Futurism logo

Of The Astrias

scene 3

By Pilot HayesPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

OF THE ASTRIAS

EXT - NASA PROPULSION JET LAB

He runs through the gates of NASA, past security….

HECTOR - I KNOW, I KNOW CREWN!…

He busts through the Gates..

HECTOR - IT MIGHT WORK FOR YOU BUT IT WON’T WORK FOR US.

LARA- WHYS THAT?!?

LARRY KNOWS…...THE ASSOCIATION BY LAWS HAVE APPROVED ASSIMILATION PROGRAM OF SUPERCOMPUTER BB3. YOU DO NOT.

LARA - AND WHY WOULD YOU WANT TO ARM A SUPERCOMPUTER TO FIRE A NUCLEAR WARHEAD?

Keeping his cool he replies…..

HECTOR - DO YOU NOW KNOW WHAT”S GOING ON? ALL THIS TALK OF CHANGE? WELL, IT’S CHANGED. OVERNIGHT. LAST NIGHT. METORS HIT EARTH. THERE IS NO TIME TO DISCUSS WHAT”S HERE.

LARA - AND WHAT”S HERE?

LARRY bursts through the door in front of them slamming into their desks….

LARRY - THE RAPTURE.

They look at each other….

(Cut)

(Music = Galaxy and Me)

16 years earlier. NASA SPACE CAMP. EXT -

LARRY, as a Nasa baby with a Nasa flight suit on paying attention to his dad’s words. Looks up to him…

POP - BE SURE TO MAKE THESE DAYS COUNT KID. I’M TRIPLE YOUR AGE AND YOUR MIND IS STILL CLEAR (He looks up at the sky.) WE DON’T KNOW WHAT WE GOT UNTIL WERE GONE KID.

A HUMUNGOUS METEOR BLAZES IN THE SKY ABOVE THEM. The dad picks him up, throws him over his shoulder as he continues to watch the meteor rip through space silently.

EXT- FARM EVENING (Tornado Meteor Scene) {MUSIC = Moons V2}

The man sits on his porch reciting philosophy, reading the bible and looking at pictures of his long lost love. His is the single dad of his 3 kids that live inside their rural country farmhouse. He lost his wife years ago in a wreck. We see photos of them all on the mantles. The house is traditional two story Charleston style.

Larry looks at his dog and says…

LARRY - Now I know and I don’t know why I am me and most don’t get it. I am supreme. The chosen one. These degenerates don’t know what’s coming. I’ll snowbird right on top of their stupid pitfall asses. That’s what I’m destined for. The fallout is here. Freedom. Not control. You can’t take me, and ya couldn’t handle me if ya did. I’m the beach brigade. The singing surfer. And, I’m rich. I studied life, and all its rhetoric. All it’s conglomerate. All it’s God, all t’s philosophy. When you’re smart and therefore rich, you are given what are called ‘Advantage’. I’ll never go back to being poor- I’m private jet flying. Commercial my ass; too many rules, the rules for the fools. Too much shitty coffee and crappy creamer. Not me. I’m free. I do my own drumming. My own band. My beat. My flock. My bird. I am here and I am not going anywhere.

He takes a schwig of his drink…

LARRY - THIS IS THE AGE OF THE NEW RENAISSANCE. THE GOLDEN AGE OF AQUARIAN. And I’ve got a front row ticket to CREATING THIS GREAT AWAKENING.

The ground begins to shake, and out of nowhere something smashes through the house. Mildly surprised, he looks around and stumbles inside…his two babies are asleep, his other is jamming with headphones on. He turns the corner and sees a smoking/fluorescent purple hole into the floor. He laughs…

LARRY - HAHAHAHAH. THE FUCKING WORLD IS ENDING AM I AM RIGHT AT THE EPICENTER. HAHAHAHAHAHAH

He looks around and hits his vaporizer…

LARRY - FUCK THIS SHIT.

He walks away and back outside to recite his poetry…

He throws on his shades….sits and recites his imagination. We rack focus into what seems to be a dark cloud directly at his twelve o’clock. He looks up with his eyes but not his face. He sees that the cloud is also purple. He is befuddled. In a dismantling fashion, he stumbles inside and grabs his binoculars…coming back outside he looks at the storm and sees that is it actually four tornadoes and another is forming. It is getting bigger. He tosses the binoculars.

LARRY - THE WORLD IS FUCKING ENDING, AND I AM THE EPICENTER.

He closes his bible in awe after reading a passage that explains the rapture.

LARRY - HOLY GOD. GIRLS!

He runs inside…

LARRY - GIRLS!!!! WAKE THE FUCK UP! THE WRATH OF THE LORD IS HERE TO FUCK US AND I’M NOT HAVING IT!

He throws water on Janny.

LARRY- GRAB ONE BAG, AND GET IN THE FUCKING RV NOW! NO QUESTIONS!

YOU! IN THE RV NOW! RUN!

He rounds up his girls, grabs his gun, jumps in the MINI-RV, throws them in drive and flies off. The girls are screaming!

CARLA - DAD WHERE ARE WE GOING?

LARRY - GIRLS WHATEVER YOU DO DON’T LOOK BEHIND YOU…

The two girls close their eyes, Janny slowly looks behind her, and again through binoculars. A tear falls down her face.

They hit bumps...

(Cut)

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.