Futurism logo

Monster Of Dracosilk

๐•ป๐–—๐–”๐–‘๐–”๐–Œ๐–š๐–Š ๐ˆ๐•: ๐•ฟ๐–๐–Š ๐–‹๐–Ž๐–Œ๐–๐–™ ๐–™๐–” ๐–˜๐–š๐–—๐–›๐–Ž๐–›๐–Š

By Rise Of BreadPublished about a year ago โ€ข 18 min read
Like

๐–˜๐–Š๐–™๐–š๐–•

๐•ท๐–”๐–˜๐–™ ๐•ฎ๐–๐–Ž๐–‘๐–‰โ€”

๐•ป๐–—๐–”๐–‘๐–”๐–Œ๐–š๐–Š ๐ˆ๐•: ๐•ฟ๐–๐–Š ๐–‹๐–Ž๐–Œ๐–๐–™ ๐–™๐–” ๐–˜๐–š๐–—๐–›๐–Ž๐–›๐–Š

To trust or not to trust, that is the questionโ€” Medic

โ€œA doctor does not take lives but saves them.โ€

Those were the words of my late father. Iโ€™ve always followed his advice and lived by his principles. Since I began practicing medicine, I swore by his grave that Iโ€™d follow in his footsteps.

Iโ€™m proud to say that despite the times we live in, Iโ€™ve not taken a single life. I rely on my comrades to protect me, and they trust me that I will do the same.

They perform my share in our missions, and Iโ€™ve always been grateful for it. Rather, my duty on the field is to ensure that they live to see another day.

Was I naive in thinking that a day would come when itโ€™d have to be me that does the killing? I really canโ€™t leave it to anyone else, can I? Thereโ€™s no one else who knows what I know.

What a troubling situation!

As the medic hesitated for a few seconds, a thought suddenly occurred to him.

Is he even a man!? A man wouldnโ€™t be capable of doing what he did.

The medic let out a weak smile, staring at the vice's remorseless face as the vice crouched.

There was no remorse in the viceโ€™s eyes for his wrongdoings. Instead, the medic could only see a wild, possessed look on him, with a crude smile across the viceโ€™s face.

Heโ€™s nothing more than a monster!

The medic flicked his wrist, sliding the scalpel into his palm from his right sleeve, all while maintaining his poker face and his steely-eyed gaze on vice.

| Beta-squad Vice |

โ€œ???โ€

Vice furrowed his brow, narrowing his gaze.

Had he noticed!?

The medic started panicking, but he didn't show it. The most important part was not showing a single sign of his intent.

He would offer vice a quick, silent death before the vice realized his intent.

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œSo, vice you really arโ€”โ€

The element of surprise is now!!!

The medic put power into his muscles and readied his attack by trying to raise his right arm for the strike.

*Thump*

Except, his hand refused to obey his command.

| Beta-squad Vice |

โ€œAm I really what?โ€

Vice asked casually. The vice had not taken his gaze off the medic for even an instant.

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œHow rude of me to end mid-sentence. So you are thโ€”โ€

The element of surprise is now!

Once again, the medic tensed his muscles, putting all of his strength into his arm, and in one smooth motion, heโ€”failed to lift his arm again!

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œ???โ€

What on earth was going on!?

| Beta-squad Vice |

โ€œYou sure you're alright, doc? Iโ€™m beginning to worry that falling shook your brain too hard. You keep stopping all your sentences halfway.โ€

For the first time, the viceโ€™s face showed some genuine concern for the medicโ€™s condition. It was the worst feeling, being pitied by the man you were about to murder.

This man is so dangerous that heโ€™s killing my self-esteem!

What on earth is wrong with me!? My element of surprise has gone straight down the drain, and what sort of mental hypnosis has he done to me!? To bind even a trained surgeon like me from using my favorite tool!

What a fearsome foe! This man absolutely cannot be allowed to live.

The element of surprise isโ€”

The medic knew very well that under no circumstance should you take your eyes from the enemy. This basic rule for survival had been ingrained into him by his old combat instructor.

Yet, the circumstance was so bizarre that it warranted a look to see why he could not move his arm.

His arm felt like it was made of solid lead. No matter what the medic did, it refused to obey his commands to attack vice. And so the medic broke his stare and looked to see what was wrong with his arm.

