Futurism logo

Skeptical of everything

A journey into my interactions with christians* on my social media

By Chronically MegPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Skeptical of everything
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I pose the question to everyone, even myself: “What if you’re wrong? Would you be ok with that? Are you open to that idea?”

I have confused many of the christians* on my page. They don’t know if I’m an atheist, a pagan, or what I am. Most that come there just stick me with the label “ devil worshipper” or “false prophet” and condemn me to an eternity in hell. And when I ask them to prove their claim, prove that hell exists, they quote scripture from their book to me. As if I didn’t already know what that book says for myself (wasting years of my life being raised in a southern baptist home).

They get very upset when I explain to them that the bible* is part of the claim and cannot be used as evidence. Then they move on to their personal experiences. The retellings of their testimonies, where they have seen their god work in their life. I, then, have to explain personal experiences cannot be used as evidence either. I have had my own personal experience with a different deity, they have to prove their experience was the correct one and mine was wrong. Some say that I’m talking to demons, so when I say “that’s another claim, can you prove it?”, they just get even more upset at me. No idea why (Let me make the sarcasm very apparent here).

The next thing most christians arguing with me will say is “well, god keeps me from killing people!” In which I reply, “I know many atheists who have never killed anyone, nor have the desire to kill anyone, why do you need a god to stop you from hurting people?”

The last argument I face with christians on my social media is this: “well, I just have faith! You don’t!” And, actually, I don’t mind this so much. I have to explain, you can have faith your god exists, I don’t mind that. What I do have a problem with is you claiming that what you believe in is absolutely correct without evidence.

After this is where I start to receive the death threats (how very christian-like of them), the ill-wishes (cancer, sickness, the death of my family, etc.), more condemnations to hell, and even threats to have me arrested (that actually happened). I use these comments to make tiktoks (@chronically_meg on tiktok), adding funny sounds to them, dancing to music, and making light of these awful comments. Just christians showing their true colors.

I am skeptical of everything, even my own beliefs. I could be wrong. Christians could be wrong. We could all be wrong. There could be nothing, no afterlife, no gods, no supernatural entity anywhere. We have to be open to that idea in our ever expanding search for truth. When I was younger, I wish I had someone to validate me in questioning these religious beliefs I was raised in and indoctrinated into as a child. And I do believe I am helping people, people who were like me, people who could not find the words to describe what they believe or think until I said it perfectly for them. I did not realize that when I started speaking out against the church and christianity, that it would open so many doors to help so many people.

So yes, I am skeptical of everything. As much as I would like to believe my spells work or the gods exist, I cannot know for sure and I cannot prove that. I will continue on this path, because it has become the right path for me, but I will never go to someone and claim my way is the only way and what I believe is absolute truth when I cannot prove that.

* I do not capitalize these words because I do not respect the christian religion, church, book, or god.

religion
Like

About the Creator

Chronically Meg

Disabled. Witch. Pagan. Satanist. Skeptic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.