Futurism logo

The Bunker Hole

As below so above.

By Art's JourneyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Art's Journey

Today we are going to the dark side, Sarah insisted that I go to experience it. I and Sarah were the only two going but I’m not gonna lie, I was scared shitless. In the bunker, there’s a wheel on the outside that can only be opened on the outside. We have an alarm the sounds when someone is opening the door and we only open the door twice a year to gather notes. The other side is the normal world, the world we all know. We only go to this site to get supplies. We are in a cross between worlds, no one truly knows who created this place but we are here and we call it The Bunker Hole.

The Alarm Sounds… Mark opened the bunker hole. Mark was a security guard for the government who we placed there for the sole purpose of being able to open the hole when needed. We climbed down traveling through the tunnels. When we got outside it was dark grey skies and lights from buildings for miles. We walked until we got to a Project like complex. There were Tall project buildings and short row homes with plenty of open fields full of brown grass. We walked into one of the Tall buildings and walked up 10 flights of stairs, and no there were absolutely no elevators. Sarah knocked on apartment number 8 and a short but very pretty young girl answered the door. “Hey, Y’all made it!” She hugged Sarah.

We walked into the house and Sarah introduced us. Her name is Charnese and I really liked her vibe, she was really nice. I complimented her on how she has her place looking so nice and welcoming despite the outside appearance. We sat down and got to know each other, talking about different things. I found out she was a Psych major, which is why she volunteered to stay there. She wanted to get to know the people there. She created me an ID, stating that I lived with her and was born there. Later that night we went walking around the city, it was pitch black even with the lights from the buildings. Walking through one of the fields we heard silent humming sounds, they told me to run because if we got caught we would be punished. I laughed at first but the fear on Charnese face was all I needed to see for me to run.

We ran into the nearby abandoned Rowhouse and sat for what felt like forever extremely silent. When the noise was gone we ran all the way back to Charnese’s house and went to sleep without saying a word to each other. The next day Charnese was acting a bit weird to me, she was a lot more silent and less open with her energy. We watched a bit of Television and they kept having several commercials for suicide like every other commercial was about suicide. It was odd, like are they trying to make people want to kill themselves but planting these commercials into their heads. We left that night to go back to the bunker but something didn’t feel right, I was scared before but now I was terrified.

We were now back at the bunker and at this point, I swore I wasn’t going back. We were all chilling and doing our own thing when the alarm sounded, I ran and hid because like I told you before I was scared as shit. After like 5 minutes they came and got me to tell me it was only Mark. I came to the hall were the Hole was and Mark had a card for me, it was on the same type paper as a check stub you would receive in the mail. When I looked at it there was one question and a line for my answer on it that read “What was your relation to Charnese?” I looked at Mark with confusion. He said, “Oh yeah, you don’t know, Charnese killed herself.” I stumbled back because flashes of all the commercials came to mind, she had all the symptoms of a suicidal person after that one night.

I began to panic because I was terrified, the bunker hole was still open so I repeatedly told them to close the door. Mark said he couldn’t because then he wouldn’t be able to get out. I screamed then leave but y’all need to close the door. Mark went down and closed the door, five minutes later the alarm had sounded again. Everyone panicked this time, we put the plan into place. I volunteered to go through the normal side and come back when everything is clear to help everyone else if need be.

We had a tall rolling staircase at the top hole of the bunker, which was the entrance to the normal side. I went through that door and pushed the security button that made the door disappear into the wall. Someone moved the staircase to the upstairs balcony and waited for whoever was opening the door. When the dark hole opened it was not Mark, it was the weird sounding security, they forced everyone down the hole where Mark was standing next to the wall. When everyone was down, the security had closed the door and came down, Mark quickly pulled the Fire lever. The Fire lever was a decoy that switched the bunker hole wheel to the inside of the bunker and made the hole completely disappear, also once the Fire lever was pulled it disappeared into the wall so when the security returns they will never find the hole again.

Now here I am, sitting in this whole scared as shit, my friends' last hope. I don’t know if I can do this!

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Art's Journey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.