Futurism logo

Technology has taken over.

Nothing like before.

By Summer RaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

WE ARE A GENERATION THAT WILL NEVER COME BACK.

A generation that walked to school and then walked back.

A generation that did their homework alone to get out asap to play in the street.

A generation that spent all their free time on the street with their Friends.

A generation that played hide and seek when dark.

A generation that made mud cakes.

A generation that collected sports cards.

A generation that found, collected and washed & Returned empty coke bottles to the local grocery store for 5 cents each , then bought a Mountain Dew and candy bar with the money.

A generation that made paper toys with their bare hands.

A generation who bought vinyl albums to play on record players.

A generation that collected photos and albums of clippings.

A generation that played board games and cards on rainy days.

A generation whose TV went off at midnight after playing the National Anthem.

A generation that had parents who were there.

A generation that laughed under the covers in bed so parents didn't know we were still awake.

A generation that is passing and unfortunately it will never return!!..

I loved growing up when I did but now that I sit here as an adult and parent, I think back to that time and it makes me sad. My kids won’t grow up the way I did. They won’t get to experience what I did and it’s so very sad. The world has changed and not for the better.

Kids these days get iPads, PlayStations, Xbox’s and phones. Why did the way we use to live have to change? Why do kids these days spend more time inside then outside? Why do they feel happier with an iPad or remote in their hand?

Kids these days don’t know how to play, they don’t know the feeling of sitting around a table with their family and friends playing a board game or the feeling of playing outside in the street with the other kids in the neighbourhood. They spend their time behind a screen, brainwashed that this is normal.

Do kids even have sleepovers these days? Do they still make cubby houses in the lounge room with pillows, sheets and blankets? Do they still camp outside in a tent with their friends as their parents provide snacks, lollies and fizzy drinks? Do they still lay on mattress’s with their friends that fill the lounge room as they eat loads of popcorn?

I wouldn’t change a thing about my childhood growing up. I got to experience so many wonderful and beautiful things. If I could go back in time to when I was a child I would. Not to change anything but to feel and do it all over again. It really does make me sad how things have changed over time.

Kids can’t jump off bridges into the river anymore because their iPhones will get ruined. They can’t take skinny dips in the ocean because there’s no service on the beach and adventures aren’t real unless they are posted on social media. Technology has doomed the way of the world and we are helping destroy it every time we google, check-in and hashtag.

Technology takes us away from the people sitting right in front of us. I bet if you look up from your phone right now, you will see the people around you looking at a screen. Whether it be a phone, laptop, iPad or even a tv, I bet that’s what you see.

But this is the way of the world now. This is what we call “normal.”

future
Like

About the Creator

Summer Rayne

I’m Summer Rayne.

There’s not really a lot to say about me, I’m abit boring but the things you will read on my page will not be.

I don’t have any certain things that I write about. I write about all different things.

Anyway I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.