Futurism logo

Tales of an Arachnid.

Scorpio(ish)

By Angelica VauxPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Tales of an Arachnid.

It so happens to be that I am the spawn of Valentine's month.

Good Morning November!

The irony of being a Scorpio is that our exterior is this crude & intimidating exoskeleton..

But on the inside, we’re all cute and mushy.

Remember that fable about the Scorpion and the frog? That's me!

I go out of my way to be of assistance then I get stung by my own cockiness, all because I decided to wear my impulsive pants then decided to stuff a sock into the mouth of my intuition.

My naivety: “Suck it up, Buttercup!”

I inherently loath conformity. It is what it is.

Don’t get me wrong. I respect structure and authority, but when authoritarians tear away that structure and assert unjustified dominance without compromise and finding common grounds.

I delegate. Or I stay quiet because I know which direction the debate is going, and surprise surprise.. nowhere! A serial pragmatist at that. Hello Mars in Libra.

It saves a debate for another day by being selective with our company.

Hear ye Hear ye, Scorpios are not nymphomaniacs. I promise.

It’s easy to assume, isn’t it. Have you ever fornicated with a Scorpio?

Calling us nymphs gives Scorpio-ism a negative connotation.

Neither Dominant nor Submissive. How about expressive?

We value connection, & chemistry.

Building trust, & nurturing loyalty.

Whenever I’m around other Scorpio’s.. It's like we’re high on helium & laugh like we’re a pack of hyenas. A combined sense of humor (especially dark) pops up when it shouldn’t.

Then things get serious and existential.

I don’t know why but I don’t really like or get along with other signs.. Scorpio’s get me, and I them. Saves me time from trying to explain the notion of black and white.

There isn't any space for cohesion with water signs that have heavy air sign placements in their chart.. However, Air signs with heavy water placements are easy to get along with.. there's a natural flow. The perks of being asocial I guess.

The difficulty with having female friends, stems from negative experiences.. Do I naturally get everyone's attention when I walk into a room? Yes. But really I dislike attention, I'm a constant target for dirty looks. They get jealous, What is the big deal with making conversation and having enough self respect to not make a pass at somebody else's man?! Take a chill pill. He’s not even my type!

My Taurean friend (Polar opposite of Scorpio), Dependable & stubborn (too stubborn to admit that he's stubborn!), it’s quite irritating .But I’ll allow it.. I adore how we have a mutual trust and understanding, especially when it comes to creative criticism.

A certain je ne sais quoi.

Once when I was at a house party of a friend named Mr. Z and his friends, & a few of his cousins.

Both he & I went out onto the balcony overlooking the city skyline. He pulled out some weed from his pocket and lit it up, I took a puff and after that, the conversation was extremely entertaining. After 30 minutes or so, we went inside and we all were trying to decide which movie to watch. I was holding the remote, it was one of those Bluetooth operated smart T.V ones. I was so out of it, trying to find the letters on the keyboard was quite the challenge. I kept deleting what I was typing. I couldn’t even write Bird Box.. All of them were laughing and one of them said “What is she doing?!”. The entire ordeal was hysterical.

I won’t smoke ever again though. I like being in touch with the present.

Can I make people laugh? Yes Have I got a superpower of making people cringe sometimes.. Double yes!

Have you ever heard of synchronized dreams?

It happened on a few occasions, but the one that stood out way back in 2014, featuring a former beau.

In the dream, I had just stepped into the shower, and begun shampooing my hair.

You know everyone's common paranoia of thinking that something is staring at them..

Well in this dream, it was a poltergeist in a long black cloak with a hood and no face.. Just utter darkness. When I saw the apparition, it lunged toward me and through the glass, All I could do is grab my towel and run out into the hallway and down the stairs, where I stood and saw all of his 4 siblings & himself sitting on chairs in a circle facing one another, all bound up with their hands behind them and duct tape on the mouths. The poltergeist was standing in the middle levitating and singing and levitating while singing “Eeny meeny miny, moe. Which one is the next to go?!” and they were all shrieking. That's where the dream ended.

His version was that he was the one in the shower, and he got chased out, down the stairs and was also tied up, while I was standing on the staircase just watching. Even though the apparition didn't do anything to me.

I’ve accepted the fact that not only do I have the capability of reading between the lines. For example, hearing what people aren’t saying by glaring deep into their soul.. With our mysterious gaze.. I hear it all, I see it all. I feel it all.

No seriously. I have freakish premonitions..

A sincere game of “I spy with my little eye, something beginning with ESP”

If I want to escape.. It's via listening to music. Allowing my inner emo child to live on and drive others mad with Marilyn Manson, casually playing in the background.

I like all genres.. It varies based on my mood.

If I don’t want to listen to any lyrics, I opt for Jazz or Sax.

Upbeat? basically anything from the 50's - 90’s.

I adore the fact that my entire birth chart is free spirited. My moon in Sagittarius, The optimist. Allows me to wander and find the wonderful without a worry in the world. If I could find a meadow and skip through it, I would.. bare.

