Futurism logo

Oh Yes, I'm Aquarian

Discovering Myself

By Ace MariePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Oh Yes, I'm Aquarian
Photo by Mink Mingle on Unsplash

My Aunt and I are both Aquarians and one of the things that she takes seriously is astrology (she loves the Astrology Zone website by Susan Miller). I’m into a lot of the spiritual things that she believes in, but astrology wasn’t one that I ever paid attention to. I’m into the oracle cards, Law of Attraction, manifesting, spirits, signs from whatever higher powers or sources you want to call them, and the energy of crystals, but it’s only been within this new year that I started to actually explore these things for myself. The farther that I travel on my journey of self discovery through my spiritual practices the more that I’m realizing how much of these traits I embody. We definitely personify the curious, open-minded, and free-spirited traits that get merged with the sign of Aquarius. We don’t stay in the box that society deems “normal” or proper. We follow our own arrows and often get called dreamers that have our heads in the clouds, but we use our intellect and creativity to shape our futures that we dream of so regularly. People usually consider us to be different, or think our ways are too idealistic but our way of thinking and believing helps us to achieve amazing things that other signs might not have considered.

This year, when I started this exploration into all things spiritual woo-woo, I decided that I was stubbornly (yet another Aquarius trait) going to follow through with my New Years resolution, which was to make positive changes in my life, this year is and will be my year! We Aquarians are always evolving and changing whether it’s physically, mentally, emotionally, or spiritually. We don’t like being stuck in situations that dull our senses and are repetitive. We like to unravel the mysteries that come with complexity and discovering new perspectives which is what I’ve been noticing the more that I’ve been learning about all these new energies within the Universe and ourselves that I never really thought of before. When I started to incorporate positivity and deliberate intention into my life, focusing on a lot of inner work to reshape my life, I realized how much of an Aquarian I truly am. By practicing the ways of manifestation and looking within myself and following my intuition (to me manifesting is half therapy half magic… or science), my life has been completely changing course, as is the Aquarian way. I not only quit smoking after 17 years, but I’ve also opened myself back up to things that actually meant something to me, such as getting back into writing after years of not putting the pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I’m a 3rd generation writer who had given it all up because it didn’t seem realistic or likely that I could write something that could ever mean anything or make a difference. I had to start doing that inner work to get back to my roots that used to fuel me to be the best version of myself instead of the shadow that I had some how managed to turn into without ever realizing it. I had always loved writing and have absolutely gotten out of practice over these years, but it’s one of the few things in my life that had ever given me a true sense of joy. It’s even one of the things that is recommended for my sign! The introvert in me is thrilled to be jumping back into the world of words and dreams. I thrive on the stories that I come across in TV shows, literature, and yes, even video games. It fills the creative well in my head that inspires me to look at the things around me in a different light and have a belief in a better and more beautiful world.

On the flip side, the Aquarian impulsiveness, temper, and opinionated rebelliousness are also traits that are surely a part of my individual make up. This recently became very apparent when I had finally had enough of feeling disrespected, unappreciated, and bullied by the owner of the store that I had worked at. My humanitarian trait got kicked into overdrive when I disagreed with him over safety issues that my co workers and myself weren’t comfortable with and nobody else had the courage to speak up about. Enter the Aquarian aversion to authority and egotistical demand and a full-on argument ensued over the disregard for staff’s (all of whom were women might I add) feelings, well being, and safety concerns and then true to my nature, impulsively quit and found a new job (which I get to start this week!). Honestly, it didn’t bother me. I was proud of the drastic and dramatic way I had responded to the situation. Had I not followed these integral parts of me that are so stereotypically Aquarian, I’d still be in a toxic and miserable situation feeling trapped and hopeless. The more I abide by who I am at my core, the better things have been turning out for me. My life is going in the direction that it should be, and I have more confidence in myself, my abilities that I am continuing to develop and grow, and in the people around me that I deem worthy of being a part of my life. I see more hope, inspiration, love, and possibilities that I couldn’t see when I fell off my self-made path and started following the bleak brick road that others said I should be on.

I’m not ashamed of any of the traits that people often say are “so Aquarian” of me. Throughout the hardships and discoveries that I have made and traversed so far this year; I am so proud to be the creative, stubborn, rebellious, introverted, open-minded, free spirited, impulsive, opinionated, temperamental dreamer Aquarian that I am. I’m looking forward to the adventures and discoveries that I will encounter throughout the rest of the year. By being true to my sign, I’ve been truer to myself and am working towards living my best life, for the highest and best of all involved.

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Ace Marie

A 30 year old 3rd generation writer getting back into her groove and love of stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.