Futurism logo

Monster Zoo / Water Trouble

Chapter 3

By Alexander MikesellPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

A bright flash of light illuminated the dark tiles under his feet as Kieran jumped back through the portal into his diner kitchen. He walked over to the cauldrons bubbling over the fires in the corner and took a deep breath of the steam coming off the tops.

“Hmm… I think it needs more garlic.” He said, dragging a stool to the center island and getting into the cupboard for the spices. He took the bottle back to the cauldrons and shook a few times over each one and then put it back before going out the doors to the dining area.

“Angel!” He called. “Where are you, you crazy cat?”

“Meoooww.” A low yawning sound came from the cat laying on the window seat in a corner.

“There you are.” Kieran said. “Thank you for watching the brews. And also for not eating them. I’ll make sure to set a nice big bowl to the side for you.”

“You mean I get some squid tonight?” Angel asked, perking his head up, his ears facing forward and his eyes big.

“Of course. I wouldn’t ask you to do something and then not give you something in return.” Kieran said, rolling his eyes and laughing. “Especially when it comes to food.”

“I wasn’t sure because of last time.” Angel said.

“Don’t remind me. I’ve never had so many customers be mad that they weren’t getting a salmon and asparagus stew.” Kieran said. “But you didn’t touch them this time so that’s different. Anyway, do you want to go look at the new ratper with me? It just came in last night.”

“A rat, huh?” Angel asked, licking his lips.

“No, a ratper. It’s a rat and viper mix. You definitely don’t want to try to eat that.” Kieran told him. “Come on, let’s go see it. I hear it’s kind of funny looking.”

They went out the front door of the diner, Kieran turned to lock the door and then put the key in his pocket. Turning to the left, they headed toward the entrance of the zoo and walked over, stopping in front of the ticket stand to speak with the attendant. A pixie stood on the stand close to a stack of flyers listing the attractions. His bright red hair sticking up all over as if he hadn’t brushed it in a long time, when Kieran and Angel walked up to the stand he buzzed his wings and flew down to hover in front of them.

“Wait up Kieran. I hear you’re making a squid brew tonight?” The pixie asked hopefully.

“Hi Perry. Yup, you heard right. It’s over the fires now in the cauldrons. The last time I did this brew it was so popular that I ran out in less than an hour with just one cauldron full. So I’m doing four cauldrons this time.” Kieran told him. “Make sure you come soon after opening just in case there’s a lot of people that want to flood in the doors again.”

“Awesome!” The pixie exclaimed, pumping his fist in the air. “Man, I can’t remember the last time I had your squid brew. It’s always long gone before I can get in. But I’m for sure going to be the first one in those doors tonight.”

“I'll make sure your table is ready.” Kieran told him. “Is that new ratper in its exhibit yet? I wanted to go check it out.”

“Yes it is. But it’s not a happy camper right now.” Perry replied. “Just keeps squeaking and spitting its venom everywhere. So if I were you, I would stay clear of it for now. Besides, boss man wants to see you real quick. Said something about a job for you.”

“Ugh. Why can’t he understand that I’m not a catcher? I own a diner. I don’t catch the food to put in my meals, why does he think that I should be catching the monsters for the zoo?” Kieran said, rolling his eyes.

“Honestly dude, you’re a monster. I wouldn’t even cross you.” Perry said. “I’m really surprised your parents are able to withstand you and your temper tantrums.”

“My Daddy and Pappa love me. No matter what.” Kieran said, giving Perry a stink eye.

“Ya, I know. I was at your last birthday party, remember?” Perry said, sticking out his tongue.

“Meoooww.” Angel said, looking up at Perry.

“Oh, I’m not being mean to him. It’s just a surprise that humans were able to get a monster to let them adopt her baby. It’s an odd situation that is.” Perry said. “And don’t give me that look. Remember the last time you tried eating me, butterball?”

Angel licked his lips and swished his tail.

“I’m serious dude. Don’t even try it. I’ll take a tooth this time instead of a whisker.” Perry said, pulling out his small sword. “You made it to where I couldn’t fly for two whole days last time!”

“Guys, nobody is going to hurt anyone else. Angel, will you go back and watch the brew for me please?” Kieran asked. “I put in a cat door in the back so that you can get in and out.”

“Think he’s really going to just watch it this time? Last time was a bit of a nightmare.” Perry asked as they watched Angel head back to the diner.

“Ya, he’ll be fine. He was watching it most of the morning and afternoon anyway.” Kieran told him, then turned back to face Perry. “Ok dude. Spill it. Why does the boss think that I need to be the one to go get this water sprite?”

“How should I know? I’m just a ticket guy.” Perry said.

“Perry, you know everything that goes on around here. Even why the boss does some of the things he does.” Kieran said, giving Perry a bored look.

“I don’t know what you’re talking about.” Perry said, turning his head away. “Oh look, customers. I gotta help them. You know where his office is. Have fun.”

Kieran started grumbling as he turned to walk through the entrance and turned left. Then heard a yell from Perry.

“No dawdling!”

“Ugh! Fine!” Kieran said, turning around and going the other way. He stuck his tongue out at Perry as he passed.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Alexander Mikesell

Ever since I was a kid, I've been fascinated with the magical worlds we can always escape into. It has always been my dream and ambition to become a writer and to share my own creative works with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.