As the medic raised his head, he found three combat knives stabbed into the wooden planks to his right, pinning his sleeves at three different points.

It was a perfect restraint, so precisely done that no part of his arm could move an inch.

What on earth!? When did vice do that!? He didn't even break eye contact with me, and how did he even know about the scalpel I was hiding!?

The scalpel of doom was now exposed as the medic let it go, resolving himself to his fate.

The medicโ€™s nightmare had now become a reality. Vice was an absolute monster. How could a mere medic beat such a formidable foe?

It was silly even to think he could face vice in combat, so the medic got ready to spit on the vice's face. This would be his last sign of defiance.

In the final moments of the medic, the vice continued to say something. But the medic closed his eyes, refusing to listen to a word.

Nothing a monster says will phase me, and if he thinks Iโ€™ll join him, he can go to hell!

After all, I am a man of honor!

| Beta-squad Vice |

โ€œ...After all, you're a man of honor!โ€

Sure, others may see me as a little weird.

| Beta-squad Vice |

โ€œ...Sure, the rest may see you as a little weird at times.โ€

But Iโ€™m an honest man!

| Beta-squad Vice |

โ€œ...But, you're an honest man!โ€œ

I love my work and organization, and the last thing I would do is something so shameful as betray the trust my teammates have placed in me!

| Beta-squad Vice |

โ€œ...shameful as to betray the trust of others.โ€

Huh? What!?

The medic blinked a couple of times.

*Swish*

| Beta-squad Vice |

โ€œ...So, I need you to trust me.โ€

The vice rose to his feet and got ready to leave as the medic raised his head to see that the knives were gone.

Iโ€™m free!?

| Beta-squad Vice |

โ€œCome quick! The captain isn't a patient man. Leave the investigation to the experts. Psycorp has many secrets which will get you killed. Stick your nose in too far, and it's bound to get cut off.โ€

The vice climbed up the stairs, and just before exiting the basement, he looked one last time at the medic and let his threat linger in the air for a bit before heading to the ship.

The medic rose, stupefied from the whole ordeal.

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œ...so vice isn't the traitor?โ€

But the possibility that there is no traitor within our midst is close to zero. All the events that occurred today have proven that beyond a shadow of a doubt.

Everything that can go wrong went wrong, and our worst possible outcomes came true.

So, there definitely is a traitor within our group.

The medic dusted himself off and headed upstairs, forgetting his scalpel.

Assuming vice is that traitor, if he wanted me dead, he could easily arrange it at his leisure, and I wouldnโ€™t be able to stop him.

The medic thought as he emerged outside the building into the sunlight.

If he is the traitor, would he expose himself like this, risk having his plans leaked, and watch as his goals just slipped him by?

None of this makes sense.

If vice isnโ€™t the traitor, then who is?

The medic still didn't know. But, he did know that vice knew far too much to be an ordinary soldier.

Vice spoke as if he had been investigating this conspiracy for a long time. While I only just found out about it today.

| Beta-squad Captain|

โ€œWhat took you so long, doc? Had a bout of diarrhea?โ€

The captain joked while addressing the medic who had just gotten on board the airship.

| Beta-squad Vice |

โ€œYou know it! Had to pull him from the shitter.โ€

The medic sighed with relief and put on a goofy smile.

Whatever the case, the vice has all the answers.

| Beta-squad Rear Guard | B-006 |

โ€œDamn, man, that's nasty! Stay away from me!โ€

One rear guard yelled as he scooted over to avoid having to sit anywhere close to the medic.

| Beta-squad Heavy Assault | B-008 |

โ€œHahaha, that's rich. Medic, you can use the toilet at the back of the ride. Better than holding it all the way to HQ, am I right?โ€

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œYea, sorry, guys. I think I will do just that.โ€

The medic apologized while holding his backside and rushing towards the toilet.

| Beta-squad Captain |

โ€œHaha, we got a comedian on board!โ€

As the captain laughed, the men all joined in.

Just letting out a hearty laugh was a great feeling. These simple pleasures meant everything to them.

The medic locked the door and got onto the seat, pulling down his pants.

He really did have to go, after all.

I still don't know whether to trust vice or not. But I owe him my life since he spared me, even though I was set on killing him.

