Futurism logo

My Psychic Said This Would Happen

Is magic actually real?

By Clarissa WilsonPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
My Psychic Said This Would Happen
Photo by Damir Spanic on Unsplash

I stumbled down the street and sat in a wooden chair at an outdoor cafe. My mind was still racing, going a million miles an hour after that reading with my psychic. I couldn’t think straight. I didn’t know how anything magical could even happen in my life. I lived a quite ordinary life up until this point.

She said, “The next 24 hours are going to be like magic. Everything you’ve always wished would happen in your life, is just going to magically happen for you. Things are going to fall into your lap.”

I’d never been to a psychic before in my life. And I honestly have no idea why I even went into her studio today.

I also never before believed that someone could predict the future or tell me what is going to happen in my life before it actually happens. It’s just not possible. No one can actually know the future ahead of time.

Can they?!?!

But as I was walking down the street on my morning stroll through town, something just came over me, possessed me, I guess you could say, to walk into her studio.

I had a seat at her table once inside and she said, “I was just waiting for you to come in. Spirit has been wanting to talk to you and you’ve been avoiding us.”

I gave her a puzzled look. I had no idea what any of that meant. So I just said, “Okay. What’s the message?”

She starts shuffling some cards that she had sitting on the table.

I’m still super confused about what is going on and why I’m actually here. I don’t believe in psychics. I’ve never been to one before in my life and this was just so out of character for me.

I just watched her shuffle the cards, speechless.

Cards just start flying out of the deck, landing all over the table. The psychic keeps making “mmmhmmm”, “Oh yes” and other similar noises with each card that flies out of the deck. She has a huge smile on her face.

After what felt like forever, but really it only about 30 seconds, she stopped shuffling and set the cards on the table. She picked up the cards that flew out of the deck and placed them in a row in front of her.

The smile on her face just got bigger. She then started pulling cards off the top of the deck and laying them face up and she kept making the pleasurable noises with each card she pulled.

With the 4 cards that flew out of the deck while she was shuffling, there were 5 other cards she pulled off the top of the deck.

“The next 24 hours are going to be like magic. Everything you’ve always wished would happen in your life, is just going to magically happen for you. Things are going to fall into your lap,” she started.

“Ummmm, okay. The cards tell you that?” I asked.

“Oh yes! The cards and spirit and your guides are telling me all of this. Just look at these cards. You have The Wheel of Fortune here. It means things are finally turning in your life the way you have always wanted them to.

“Then you have the 9 of Cups. This card just shows that all of your wishes are being fulfilled. You will have lots of abundance coming in. And the Star is right here too. All of your dreams and wishes are coming true.

“6 of Pentacles. Money is coming in. I just see all the good things happening for you. Then you have the Ace of Cups, 2 of Cups and 10 of Cups, lots of love and abundance coming in.

“I can see here that you have been just going through the motions of life. You feel like things just haven’t been going your way in your life for the longest time. Things just haven’t been working out for you. You don’t enjoy your job. You don’t like being single. You don’t even have enough money.”

How could she possibly know this information?!?! I’ve never met this woman before in my life and yet she knows all these intimate details about me?

“Oh, honey, the cards always tell me everything I need to know.”

Wait, now she can hear my thoughts too?!

I stuttered, “Thank you…. What do I do now?”

“Sweetie, you just live your life. The only way you won’t get this abundance and love that is coming to you is if you actually reject it when it shows up. And it’s going to show up very soon.”

“Okay.” Not sure what else I should say to her. I’m still staring at her with my mouth open. I can’t believe she knew those details about me.

Not sure what I should do now, I grab my bag that I’d set on the floor when I sat down and left her shop. I’m still in a haze about what just happened, not even paying attention to my surroundings or where in town I even am. While walking I came to the little outdoor cafe that I wanted to try out and just sat down. I was just so confused about what had just happened.

I mean I don’t believe in psychics or magic. None of what she was really going to come true, was it?!

It just wasn’t possible that it would come true. There was no way….

My bag fell to the ground when I sat down at the cafe table. I’m just sitting there lost in a haze when the waitress comes over and asks to take my order.

