Futurism logo

Rewriting The Stars

Grab The Bull By The Horns

By Jon JonesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5
Ironically, Taurus don't take any bull

Since the dawn of time, mankind has looked to the stars in wonder. We've traced constellations, charted the heavens, and even connected the fate of our lives to the very "signs" we're born under. It's easy to look at astrology and scoff or laugh it off as nonsense, yet there is an undeniable draw to the signs and their prophetic annotations in our daily lives. It's common to find someone who doesn't believe in predetermination or fate, yet it's astoundingly rare to find someone who doesn't know their birth-sign. While some use their signs as their inspiration for their choices, many believe that they have no control over the outcome of their fate due to the sign that they were born under. The key to having a strong relationship and understanding of your Zodiac Sign is understanding where it came from in the first place.

I was - as you can likely guess - born under the sign of the Taurus. The Taurus constellation dates all the way back to ancient Greece and represented the legend of Zeus himself. Zeus used his powers to transform into a great, white bull to win the love of the Phoenician princess, Europa. She was enamored with the magnificent beast and climbed upon his back. He carried her across the Mediterranean Sea where Zeus revealed himself. Together, they had a son named Minos who became the legendary King of Crete. From ancient Greeks to the Zuni of New Mexico, the constellation itself was used as an agricultural timekeeper that assisted in the successful growth of crops and food. That of course being terribly ironic for me since I am terrible at both time management and growing anything.

The bull is revered in many cultures as both sacred and powerful. While many different experts in the field of astrology will debate the traits of those born under the sign of the Taurus, it is universally agreed upon that it is an "Earth Sign". This family of signs includes the Capricorn, Virgo, and of course the Taurus. Earth signs are generally thought to be much more in tune with their senses. Creativity and rooting are also traits that all the Earth Signs share.

When it comes to a Taurus' specific traits, most sources cite us as fiercely loyal but with high standards. Our trust is not indestructible and if betrayed or insulted, our wrath is sure. We are hardly considered aggressive or violent and would likely rather lay about eating and sleeping than fighting. The interesting thing about the Taurus to me would be that the traits seem to truly reflect the nature of the bull itself. While other signs seem to reflect some traits in relation to their corporeal counterpart, the Taurus tends to literally act like a bull. I'm certainly driven when it comes to goals, but they have to fit my agenda. I love lazing around and would happily eat all day. However, my calm demeanor quickly turns to rage when my family and friends are threatened and I hold little regard for my own safety in these situations. Charging in "horns first" in most challenges seems to be my thought process, though the results vary from context to context and can certainly get me into trouble. Am I stubborn? I don't think so but according to others, that more or less proves the point that I am.

Despite the undeniable similarities that I share with all these common Taurus traits, there is one specifically that I have never related to:

The competition.

Art by Sharon Markwardt

For some reason, in almost every single iteration or writing on the traits of the Taurus, it is suggested that two people born under the sign of the bull should not be friends. Perhaps that's due to the idea that two headstrong bulls are more likely to lock horns for dominance than agree. However, in my personal experience that has never been the case. One of my oldest and best friends whom I consider a brother is also a Taurus. And let me tell you, he is definitely one big bull. That's, however, not to say we've never butted heads. In fact, our first meeting was a fight. But the important thing here is that through our ability to sympathize, find common ground, and forgive we became brothers almost instantly.

My lesson here is a simple one: What you believe will define who you are. If you religiously track your own sign and focus on the traits as being who you are, then that's what you will become. While there are mysteries and connections that we undeniably cannot fathom, "there is no fate but what we make". I generally don't get along with Leos for example, but guess what sign my daughter was born under? And she's my best friend. So by all means, follow your stars and love every moment of it. But use them as a map, not as a tunnel. If you're a Virgo and they're a Sagittarius, still go on that date. Maybe it will work and maybe it won't but don't let the stars decide how to live your life. If you don't like the story the stars write for you, rewrite them.

Sincerely,

A Taurus who had a baby Leo with an Aries.

astronomy
5

About the Creator

Jon Jones

A stay-at-home dad with a passion for the written word. I enjoy writing poetry, short stories, fantasy, and self-help material and am always deeply appreciative of the time and tips my readers provide me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.