I haven’t had the chance to see much of the globe thus far. Imagine seeing the amount of wildlife that David Attenborough and his crew have come across. I loved that no matter which direction you looked toward, there were fruit trees and the most beautiful shade of green as far as the eyes could see. Animals hopping about the canopy.. and a smorgasbord of mosquitoes. The sea life was a whole different dimension. And the temperature.. A whopping 29 degrees.

I could swim there all day and everyday, even if after day one, my skin turned a searing shade of ouch! Oh, and I ingested mystery meat.. Yes yes, It tasted like chicken. But better.

(I must’ve picked up a parasite, So I made an executive decision to become plant based)

No matter where it is or for how long.. I aim to travel somewhere whether it be local or international.. at least once per year. For a sense of wanderlust

Aquarius rising, the creative rebel within. Sarcasm is in a league of its own. My motto: “A silly question deserves a silly answer.”

Or when people tell me that I’m quiet, it's simply because I’m waiting for intelligent conversation and that I’m psychologically incapable of chiming in on useless superficial dilemmas; *hit send*.

If I don't like something. I’ll bluntly verbalize what I really think of those mercurial beings that cannot absorb reality checks.

Especially when everybody knows that they can come to me for a unique perspective and doesn't follow through. Yea, thanks for wasting my time!

When I need some “me” time, I find myself dabbling in photography and creative writing or just being present in nature.. I don’t like social media. It’s become somewhat passé..

I swear, If I hear another Tik Toker calling a trend, a “challenge”.. I’m going to flip the proverbial table.

And no.. Tik Tok does not provide useful life hacks. Unless.. No, Who am I kidding?!

I saw the 90’s. I ran across the grass & fields with my bare feet catching insects and stuffing them underneath the bedroom door of my eldest sister while she was asleep.. Awaiting her to wake up and find the nice surprise. I’m the ultimate prankster.

Or the time that my parents told me to look out for the lottery numbers at 20:28, channel 9 on a Thursday evening, knowing very well that we hadn’t won anything, I copied a row from the ticket and handed it to them. I was waiting for their reaction.. Pure excitement! I was watching them & & I was laughing for 10 minutes straight and so I finally told them what I did. Boy oh boy, was my father mad!!! Totally worth it though. *Laugh out Loud!*.

My sisters & I kept it light hearted, even though family life was a bit of a doozy.

Regardless of that. I believe that we were close to being the final generation of wild hearts. I must pay homage to the tattoo on my hip that says “stay wild”. I’m not a hippie, But I would have loved to have seen Woodstock in 1969.. Let it all hang out. Who cares, right? We’re all equals. Up until somebody's ego sticks out like a sore thumb, then I want nothing to do with them.

Do I think that this generation has had their switch flipped? Without a doubt.

I cannot for the life of me, get along with anybody from this generation. Perhaps it's that I feel that I was born into the wrong era.

What I like..

Sunshine on rainy days, Sundays, sunrise/sunset photography, Any form of water, Winter & Autumn, productivity, Working with my hands (especially IKEA furniture.)

Shopping on my own. (that way I don't have to rush or be rushed)

PUPPIES!

Archery.

Sentimental gestures. (esp: PJ socks!)

What I dislike..

Chronic sneezers. (Seriously, grab a tissue and blow your nose already!)

Drummers drumming, Whistling (as if the world depends on somebody finishing the tune!)

children squealing at the beach on a day off.

Personal questions from strangers.

slow walkers/drivers. (not that I speed.. but you get the gist)

Compliments! Yes, I dislike compliments! (I'm cocky and self assured. I don't rely on anybody to make my day!)

Manipulative behavior. LIARS!, hypocrisy, self entitlement.

Elderly entitlement. (I know that it sounds bad.. I don't dislike the elderly. But just sometimes you'll come across a person who thinks they can get away with acting obnoxiously ignorant on purpose just to get what they need. Why not just politely ask for what you need.. It's not so difficult is it?! Lets find a solution!)

Jumping to conclusions without thoroughly investigating every facet of information.

Cats (Though I don’t hate them because they’re helpless animals.)

It took me a while to figure out what I wanted to do.

Where my aspirations lead me: I wanted to be a Neurologist, which then turned into Fashion Design, Forensics, Law, Law Enforcement, A photographer.. Then get this.. My absolute favorite dream job.. A Hollywood stunt car driver or a stunt double. None of which came to fruition, but the passion always stuck around. You know how the saying goes.. Jack of all trades, master of none.

*Extending my hand out to Life, Hi, nice to meet you. My name is procrastination.*

I had goals. But school and I were mortal enemies. My father moved us around.. a lot!

Everything that I know now Is self taught. My brain calls the right hemisphere home.. Sort of like a hermit that so happens to be an unofficial interior designer. I can’t help but find creative solutions for everything. Practicality was the name of the game. Pssssh, Forget theory!

Do I think that I’m a typical Scorpio? No.

Scorpio-ish perhaps.

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Angelica Vaux

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.