Futurism logo

The Ambiguity of Horoscopes

The Thoughts of a Cynical Gemini

By Bryan R..Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Ambiguity of Horoscopes
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

My mother birthed me into this world on June 3rd, 1971. That means I fall smack dab in the middle of the Tribe of Gemini. I discovered my sign as an older child, not because of a belief in astrology but because a tabloid rag in the check-out line spotlighted a story about famous Geminis on the front cover. I learned I had something in common with Judy Garland, Marilyn Monroe and John F. Kennedy. After I learned my sign, for entertainment, I occasionally read the horoscopes in my local newspaper. The editor of the paper stuck the horoscopes in a small box on page three. People with failing eyesight probably utilized a magnifying glass to absorb the possibilities for the day or checked to see if the predictions had rang true. I found the prognostications to be quite vague. No "soothsayer" dared to share anything too specific for fear of looking like a fraud, besides as long as they predicted plausible life happenstances and people read their work, the "prophets" earned a paycheck.

As time sailed by and the Internet became the way to traverse the world, I conducted a little test. A few years ago, I decided to compare the predictions for Geminis on differing websites. Obviously, a consensus did not exist. Some astrologers predicted my day would be full of prosperity...a day of blessing and fortune. Others forecasted pain or sorrow and suggested I stay in bed. One visionary foretold a day of mediocrity. Since I discovered little to no harmony in their ability to read my stars, I ignored them all, knowing that luminous spheroids of plasma do not have the ability to control my day and its outcome. But not everyone considers astrology a worthless hoax.

According to a 2017 Pew Research Center poll, almost thirty per cent of Americans believe in astrology, and numbers continue to rise. No one knows for certain why there has been a resurgence in following the astrological signs, though some suggest that the increase stems from widespread Internet usage and interactions on social media. In the not so recent past, people ascribing to astrology might be labeled 'kooks,' but not any more. Many intellectuals have jumped on the bandwagon, insisting the stars and planetary alignments dictate the course of their lives. I shy away from blaming a star for a bad day or commending a planet for a promotion at work. But mentioning planets, I do wonder why Pluto got the boot from the family of planets and I wonder if the other heavenly bodies warned him of the expulsion.

Based upon the multi-optioned obscure predictions for a person's day, I imagine myriads of people around the world sitting at computer screens, basking in the knowledge that they have the powerful means to make or break someone's day. For instance, what does one do with the information, "fight against changes today." To what does this refer? Should I avoid Jiffy Lube and schedule an oil change later? Or, should I wear the same clothes as yesterday? How about, "be alert to new opportunities?" Does this mean I am supposed to try the new restaurant...be on the lookout for a new job...request a raise...or none of the above? Almost every conjecture posted by these "diviners" is so ambiguous it could be fulfilled at any time for any person whether he be Gemini or not.

Astrological signs intrigue many people of all socioeconomic backgrounds. But while they watch for fulfillment in a horoscope prediction, I will just go about my life, without worrying about a perfect stranger's forecast and know that Providence controls that anyway.

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Bryan R..

Husband. Father. Music and Youth Pastor. I enjoy writing as a hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.