Futurism logo

SEISMIC NUANCES

Vibrations

By Alexis PatmonPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

Chapter 1: Stormy Weather

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say.

I used to believe it was just some crazy metaphor somebody came up with, but now…..I believe it’s true. It’s been four years since the continents have been breaking away and Earth’s inhabitants slowly disappeared. By disappear I mean death. I’m still trying to figure out why I’m still alive. After all, my name does mean “protector of mankind” so maybe I’m supposed to save the rest of humanity who haven’t died from these supernatural seismic nuances.

It all started four years ago. I was in my room laying down in my bed about to take a nap. All of a sudden I heard this strange noise. Imagine someone who is full after eating and was burping for a very long time. That’s how it sounded. I’ve never heard anything like it before. Well, the closest thing I could compare it to was someone going through an exorcism or an alien that I’ve seen in movies. After I heard the noise, I made my way downstairs then I went outside. I checked my phone but it was turned off. Whatever this was, it affected the radio waves. My family then came outside and eventually everyone on my block. We started talking about what we were hearing. Normally I’d be able to check the news online on my phone but I couldn't. So I went back inside to turn on the TV but there was no power. No lights. No signal. Nothing. Here in Kinshasa we’ve never experienced anything like this before. I’m not really surprised because we are sort of like the homeland of supernatural occurrences.

I heard my next door neighbor Alyssa yell “It’s all in the prophecy! It’s all in the prophecy!”. My neighbors, the Papella’s, moved here from America three years ago. They come from a devout Catholic background and they know a lot of information about the early church and demonic superstitions.

I replied “What prophecy?”. “It’s in a book in my basement. I can go get it and read it to you”. I said “Okay sure”. I overheard my mom and Alyssa’s parents talking. My mom said most of our appliances are electric and she doesn’t know what she’s going to do for dinner. Mr. Papella said that my mom, brother, and I can have dinner with them since they have a gas stove and they’re preparing a big dinner for the Feast of the Holy Family, a Roman Catholic religious festival which falls on the first Sunday after Christmas. Mr. Papella said the dinner would be ready at six o'clock”. Right now it’s four o'clock. It’s been an hour since the sun reached its high peak and it’s exhaustingly hot. I went back in my house to lift up my windows so that there could be air circulation in my room. I went back outside and went to my garage to get a lawn chair. Then I went and sat on my grass until the Feast. I stared into space. I looked at the clouds. I closed my eyes in hopes that the sky would speak to me and tell me what is going on.

Soon after, Mr. Papella came outside and told me that dinner was ready. I got up and went on my porch and I opened the front door and told my mom who was in proximity. She answered “Okay”. I went and sat back down in the lawn chair until my mom and younger brother came outside. After about five minutes they came outside and I got up and we went into the Papella’s house.

As soon as we stepped foot into the Papella’s, Mrs. Papella exclaimed “Rae, Isabella, Dakari”! My eyes got really big from excitement. My mother went to embrace Mrs. Papella in a hug. Mr. Papella told me and my brother we could have a seat at the table with Alyssa. So my brother and I rushed to the table ready to eat. The smell from the food was literally leading me to the dining room. Me and Alyssa locked eyes as soon as I went into the dining room. She said “Don't forget to wash your hands. It's a sink in our kitchen you could use”. I told my brother Dekari to follow me so we could wash our hands. I let him wash his hands first then I went behind him. I grabbed us both some paper towel and threw it away when we finished drying our hands. We made our way back in the dining room and sat down. After my brother and I sat down, Mr. Papella sat down. He hollered “Lillian, come and eat honey”. She came to the table along with my mom and sat down. Mrs. Papella said “I apologize, I was showing Isabella our dinette table sets. Mr. Papella welcomed my family to the home and said how grateful he was that we joined his family for the Feast. The food was spread really nice on the table. My mom said “Thank you for having us”. Mr. Papella bowed his head and said “Let's all grab hands and pray”. All of us grabbed hands and he started praying. His prayer was very heartfelt and sincere.

After he prayed the Papella’s and my mother was talking about church, religion, and the world. My mind was somewhere else honestly. I was there but I wasn’t there. I ate and after I finished Alyssa asked her dad if she could show me the book of prophecies. He replied sure. I got up from the table. Alyssa told me to follow her to the basement. I went to the basement and their basement was literally a library. It was so big and beautiful. I found a chair and I sat down. Alyssa went to go get the book. Alyssa got the book and while she was walking, she opened up the pages to find the prophecy about the events that were happening.

She read “Back in September 20th 1882 our lady said the Earth will be covered in darkness and hell will be loosed on Earth. The thunder and lightning will cause those who have no faith or trust in my power to die of fear. During these three days of terrifying darkness no windows must be opened because no one will be able to see the earth and the terrible color will have in those days of punishment without dying at once the sky will be on fire the Earth we'll split during these three days of darkness let the Blessed candle be lighted everywhere no other light will shine”. She then said “Alien-like creatures will come to earth and will call people’s names to lure them outside and eventually kill them.

Right after she read aloud, we heard a big boom and then thunder and lightning outside. Both of us looked at each other and ran upstairs. When we got upstairs we saw our parents and my brother rush outside. The sky was getting dark. My heart rate began to increase to the point where it felt like the palpitations was outside of my body. For a moment I was frozen in time but the sound of my mother’s voice calling my name warmed me up. When I came back to reality it was raining hard and lightning. My mothers hair was drenched with water from the rain. For some reason my mom ran to her van with the Papella’s and my brother and drove off. My mom, brother and neighbors really left me! So I ran after them on foot and all of a sudden I fell, hit my head on a rock and was unconscious.

I woke up to the feeling of rain on my face. I don’t know how long I was unconscious but my neck and head was aching from the fall. I slowly got up off the ground and saw my house keys in the dirt next to me, so I picked it up and put it back on my belt loop. There was dirt all over me and I felt sticky from the moisture of the rain that was on me. I was trying to wrap my head around everything that was happening. I looked in all four directions to see if I saw anyone, no one was nowhere to be found. I didn’t see anyone so I walked to the street behind my house and I could not believe my eyes. I saw this creature shrieking at this older woman and I saw her hit the pavement. There was something interesting about this encounter. When this creature shrieked, my ears tingled. I remember what Alyssa told me so I slowly backed up until I was in the clear of the creature's view and I turned around and ran back to my house. While I ran I took my keys off my belt loop so the only thing I had to do was turn my house key and go inside of my house. When I got to my door I put the key in the keyhole, turned the key, and opened the door. Immediately I shut the door behind me and locked it. My body felt so tired and heavy and I wanted to go in my house and lay down but I remembered what Alyssa said about the windows so I went to my linen closets and grabbed sheets and blankets. I didn’t have anything to hang the sheets and blankets up with so I panicked. I closed the linen closet door and bagged up against the wall in the hallway. I wanted to cry but I couldn’t. I slowly slid down the wall and clenched my fists and banged them on the floor. I eventually started crying. I put my head down inside my arms sobbing. My mother left me. My neighbors left me. I was all alone. A few moments later I heard a knock on the front door.

extraterrestrialfantasyscience fictionspace
Like

About the Creator

Alexis Patmon

I'm young ,creative,ambitious and striving to be all that I'm called to be. I've changed the perspectives of unbelievers who've came to Christ. I've been mentally and emotionally broken but now that I'm free I'm setting other captives free!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.