“Oh, I’ll just take the Rueben sandwich and a glass of water.”

“Pickle and potato chips on the side okay?”

“Sure.”

She left to go get my order and came back a few minutes later with my food. I don’t even remember eating it or paying for my order or my walk back home. I was just lost in the thought of the message that the psychic had given me.

I can’t remember what I did the rest of that day.

The next morning I woke up and still kept thinking about the psychic and what she told me. Then my phone started ringing. My phone was in my bag, on the couch. I grabbed my bag and started fishing through it for my phone, when I came across this little black notebook. It had a rubberband holding it closed because it was bulging.

Inside the notebook was an envelope stuffed full of cash.

The ringing of my phone is just background music at this point.

I opened the notebook trying to figure out who this belonged to. All of the pages were blank, except the first one. There was only one sentence on the page.

“I hope this serves you well.”

I started counting the cash. $20,000.

I fell onto the couch. The things I could do with $20,000.

But, wait, this isn’t my money. Someone else lost this. I can’t do anything with this money.

Then the words of the psychic just came flooding back to me. “It will just be like magic. Things will happen for you like they never have before. Just receive it.”

So do I contact the authorities and report that I found this money?

Surely someone somewhere is missing this.

But it’s also cash and there is no identifying information in the notebook or the envelope.

By Val Pierce on Unsplash

And the note in the notebook tells me that this was meant for someone to find.

But how did it end up in my bag? Someone had to put it in there.

I also don’t really remember much of anything that happened yesterday, who I talked to, who I walked past, nothing. It was all such a haze because I couldn’t believe that what the psychic had said could possibly be true.

But right here, I had proof that part of what she said was coming true. I had $20,000 in cash just sitting in my lap.

For the first time in my life, I could stop living paycheck to paycheck. I could get caught up on my bills and actually have money left over in the bank at the end of the month.

It felt like such a relief.

But then again, this money isn’t really mine. Someone else lost it.

I kept going through this spiral, until my phone started ringing again. This time I did fish it out of my bag and answer it. It was my mom.

“Hi mom.”

“Hi sweetie. How are you, you sound weird?”

Oh shit. Do I tell her what happened yesterday and today?

“I’m doing okay. Same old, you know. Nothing has really changed since the last time we talked.”

“Okay sweetie. I was just calling to make sure you were still coming to dinner tomorrow evening. Everyone will be here and your brother says he has an announcement to make. He wants everyone here to hear the announcement.”

“Yes mom, I’ll be there. I’ll see you tomorrow.”

“Okay see you tomorrow Catelyn.”

“Bye mom.”

I hung up the phone and was snapped to the reality of this notebook and the $20,000 cash I had sitting in my lap.

I still had no idea what to do with this money. It really did seem like it was mine now. There was no way I could give it back to someone, I had no idea who it originally belonged to.

Plus since there was no way of finding who it belonged to, would anyone even really be able to track it to me?

Is it possible that my life really is turning around and really becoming so abundant immediately? This money really would solve all of my immediate problems. The only other thing left would be to find my love.

The psychic said that was coming very soon too.

Who knows who that will be?

And all of a sudden there is a knock on the door that started me out of my seat. I hurriedly stuffed the cash back into the envelope and put the envelope and notebook back into my bag. Then I got up to answer the door.

I opened the door and there stood a delivery guy with a bouquet of flowers and a present.

He asked, “Are you Catelyn Abernathy?”

I replied, “Yes.”

“I have a delivery for you.”

By Leonardo Wong on Unsplash

I took the flowers and the present and thanked him. He left and I went back inside and opened the card with the flowers.

It said,

My dearest Catelyn,

I can’t wait to see you again.

I can’t wait to hold you in my arms.

I want to spend the rest of our lives together.

And make beautiful memories.

See you soon sweetheart.

Love,

Daniel

Who in the hell was Daniel?!?! I’d never met anyone named Daniel before in my life.

Now surely, someone had to be playing games. I’m going to bet it was that psychic.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Clarissa Wilson

Insta: clarissaawilson

Accountant who loves being creative.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.