Regardless of my reasons, I had no concrete proof to justify my actions. Mutiny to kill your superior officer is a crime worthy of death, one that can only be pardoned by the leader and him alone.

If I had somehow managed to kill vice, I would still be unable to prove anything. If that happened, then there is no way I would escape that penalty.

However, if vice killed me, he would be justified, and the investigators could conclude that a struggle had occurred and his self-defense would be justified. Moreover, I am a new recruit to this team, and no one would bat an eye over my death.

On this day, vice gained a great deal of respect in the eyes of the medic.

Later on, when the time is right, I can confront him. Ask him, what on earth is going on?

Also, why do I feel like I'm forgetting something important?

Ah, whatever it is, I'm sure I'll think of it later.

Right now, I just want to take a short nap.

So the medic fell fast asleep on his seat. He was utterly exhausted from the events of that morning. Meanwhile, his team forgot about him until they remembered and broke down the toilet door pulling him out.

| Giest Admin Support Staff | No. 3421 |

โ€œI canโ€™t believe you are still here! We looked all over for you, and the commander was ready to report you missing!โ€

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œHuh? Who are you, and where am I?โ€

The medic said while rubbing his tired eyes as the support staff dragged him out of the restroom.

| Giest Cleaning Support Staff | No. 1401 |

โ€œGet your ass back to your dorm and catch some rest there. With the city in flames, they'll call you soon enough.โ€

Another angry staff member threw the medicโ€™s pants back at him. He was urging the medic not to streak outside with only his shirt.

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œFlames?โ€

The medic put on his pants and stepped outside.

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œIs it night already? Was I asleep that long?โ€

The medic started at the pitch-black sky.

More bizarre was that the entire base was chaotic as men and women rushed all over the place with airships constantly landing and taking off.

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œHey, excuse me? Whatโ€™s going on here?โ€

| Giest Landing Support Staff | No. 0348 |

โ€œHuh!? Where have you been? Just look behind you. Donโ€™t you see the flames?โ€

Turning back, he saw what the man was talking aboutโ€”the entire city was engulfed in flames, spewing a ton of ash into the sky and darkening it.

The medic then checked his watch.

-11:18-

He had been out for 4 hours since getting back.

The sky was clear when he boarded the ship. In that much time, had the situation changed that much!?

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œ...donโ€™t tell me there have been more bombings!โ€

What on earth is going on? We took their head, so shouldnโ€™t it all be over?

Thatโ€™s when the medic saw the mechanized infantry from Psycorps boarding an airship.

| High Commander Giest |

โ€œDoctor, are your toys capable of finding all the residual charges left by Anti-psycho?โ€

Is that high commander Giest?

He seems to be pissed about something. Maybe it's the man heโ€™s talking with. I better not make eye contact and just head straight to my dorm.

The last thing I want is for him to wonder why I am loitering.

| ??? |

โ€œMy machines are all top-of-the-line, Mr. Giest. Each unit is worth at least 50 of your best men.โ€

This guy seems like bad news as well.

The man that the high commander spoke to carried an air about him. He wore a lab coat, covered his eyes with red-tinted light-sensitive glasses, and sported a crude goatee.

Whoever he is, best not to get involved.

| High Commander Giest |

โ€œMy men retrieved all the lost prototypes. Youโ€™re on my base. Donโ€™t you dareโ€”โ€

| ??? |

โ€œItโ€™s obvious that a fool like you wouldnโ€™t recognize me. Is that fire also your menโ€™s doing? What a sloppy job. The ministry of defense has certainly fallen, huh?โ€

| High Commander Giest |

โ€œI donโ€™t care who you think you are. Iโ€™ll have you court-martialed forโ€”โ€

| ??? |

โ€œI don't remember giving you the right to speak. Shut up and obey. Let me tell you how it works. I'm commandeering your airship commander. Here, why donโ€™t you ask the M.O.D himself?

M.O.D was the Minister Of Defense and the head of the Ministry Of Defense. I really shouldnโ€™t eavesdrop, but I canโ€™t help myself.

The man then dialed a number and handed the high commander a listening device with an annoyed expression.

