Futurism logo

The Bull

Understanding a Taurus

By Angie ConnollyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Bull
Photo by Jared Schwitzke on Unsplash

Strong and resilient, stubborn, practical and well-grounded. I look at things from a realistic, yet overly optimistic perspective. I am both a lover and a fighter but have had to learn to differentiate between the two.

It often feels like inner turmoil when you are passionate and tender but at the same time overprotective and uncompromising. These second two traits come across to others as a negative trademark of a Taurus, however the difference is where the passion is coming from. I am not afraid to take a stand. I will not waver or compromise to conform to popular opinions or to save face.

This is where the “stubborn” trait blurs lines as well. I am often misunderstood and deemed too stubborn to accept change or admit I am wrong. This couldn’t be further from the truth. I am very open minded and willing to listen. I am intuitive and curious to learn from another's point of view. However, I have a stronger ability of discernment than most and can feel things without conscious reasoning. This tends to confuse people and sometimes scares them off.

There is a new trend called matching energy. Meaning people claim they will treat you the way you treat them. This is complete nonsense. First of all, there is no way to “match energy” with someone you don’t understand. Secondly, characteristics of a Taurus can not be duplicated because their strength and endurance aren’t equivalent to any other sign. A Taurus is a powerhouse with the ability to go the distance every single time. We also have the ability to bring a practical voice of reason to any situation.

A confounding part of a Taurus is that we are stubborn and relentless, but are also extremely giving and loyal to a fault. Dependable, sensual and emotional with a heart of gold. This is where we are in a tumultuous relationship with ourselves. Therefore the lover and fighter working in unison takes a great deal of self control and intuition. Understanding which is the necessary lead and follow approach is a learning process. It will inevitably get you caught in some undesirable situations. Either because you were swift with your temper or overtaken by your emotions. Both very strong, contradictory characteristics of a Taurus.

I have often been called names such as two-faced, a hypocrite, deceitful and fake. This is not because I am any of those things, it’s simply because people don’t understand that a Taurus has a distinct ability to interpret a given situation from two different perspectives and decipher their position. One situation may constitute a sword and shield approach while the next requires a more gentle, understanding demeanor.

Being able to do both is a blessing and a curse. You lose credibility with people because they don’t understand your double-sided personality. Your intentions and integrity are questioned because it seems impossible to understand a person being polar opposite of themselves depending on the circumstances.

The spiritual meaning of a bull is that it is the symbol of abundance and wealth in addition to it’s stubbornness and brutality. By definition a Taurus is usually materialistic and loves money. They are hard workers, reliable and thorough. While I do appreciate nice things, I wouldn’t describe myself as materialistic. I tend to live a more simplistic lifestyle without flashy or expensive possessions. I find more satisfaction in useful things and comforting pleasures. We are known for creativity and being attracted to beautiful things. I believe beauty is in the eye of the beholder and I see it in plain and unorthodox forms. My work ethic is strong and in true characteristic of a Taurus, I will work incessantly until the job is done. I am a perfectionist and a very strong critic of my own work. I do not accept less than my best and even then I will try harder.

Earth signs are known to be the most grounded people on the planet. While I keep things real and have stability and persistence, I do not have patience or artistic talent. I have vision and vivid ambition but the talents aren’t effortless.

Endurance is one of my strongest attributes followed closely by my genuine love for giving. Protecting and rescuing people has created a delicate balancing act between helpfulness and kindness. I mistakenly give my loyalty as well as my last dollar to people who aren’t worthy of my generosity. I get taken advantage of and disappointed more than anything else. However, it doesn’t deter me from being true to my nature because finding one sincere person is worth encountering ten miserable opportunists.

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Angie Connolly

I've been many things in the 46 chapters of my life but my identity is Mom and Nana.

Of all my hobbies, I enjoy writing the most.

I hope to live the rest of my life with the purest love and share happiness with those most important to me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.