Futurism logo

Nightshade Shadowspell

Mates

By Jade MuccuffPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Her breath matched her heartbeat, slow and steady. The observers backed away in fear. There was no way to calm her. The Alpha bared her teeth, growling at nothing. Darkness rose, covering all in a black, misty haze. She turned and ran, leaving a shocked Beta behind in the dust. Nightshade loped through the forest to a secret secluded location. Collapsing on a bed of fallen leaves, she dry heaved until the tremors stopped and sleep overtook her.

I walked into the dream. My human form was exposed, half naked as my legs weren't covered. Visions floated in my line of sight, each like it's own little TV show. It was hard to run away from that. But as long as he is there, I cannot be. I could see him in one of the visions, knowing that it showed real time. I watched as he sat there without even a sliver of remorse on his expression. He called me his favorite flower once. That one compliment had me spinning, dizzy and disoriented, for days. Some days I swear he does this on purpose. I rubbed absently at the mark on my neck. His mark. Suddenly, the vision shifted.

He was growling. It seemed he could see me. Tears glistened in his eyes. He looked so upset. I walked away from the vision, digging my nails into my neck. As I became lightheaded, I pulled my hand forward to see it covered in blood. From the vision, I heard his howl of pain. Resisting the urge to go to him, I jumped into another window vision along my path. I fell to my knees in front of a fireplace. Not much had changed. My best friend, Lotus, clicked her tongue at the dust I brought with me from the dream world.

"Problems with Ryodan?" she asked. I had the gall to look sheepish. She was always the one to warn me against seeking out my mate. Lotus had her mate and they were happy, but she was constantly looking for something else to occupy her time. Ryodan Matriblade was my mate. And he didn't want me.

"I don't know what I even did wrong..." my bottom lip quivered. I bit it to try to hold it still. Lotus put her arms around me. "I'm sorry I shouldn't be acting like this. An Alpha is supposed to be strong for her people and I can't even manage a heartbreak."

"Nightshade Shadowspell! I don't want to hear you talk about yourself like that EVER again. Do you hear me?!" She scolded.

"Yes," I replied in a small voice.

She continued, "You are going to return to your pack with your head held high, march over to your mate and tell him how you really feel. You are a badass Alpha who deserves nothing less than the best. And NO ONE can bring you down."

"I know." I met her eye. "This is my pack. I will defend it to my last breath. He is my mate and we will talk this out even if I have to tape his silver-tongued mouth shut."

Lotus smiled, "That's my girl!" I tumbled back through the dream portal, running down the path to wake up.

She leapt to her feet from the dead sleep, covered in crunching leaves. Nightshade shook out her coat. The cave was secluded; clouded with the scent of organic rotting matter and animal excretions. She sneezed. They were out looking for her. The Beta's howl called for their Alpha. Exiting the cave, she presented herself and pawed at the ground to make a crescent moon. They understood. First the Beta shifted back, followed by the rest. Nightshade shifted last to ensure everyone was accounted for.

My Beta eyed me with uncertainty. I didn't blame her. Running off like I did symbolized weakness. Which we couldn't afford. There was too much at stake. The look in my eyes told her so. I needed to go back to the pack.

"Ryodan." His name was out of my mouth and in their ears before I was truly aware of what I was thinking. My Beta sighed, whistling low. Her gaze dropped.

"I'm afraid he... is no longer with us," Chartreuse said, almost inaudible. I felt my eyes turn yellow. Everything came into sharp focus as I growled. The way she spoke it purveyed that he had simply left. That meant he was still alive enough for me to flay him. He may have been my mate, but he was in a world of trouble.

"I am Nightshade Shadowspell, Alpha of the Lunar Eclipse Pack. You will help me find my mate or face my wrath. Have I made myself clear?" She proclaimed, sweeping her gaze over the search party. There was collective nodding and a few gulps. They got the message. Now to put it into effect.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.