Futurism logo

Ria

The River Mermaid

By Chasiti ChaleurPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Ria, The River Mermaid

Hello everyone, my name is Ria and I am a mermaid. However, I am a mermaid that's kind of unique. I am a mermaid that lives in a river. I would like to teach you about my home, which is a river. Some of you may ask, what's a river. So, here I am to tell you about my home. By the way, did you know that my name Ria means river? Yes Ria (River), the river mermaid.

A river is a body of water. A body of water is flowing water on earth. There are two different kinds of bodies of water. There are bodies of freshwater and there are bodies of saltwater. Rivers are bodies of freshwater.

Rivers and other bodies of freshwater like lakes, ponds, and swamps are different from bodies of saltwater due to bodies of freshwater not having any salt minerals in the water. Bodies of saltwater like oceans and seas have salt minerals in the water.

Rivers sometimes flow towards other bodies of water like oceans or seas. When a river empties into another body of water, that area is called a mouth.

There are many animals that lives in rivers. There are reptiles like alligators that lives in rivers. There are reptiles like snakes and frogs that lives near rivers. There are cool looking fish like Catfish that lives in rivers. There are mammals that lives in the rivers as well, like otters.

There are rivers all over the world. There are rivers in the United States, such as the Kansas River. There are rivers in countries like Brazil, such as the Amazon River. There are rivers in the continent of Africa as well, such as the Nile River. I lve in the Mississippi river, which is in The United States.

Well, I hope that I taught you all some things about rivers. I am planning on teaching you all a lot of things, not just about rivers. Thank you for listening to me, Ria The River Mermaid. I hope to hear from you again. See you soon and again, thank you for listening to me. ~Ria, The River Mermaid

*Writer's note-Chasiti Chaleur- Thank you for reading my story. I created this story in order to inspire children to learn about Earth Science topics. In this story, the Earth Science topic was about rivers. I am planning on writing more stories about Earth Science. My stories are going to be multicultural as well. I am planning on having characters in books from all over the world. I will start out with the African American culture. However, my goal is to talk about other cultures as well. I have friends from all cultural backgrounds, like Ireland, Ukraine, Mexico, etc. I love what I do and I can't wait to create more stories for children. I hope children enjoys the pictures to the stories as well. The pictures to my stories are pictures of me. With most stories that are African American themed, there will be photos of me included in the story. I come from an African American background and this is why I want to start my stories with the African American culture, in order to honor my African American ancestors. With that being said, I would like to dedicate this book to my African American family for generations ago. My maternal family background started in the southern regions of the United States [Georgia, South Carolina, Alabama, and Tennessee]. They migrated to Oklahoma, Arkansas, and midwest regions like Missouri, Michigan, and Kansas. My maternal grandparents met in Kansas and this is how I became a proud Kansan.

habitat
Like

About the Creator

Chasiti Chaleur

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.