Futurism logo

Peaceful Storm

One can be at peace, even in the eye of a storm.

By G.A. MoorePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Peaceful Storm
Photo by Jonas Kaiser on Unsplash

Before, I had laid my head down for slumber, the night was still and quiet, the heat was still on the rise, not feeling any relief from the fans that just moved hot air around in my room, as if I was lying in a hot oven… baking. While trying to sleep, a relaxing dream was interrupted by wind. Of late, I had been having dreams that caused me to rise from in terror, instead I was startled awake by the sound of the gust of wind that entered my room, in the middle of the night.

Hearing the branches and leaves being blown, and the faraway distant sounds of thunder clapping, caused me to rise to see what was happening. The tree outside my window, looked as if it was having a battle with the wind. Even though, it was night, the evening sky had a different appearance about it. As if, the Gods were to come down and lay fury amongst those here on earth. The hues were mixed with gray and black, with the strangest glow of soft white, and the wind so strong making the thickly bark and large-scale tree to make a moaning sound as the large branches swayed.

Hearing the distant rumbling sounds, the sky decided to put on a light show. Dogs began to bark, and then the bright white lightning bolts lite up the sky as if someone had turned on the lights in a room… all went quiet, a sudden peace came upon the area. I stood there in awe of it all. Knowing it was not safe to be looking out of the wide-scale window, I was drawn to the blustering of the branches upon the tree. Standing there in awe and feeling the breeze pass by me and fill my room, it was like I was transfixed on only the movement.

In the background, I had the Echo Dot playing, set on string meditation music. It was like I couldn’t move, nor did I want to. It was as if I was being transported to the outer of my room and no longer on earth. Peace, utter peace came upon me. A peace I had not felt ever in my life. The roaring of the distant thunder, the sound of my own heartbeat, and the coolness of the air, was divine… no… heavenly.

I was no longer worried about the thunder bolts, or if I was struck my lightening, or who saw me staring out my window; it was me and the heavens intertwined with each other. Faith and faith, alone kept me safe. Mother nature and I were as one. Closing my eyes, taking slow deep breaths… in and out, listening to the rustling of the leaves, the distant sound of rumbling thunder, and a scent of what would be electricity’s heat… filled the air and my being. No one else existed on this earth, but I, and I alone. Being that I now lived in the house alone, especially my room, the storm didn’t scare me as it used to in my youth. I guess, after raising kids, now adults, and always taking care of their fears, worries, and pain, you forget about your own.

Remembering back to my youth of the mythology stories that I had read about the Thunder God, Zeus, I called to him. “If it is you that is not pleased with us on earth, and we as humani have done wrong, forgive us… we would do not know what we do. We are still children, learning the ways of what we should had known based on past history, of how we should treat each other. Myself, I am sorry, forgive us.”

I was not afraid; I was not worried. I slowly opened my eyes. A clasp and seven strands of bright white lightening lite the sky before my sight, yet not too close to strike me, only to imagine that the bolts hit nothing, not even a tree. Arms stretched out, and with a soft voice, “I gathered you heard me and my plead.”

The heat of the bolts gave off a heat that I felt slightly upon my skin. I held myself in awe, then proceeded to lay back upon my bed. The sheers bellowed in my room, the meditation music continued to play, as I laid still and quiet. Counting the distant sounds of thunder roar, and smelling my lightly scented lavender linen, I could feel myself drift off to sleep.

Waking the next day, as the sun light beamed into my room and upon my body, I rose to find nothing out of place. I remembered the dreams which were pleasant for a change. Soft smiling, and feeling quite refreshed. I rose from my bed, turned to turn off my Echo Dot, and walked over to my bedroom window. Not a thing was out of place in the front lawn, except for tossed leaves and some flowers, not even the large-scale tree that I had grown in size since I moved here many years ago. It was like waking to an old friend.

Looking at the blue skies, with large white clouds that hung above; looking at the might oak, I yawned and stretched, “Good morning! I am glad you and I are still here, to see another day!”

religion
Like

About the Creator

G.A. Moore

Write, and write, and write again, 'til the words become images in the mind and feel the heart with joy, heartache, or even pain. I like to think that my writing will transcend you away to a place or identify with a character. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.