Futurism logo

Red String of Fate

By Zchanique

By SchardinePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

The red string of fate is said to connect the paths of two lonely souls in a random heat of passion. Or whatever. They meet their “soulmates”, find true love, supposedly. And then, like every Disney fairytale ending, they live “Happily Ever After.”

Well, what if I told you, I can see those strings? Those little red things that connects random strangers. But instead of them finding their soulmates, it connects them to the person that will end their fate.

Murder.

I can see the red string of murder. How bizarre, right? “That doesn’t exist!” Someone always ends up saying that. Like, who would believe that? No one. Especially if you tried to warn them about their date while out for coffee. No one wants to hear that their potential Match meet up will be the person that ends their life. They get mad, leaving you to pay for coffee they bought. Imagine that being the last time y’all talked because your now dead friend didn’t listen to you.

Which is why I stopped warning people about the others they will come to meet in the future. Not only does that help their eventual killer meet them sooner, that makes the person act stubborn and defiant. Trying to prove some point that they don’t have.

And it’s not always murder. They get kidnapped, tortured, raped, beat up, robbed, stabbed, manipulated. But, all of that could have been prevented had they listened to me. I end up losing friends, threatened to be “outed” about my abilities, like it’s a secret. I mean, it is, but it isn’t like people believe it. Clearly.

So, what do I end up doing? Keeping this crazy power to myself. People don’t appreciate a warning until it’s too late. The people who do survive end up trying to apologize to me, like no bitch. You cut me out your life because I was trying to protect yours. Keep that same energy. Keep your “You was right”. I’m not trying to hear you, just like you weren’t trying to hear me.

Does that make me a bad person? I don’t think so. Sure, my powers could be useful in a lot of ways. Save a lot of lives, potentially catching pedophiles, rapists, sexual abusers, the like. But my powers don’t work like that. I don’t know these people. I can’t see the crimes they are gonna commit.

I only see their strings that connects one to their enemy.

I just can’t see mine.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Schardine

23. Just an average being. That may know a devastating secret.

Or two.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.