Futurism logo

Opening A Box

Part One

By Abby NealPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

“Daddy?” I exclaimed into the phone. Worry was evident in my voice. “Daddy, where are you?”

“Tory, I don’t have much time,” my dad said.

“What’s happening?”

“Tory, in the lab. Go. Now. I...” Static filled my ear.

“Daddy?! Hello?!” I began to panic. The lab? What am I supposed to do in the lab? It’s just a ton of junk and inventions that didn’t work.

Despite my better judgement, I went down into my dad’s laboratory. It was dark, very dark. I stumbled around, my fingers searching desperately for the light switch. I switched it on, basking the cold chamber with pale blueish-white light. The entire room began to fill with sounds: boiling liquids in various beakers resting on top of Bunsen burners, clinks and clanks of metal-on-metal. Dad’s lab was brought to life once more.

But just as quickly as it had begun, the beauty of science was interrupted. Red lights began to flash wildly. A loud siren blasted in my ears, causing my eardrums to retaliate. I covered my ears and crouched down in pain.

“Please identify yourself,” a voice said.

“What?” I exclaimed.

“Please identify yourself,” the voice repeated.

“Tory! Tory Usher!” I cried.

“Identity recognized. Welcome, Miss Usher.”

The sirens instantly stopped. Slowly, I stood up, cautiously uncovering my ears. I let go of the breath I didn’t even know was waiting to be released. Suddenly, a woman appeared in front of me. I screamed.

“Hello, Miss Usher,” she said. “I am Violet, your father’s aide.”

“What the...?” I asked, reaching out towards her. My hand passed through her abdomen as if she were water.

“I am a holograph, not a physical being,” she replied. “I act as your father’s computer and security system. I was assigned to lead you to the Closet.”

“The Closet?” I asked. “What is… Is my… How did… Whaaat?”

“Please, just follow me.”

Violet began to walk away. I followed close behind, not wanting to lose her. I also hoped to have all of my questions answered. We reached a large titanium door. It suddenly opened with a loud woosh sound and a blast of warm air. I didn’t even realize how cold I really was until that point.

I followed her inside the chamber. Looking around, all I saw was metal, small openings, and a circle in the middle of the floor. I turned to ask Violet a question, but to my dismay, she had disappeared.

“Please stand in the circle,” Violet’s voice rang out. “We will begin momentarily.”

Although I was once again confused and ignored, I stood in the large circle on the floor. The room was much larger when you stood in the middle. Above me was a spotlight. That seemed to be the brightest light source available, considering the fact that only pale lighting illuminated the other areas in the room.

“Is this going to hurt?” I asked.

“No, I’ll be fine,” Violet replied. Even though she attempted to joke around, I wasn’t comforted. “But you might feel a bit of pain.”

Before I could ask what she was going to do, a giant shock coursed through me. My body was racked with painful tremors. I began to cry. The pain was unbearable and I began to get light-headed.

Then, before I knew it, all I saw was black.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Abby Neal

Always loved writing. Want to share my ideas with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.