Futurism logo

Snapchat Predicts Love

Astrology?

By Victoria TurnerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I know very little about astrology. And I just recently entered a relationship with someone who also knows very little. But the internet is OBSESSED with it, so I would be hard-pressed to go through life knowing absolutely nothing. So here is the limited knowledge that I have. I am a Scorpio. Scorpio’s are angsty and good at sex. Let’s see if I can name the other 11 signs, shall we?

Capricorn. Pretty sure this is a crab.

Pisces. The fish one.

Aries. That’s a bull, right?

Sagittarius. I have no clue what represents that.

Um.

Honestly, that’s all I’ve got.

So I know that there’s 12, and there’s something about the sun and moon. But the part we’re discussing is the fact that, supposedly, certain signs are compatible with others. Certain signs are also destined to fail if they get together. Oddly enough, I’ve taken a recent, though casual, interest in astrology, as my partner asked me what my sign was, wondering if perhaps the stars thought we had a chance together.

Snapchat of all places provided us with our first answer. According to it, we have “sun sign compatibility”. I do not know what the sun sign is about, so please bear with me as I learn via a hasty google search.

Our signs are both associated with the planet Mars. We are confrontational (very wrong on both our parts) and willful (very right for both), which leads to the possibility of either great passion or great hatred. We admire each other for our passion and determination (sort of true; we’re both passionate and determined to be antisocial homebodies if that counts). Therefore, we should be strong together because we fight with purpose. Finally, “If you can avoid being passive aggressive with each other,” (basically impossible for two sarcastic smart-alecs), “...you’re an unbeatable team.”

So. There’s that.

Let’s see if our individual signs say about us, then search for our compatibility and see if Snapchat’s information is correct.

According to astrology.com, scorpios are adept and persistent at discovering hidden truths about others. They despise small talk, though they can be empathetic and compassionate people. Their weakness lies in the fact that they give themselves over completely to their passions and lovers.

All this information is scarily accurate about me. I am the quintessential “mom friend” among my companions. I interpret the copious information about Scorpio to mean that they can come off as intimidating or rude, but in reality, are some of the fiercest friends, just as a good parent should be.

My partner is an Aries, apparently the first sign of the zodiac. This leads them to be natural leaders, never afraid to speak their mind, take charge, and lead the pack to victory. Similar to scorpio, they can come off as blunt and uncaring, though at their core, Aries are loyal to the end, willing to support and defend their friends.

Before reading any further about the sign’s compatibility, I will say that Aries is less accurate about my significant other than my sign. While he is loyal and brave, he is rather non-confrontational, and will keep his opinions to himself unless it becomes necessary to resolve a conflict.

So there is my 10th grade English essay written the night before it’s due (and actually turned in very late for no credit) with information hastily gathered via Google and Wikipedia. The conclusion is that my partner and I, as an Aries and Scorpio respectively, are destined to have powerful emotions, one way or the other. As long as we can avoid passive-aggressive arguments, which we have managed to do so far, I think our passion will lead us to a healthy, hay relationship.

If the stars so choose, let it be.

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Turner

I write when I can, and dream when I can't.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.