Futurism logo

OUR Star Sign

"I'm unique!" No, WE'RE unique!

By Ariana GonBonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

We probably share a star sign, because of a little known fact: there are astrological signs that rule entire generations. The main one people know is their Sun sign, and the astrology gays(tm) tend to know their Big Three: Sun, Moon, and Rising Sign, also known as the Ascendant Sign. Most people know their Sun sign, because they know the day and month they were born. Less know their Rising and Moon signs, because they don’t know the time they were born off the top of their head, and the time is important because the Rising sign changes every couple of hours, and the Moon changes signs every 2-3 days. You also need to know where you were born for it to be the most accurate. We like to know these signs because each combination point to your uniqueness.

However, very few know their entire chart, and the LAYERS, like houses, midheaven, nodes, etc. Deep Astrology will have you sitting on your floor, surrounded by books and strings.

Yet, all of the unique connections in your deep astrology chart are what make you, you, astrologically speaking. For most, their combination of Sun, Moon, and Rising is unique enough. But as we sit here, 51 weeks into the pandemic in the US (as my mother informed me on Sunday) we've had a lot of time to rethink things. Some of us aren’t even sitting, but are standing up for human rights and justice. I am one of the ones who has to sit, since I live with my parents and my mother is immunocompromised, but there are many ways to support otherwise, and you can start here. Regardless, whole generations are rethinking their lives, and it might have already been written in the stars.

I was born on the Summer Solstice in 1996, a Gemini-Cancer cusp, so I like witchy shit and am part of an unidentifiable group of people who don't know if they're millennials or Gen Z, especially for people born in 1996-1999. The outer planets - yes, like Sailor Moon - are Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. These three are generational planets, since they reside in a sign ranging from 7 to 31 years. My outer planets cover the weird years of 1995-1998.

Uranus in Aquarius, 1995-2003 (8 years)

According to the Co-Star app, which will continue to be used for all of planet explanations,

Uranus [...] rules innovation, rebellion, and progress. Your Uranus is in Aquarius, meaning other generations are shocked by your generation's unconventionality, intellectuality, and detachedness.

Astrologically, I could be considered Gen Z. Gen Z is unconventional - we want to abolish capitalism, which trickles down into abolishing colonization, gender, etc. With worlds of knowledge at our fingertips, our intellect comes in when we do okay interpreting it all for ourselves, although there tends to be too much for our brains to handle. When we are overwhelmed with information, we become detached, as seen in below in Exhibit A.

Neptune in Capricorn, 1984-1998 (14 years)

Neptune [...] rules dreams, imagination, and the unconscious. Your Neptune is in Capricorn, meaning your entire generation finds inspiration through hard work, responsibility, seriousness, and ambition.

This is where I identify with millennials more. As much as I would love the fall of capitalism, I’m also a little worried that it will mean that all of the ambition I have for myself will be for naught, but at the same time I can turn my ambition into prioritizing a secure and safe society for all. My Uranus in Aquarius allows me to get Gen Z humor, but my Neptune in Capricorn also worries about them and wants to take care of them. I'm in the position of being able to give them some Advice. But my need to nurture just might be my Cancer Sun, or Eldest Daughter tendencies. Nature vs nurture, who’s to say!

Tag yourself! I’m the hen. I didn't give birth to Gen Z and I don't totally understand them, but I will take care of them.

Pluto in Sagittarius, 1995-2008 (13 years)

Pluto [...] rules power, intensity, obsession, and control. You Pluto is in Sagittarius, meaning your generation’s psyche is comparatively positive, free-spirited, curious, optimistic, forward-looking, independent, and confident.

With the final outer (dwarf) planet, I am more Gen Z than I thought. I interpret “comparatively positive” as our generation being positive that we want a better life for ourselves AND others. We are positive that we want to tear down capitalism and rematriate the land to allow Indigenous peoples to build something better, like most already had before colonization, and we are curious enough to find out what that could look like. (Melanin Mvskoke, an Afro Indigenous woman, does a great job of delineating how reparations for Black Americans and Land Back for Indigenous peoples could work together.)

Regardless of whether the stars predicted how millennials and Gen Z would react to today, or whether this is the course of history picking up again, I appreciate that as unique as I want to be, I can still connect with people through astrology, our shared signs, and what we have to look forward to. I can watch out for others, and they for me, and the stars will watch out for us all.

Disclaimer: Gen Z is starting to enter their 20s. oof.

astronomy
3

About the Creator

Ariana GonBon

27yo bi Xicana. There's always more to write about, in more interesting ways than white men. Follow me @arte.con.ariana, all tips will go to @openyrpurse, both on Instagram.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.