Futurism logo

The Courier

How much is too much information?

By Sherry BlackwellPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
Too much information?
Part One

My name is Max. Right now, I have 2 terabytes of information in my head. I'm riding my motorcycle at 80 mph. I'm a courier and I have secrets to sell.

First stop:

No-Mori Corp

I sign in at the security desk and see a large scarred man with a stainless steel brief case. They're expecting me.

No-Mori Corp. Extraction Room:

Dr. Noshi Omori, she's the woman who will be doing my extraction. She's the person who got me into this and she's also the best in the business. I feel safe in her hands, I can store a lot . No hack jobs. I'm sitting in a chair, she tilts my head back. Darkness… Sleep.

45 minutes later:

I open my eyes to see Noshi smiling at me, it's nice. Her eyes are black and wild, I don't know what color mine are - I don't look at myself. "Well, Max it's been a while," she laughs so I guess that was supposed to be funny. I don't get many jokes, I don't laugh. My brain doesn't have room for a sense of humor.

My name is Max . I have 2 terabytes of information in my head. I'm riding my motorcycle at 80 mph. I'm a courier and I have secrets to sell.

First stop:

No-Mori Corp

I sign in at the security desk and see a large scarred man with a stainless steel brief case. They're expecting me.

No-Mori Corp. Extraction Room:

Dr. Noshi Omori , she's the woman who will be doing my extraction. She's the person who got me into this and she's also the best in the business. I feel safe in her hands, I can store a lot . No hack jobs. I'm sitting in a chair, she tilts my head back. Darkness… Sleep.

45 minutes later:

I open my eyes to see Noshi smiling at me, it's nice. Her eyes are black and wild, I don't know what color mine are - I don't look at myself. "Well, Max it's been a while," she laughs so I guess that was supposed to be funny. I don't get many jokes, I don't laugh. My brain doesn't have room for a sense of humor. "According to my watch it has only 45 minutes since the last time we saw each other, I say." She's staring at me now. "Okay," Noshi says, better get back out there, you don't wanna' make the Boss Man angry by being short on memory intel today." She laughs again. I see the same large, scarred man from before. I'm not sure if he is smiling too, his mouth is crooked, Closer look, his upper lip is ripped off. Noshi gives him a flash drive the size of my fingernail. It's done. I leave.

Back on the road, I didn't need the required 15 minutes grace period that most couriers do. Noshi likes that about me. I'd rather go to the next job as soon as possible. A pick up, more memory but I can take it. I am relieved that I'm riding my motorcycle and my next job isn't for another hour. Food. I see a man selling noodles on the road, I pay him with a swipe of my hand. Motorcycle on auto, the food is good, enough for now. Carton disintegrates, finished. Auto off my motorcycle says. I am in control of the wheel again.

"According to my watch it has only 45 minutes since the last time we saw each other." She's staring at me now. "Okay," Noshi says, "better get back out there, you don't wanna' make the Boss Man angry by being short on memory intel today." She laughs again. I see the same large, scarred man from before. I'm not sure if he is smiling too, his mouth is crooked, Closer look, his upper lip is ripped off. Noshi gives him a flash drive the size of my fingernail. It's done. I leave.

Back on the road, I didn't need the required 15 minutes grace period that most couriers do. Noshi likes that about me. I'd rather go to the next job as soon as possible. A pick up, more memory but I can take it. I am relieved that I'm riding my motorcycle and my next job isn't for another hour. Food. I see a man selling noodles on the road, I pay him with a swipe of my hand. Motorcycle on auto, the food is good, enough for now. The carton disintegrates in my palm, finished. "Auto off," my motorcycle says. I am in control of the wheel again.

End of Part One

intellectscience fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sherry Blackwell

Graduate of New Jersey City University with degree in Media Arts. Bringing women and people of color further into the future with one story at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.