Futurism logo

Monster Zoo, Water Trouble

Chapter 1

By Alexander MikesellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Monster Zoo, Water Trouble
Photo by Dave Reed on Unsplash

It was a normal day here at the zoo. The weather was the same as always, gray clouds giving off a hint of potential rain, thunder and lightning. Of course, we never get that. There’s almost never any sunny days either. Just the weird sense that comes before the storm. Kieran Hollow sat at a table by the window of his diner, hoping that maybe today would be just a little different. He was holding his glass of chocolate milk, his half eaten blueberry muffin that his Papa made him sitting there waiting to be finished.

“Hey Kieran!” A voice called out, making him spin around in his chair.

“Lysander, dude, don’t sneak up on me like that. You know what happened the last time.” Kieran said. “It’s a good thing I wasn’t too far off in my head this time.”

“Ya, well maybe you should start paying attention to what you’re doing.” Lysander replied. “You left your portal open again. You don’t want any humans coming through do you?”

“You realize my Daddy and Papa are human, right?” Kieran told him, giving him a cross look.

“Of course I remember that. But what about other humans?” Lysander asked him.

“Daddy and Papa won’t let anyone through it. They know what could potentially happen.” Kieran said, turning back around and staring out the window.

“Where did you open it this time? In the backyard?” Lysander asked him, pulling the chair out from across the table and setting his scythe against the back before sitting down.

“No.” Kieran said, huffing. “I opened it in my closet. Nobody will know it’s there except my Daddy and Papa.”

“As long as you think nobody is going to come through.” Lysander said. “Anyways, that’s not why I’m here. The boss wants us to go find a water sprite that somehow got loose in the human world.”

“Ugh, I’m not a monster catcher. I just run the diner.” Kieran said, rolling his eyes.

“Diner owner or not, you’re still a banshee.” Lysander replied. “You have the best chance out of any of us to get this thing.”

“You’re a grim reaper. How does a banshee have a better chance of getting a water sprite than a grim reaper?” Kieran asked him.

“Because you can put them to sleep, I unfortunately go a little too far when it comes to trying to catch things.” Lysander replied. “Which is why the boss wants you to help out with it.”

“Ugh. Fine, I guess I can get Angel to watch the brew. If the blasted cat will stop being so lazy.” Kieran replied. “Let me just go in and put the cauldron on a lower flame.”

Kieran grabbed his glass of chocolate milk and chugged the rest, then set the glass down with a click. He wiped his mouth on his sleeve and scooted off the chair, letting his short legs catch him.

“I really need to get some kid sized chairs in here.” He said.

“Well, considering you are a kid, that might be a good idea.” Lysander said as he hopped down from his own chair, his blue cloak fluffing out and helping him land softer than Kieran had. “Then again, I guess since I’m a kid too, it would be a good idea for me to use one of those chairs as well.”

He laughed as he followed Kieran into the kitchen, keeping the swinging door from hitting him by holding it open with his scythe. He walked over to the big cauldron at the back of the room, past the gleaming silver counters and looked in.

“Giant squid soup today?” He asked.

“Squid and kelp.” Kieran said, tossing in some green leaves. “Think maybe I should add some crab today? Or should I do a crab and lobster bisque for the special tomorrow?”

“Oh Kie… You know I can’t eat.” Lysander said, opening his cloak to show Kieran the skeleton body underneath. “Where would it go?”

Kieran sighed. “I’m sorry, I keep forgetting that you don’t eat.”

“Eh, it’s ok. It’s not like I need it to survive, right?” Lysander said, laughing.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Alexander Mikesell

Ever since I was a kid, I've been fascinated with the magical worlds we can always escape into. It has always been my dream and ambition to become a writer and to share my own creative works with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.