, In what looked to be A Picnic Area. Street lights, dimly lit the Area. They were all sitting At A table, with small buildings behind them, while A river that looked to contain blood, flowed through It's banks.

The people that were with him, looked around In confusion. Two twins, male and female, dressed In school uniforms. A business man, wearing A very expensive suit, and sporting A cold, ominous, smile. Not unlike the look of A politician. An older man with greyish skin, red eyes, black hair, And dressed In 19th century clothing. Another man, also with red eyes, And black hair, except his was much longer, And he was much younger. He had on A pair of black pants, And A grey T-Shirt, sporting A long black trench coat As well. Finally, there was A woman, sitting At the opposite end of the man In black. She had long blonde hair, greenish looking eyes, And was dressed In A long blue robe, And A hood Attached. Though she decided to keep It down.

"What Is this?? Where Are we?" The female twin asked. And then she turned to the mysterious man. "And who the hell are you?"

"Who Am I? That's hardly relevant, given the circumstances... Wouldn't you agree?" The man In black responded.

"Why did you bring us here?" The politician Asked.

"I didn't. You came here yourself. I only decided to meet you here." Said the man In black. "To see If I could reason with All of you."

"I don't understand. Reason with us for what?" The male twin Asked.

"From making All the same mistakes over Again." Said the man In black.

" We don't even know you. I think your hardly In Any position to judge us." The male twin said.

"It's not About what you've done kid... We All make mistakes. It's About the path that those Actions have led you down. And where It leads." The man In black responded.

The male twin looked confusingly At him for A moment. And then scoffed. "And just where does this 'path' lead??"

"The short Answer? A dead end." The man In black warned.

Suddenly the male twin fell backward off of the bench. A shotgun wound appeared on his chest.

The older gentlemen with red eyes realized where he was. And he turned to the man In black and spoke to him.

"Look...I did what I could. I know I said I wouldn't turn anyone else but..."

The man In black interrupted him.

"You've done well, my lord. You have nothing to be sorry for. You've earned your rest. You may leave us If you so wish."

"Thank you..." The older man responded.

Immediately, the older gentleman disappeared, In A flash of light. Only A pile of Ash was left in his wake.

"Until our next meeting, old friend" The man In black uttered.

"It's because of our craft Isn't It? The things we've done... Karma finally found us, my brother and I." The female twin Asked.

" No, Karma has nothing to do with it. I keep telling everyone, It doesn't matter, what I think. It's simple. Actions have consequences. You can't escape that fact. Your brother couldn't understand this. But you on the other hand... I won't forget what you've done. And I will pay you back. You have my word." The man In black Answered.

Just then, the female twin's head exploded. Her lifeless body fell forward, And leaned on the table.

"I've entertained you, As far As I'm going to." The politician stated. " I have plans to carry out".

The man In black stared At him, And began to speak; "Are you sure? You know what they say, About the definition of Insanity... And this certainly Isn't the first time you've Attempted those 'plans' Is It?"

The politician began to chuckle, sarcastically; " You know nothing, of my visions And dreams for this world. I want to bring everyone, Into An era of peace, and prosperity. Summoning her will Allow me to Achieve those goals!" He yelled.

The man In black, looked at him bafflingly. And then let out A long sigh.

"Ok... By committing mass genocide? By putting billions of people At risk? You know how this will end... She won't listen to you. Just how much Are you willing to sacrifice, to achieve this 'goal'?

The politician stood up. And looked down on the man In black.

"Great feats, REQUIRE great sacrifices. I'll prove, that this, Is the correct course of Action."

The man In black smiled. And leaned back In his seat.

"Very well. Have It your way... Keep chasing your 'Dreams' And 'Goals', of world domination. You'll never Achieve them."

Afterward, the politician fell down onto the ground. His body was completely broken and bleeding. As If he had suffered from A terminal fall.

" You look familiar... Perhaps we've met before? The younger man with red eyes asked.

The man In black answered; "Perhaps..."

"Though I don't suspect you'd remember me."

"You don't even remember who you Are."

This confused the younger man, and he responded, by pointing At the women In the blue robe.

" It was her that didn't remember. I certainly did... I remembered everything."

The man In black nodded, and began to speak;

"Everything from this time, yes... But your story goes far, far deeper."

"I do have hope for you. Maybe you can change the outcome this time around. But only If you overcome your final weakness."

The younger man, dead-panned at the man In black. " And what weakness Is that?" He Asked.

"Your Inability to Let Go..."

With this, The younger man's red eyes turned completely black. And his dead body fell forward, onto the table. His neck was broken. And there appeared to be A rope mark around it.

The blonde women stared At the man In black silently, for the next few minutes. As he did the same. Finally she spoke;

"I know you...Don't I?

The man In black removed his sunglasses. Revealing his own set of red eyes, as he began to answer her.

"Yes... You do."

"And there Isn't Anything I can do About that At this point, Is there?" She Asked.

He Answered;

"I'm Afraid not. That moment, has come And gone, unfortunately."

She closed her eyes, And began to weep. "I'm sorry..."

He looked up into the pitch black sky for A moment, and then, looked back At her. "Yeah...I'm sorry to."

"Goodbye." She said.

"Goodbye." He responded.

As he finished speaking, she Ignited on fire. Her charred body leaning back In Her chair.

The man In black, looked down. And shed A single tear.

Afterward, he put his sunglasses back on, And turned on the "Hollowjector", that stood At the center of the table. It read A single file;

"Lumen.Exe"

He Pressed the button to confirm, And A giant Hollow-Screen Appeared In front of him. And As he sat back In his chair, It began to play...

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Serenity In Flames

The name is Greg. Video games, movies, and music are my hobbies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.