Futurism logo

The assignment

submission#2

By maybe: mayaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

As usual I wait until the absolute last minute to start my class assignment. “I’m in college now you’d think I know how to be responsible,” I say aloud to myself. Luckily for me I flew home for the weekend to visit my mom on her birthday. I live in New Orleans and go to school in upstate New York. I usually do not visit home because the plane tickets are too expensive, but after my grandmother won 20,000 in her bingo tournament, I started coming home more often. I now come home for Holidays and important birthdays, such as my moms. “Since we all come from such different cultures and backgrounds, this project will focus on your unique backstory. Pick an item that has sentimental value to you and you will do a presentation on it….due on Friday, October 13th.” I had 3 weeks to start up this project and I waited until the last possible week to start it. I’m thinking of what I could possibly do a whole presentation on and could not think of anything interesting that I own. I decided to make my way upstairs in the attic to see what might be laying around. I am greeted by massive cobwebs and old empty cardboard boxes. “Unless my professor is interested in the spiders that live in Louisiana, I think I’m wasting my time up here.” I laugh to myself. As I was about to turn back down the stairs and just make something up for my project, I saw a glimmer of light coming from the very back corner of my attic. It was a metal chest that had my grandmother’s initials on it. I walk over to the intriguing chest and heavily observe it. It had chains wrapped around it, with an old rusty lock attached to the front. The metals were rusted and the chest appeared to be a rustic orange color. The lock was so old and worn down that I opened it with just a light kick. I shuddered at the sound of the lock dropping to the old wooden floor. I got a very eerie feeling from this chest. I decided to slightly open the chest and peek inside. “There has got to be something in here good enough for my project.” I sigh, now growing impatient. I open the box completely now, “Family photos, more family photos, and old watches.” I sigh, “none of this will do” I say aloud to myself. Maybe I should look somewhere else. Just as I was about to close the rusty chest, from the corner of my eye I see a little black leather book with the words “non aperire- Do not Open” carved into the leather. “Now this… looks interesting” I say. The book was sewn closed and had a mini rusty lock on it. The lock was barely hanging on, and the stitching in the book was very worn. I lightly tug on the lock and it falls to the ground almost instantly. The book looked like it was hundreds of years old. It had a hardcover with a spider engraved on the front, with a blue stone as the body. I start skimming through the pages, and only find a bunch of words that appear to be written in latin that I cannot understand. There are a few rough translations to English but the pages are so yellowed and old it’s hard to make out what it says. “Nunc Ignem” I whisper to myself. Just then, the page I was reading lit on fire. I gasped and threw the book across the room. “A...a spell book?!”

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.