Commander Giest took the device with a furious expression, not believing a mere researcher would have the minister of defense on speed dial. I wouldnโ€™t believe him either.

| M.O.D |

โ€œWhoโ€™s the asshole whoโ€™s calling me!? Look, Iโ€™m on my way alโ€”โ€

The M.O.D was on loudspeaker.

| High Commander Giest |

โ€œSir!? Itโ€™s me Commander Giest.โ€

The high commanderโ€™s eyes were ready to pop. Illicitly calling the M.O.D was a major offense. The poor commander was debating if he could hang up and pretend this never happened. Donโ€™t worry, sir, I wonโ€™t tell if you wonโ€™t!

| M.O.D |

โ€œCommander Giest!? Hold onโ€ฆisnโ€™t this Dr. Akaiโ€™s number? What business do you have with me?โ€

| High Commander Giest |

โ€œTHE DR. AKAI!?โ€

The commander turned to the man who was busy tinkering with the captain of the mechanized unit.

Each of the mechanized units had an armband and formed a 12-unit squad. On each of their arms were armbands denoting their rank and role.

OMEGA

The rumored Omega squad!

An all-mechanized android infantry unit under the department of science and the man tinkering with them was even more legendary; the one and only Dr. Akai, the Minister Of Science himself.

The high commander looks just as dumbfounded as I am.

The doctor is seldom seen in public. For him to come out himself must mean that the leaderโ€™s patience is running out and the leader was not a forgiving man.

The leaderโ€™s will is absolute, and suddenly the flames are starting to look tame compared to what the leader might do to us for failing to protect his beloved city.

The high commander looks shaken up as well. Is he thinking the same thing?

| High Commander Giest |

โ€œSir, the M.O.S has requested aโ€”โ€

| M.O.D |

โ€œLook, whatever he wants, just give it to him.โ€

| High Commander Giest |

โ€œBut what about the search & rescue operation?โ€

| M.O.D |

โ€œ...what a mess! I donโ€™t like this either. But, my hands are tied. Iโ€™m on my way, and the leader is not pleased. Leave it to Dr. Akai and his department. Instead, focus all your efforts on controlling that fire.

| High Commander Giest |

โ€œSir, weโ€™re very fortunate that itโ€™s still the abandoned area and all our efforts are focused on keeping it that way!โ€

| M.O.D |

โ€œLetโ€™s hope it stays that way. Get Commander Whitefox, her men, and the Gungir. Iโ€™m at the south airstrip, and Iโ€™ve scheduled a press conference in less than an hour, and I want all commanders, captains, and vices on standby.โ€

| High Commander Giest |

โ€œYes, sir!โ€

Commander Giest closed the call, thinking of how to apologize to the M.O.S. After all, his head is on the line, and Iโ€™d wager that he is pretty attached to it.

| High Commander Giest |

โ€œM.O.S, I beg you for your forgivโ€”โ€

The high commander went on all his knees and tried to grovel before the doctor. But while he knelt, I put my hand on his shoulder.

Time to win some brownie points with my superior!

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œSir! I think he just left. I saw him get on the airship with those units.โ€

I nudged the kneeling high commander to raise his head as I pointed to the airship that had just taken off overhead and was flying towards the city.

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œIn my humble opinion, sir, I donโ€™t think a man as great as Dr. Akai is all that interested in niceties. I believe he was only interested in his research.โ€

The high commander rose to his feet, quite embarrassed to be seen by a subordinate in such a vulnerable state.

| High Commander Giest |

โ€œAhem. Are you from the beta squad? What are you doing out here? Go and get some rest. We may need you soon.โ€

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œYes, sir! Heading back straight away.โ€

I saluted, and the high commander headed back into the central building.

Best head to my dorms. I could use some proper rest. My legs still havenโ€™t fully woken up from sitting on the toilet for so long.

So I headed to my dorm with a funny stride, hoping no one would notice.

Home, sweet home!

I always utter these words as I go in. I learned this habit from my roommate. But it looks like he still isnโ€™t here. Maybe heโ€™s still on some mission?

I took a quick shower, put on my pajamas, and went to sleep. Soldiers like me have to sleep whenever we can since we donโ€™t know when we might be summoned.

| Beta-squad Medic | B-011 |

โ€œ...vice, so whoโ€™s the traitor? Tell me everythingโ€ฆ.โ€

I mutter those words as I sleep, dreaming of interrogating vice until he tells me everything I want to know.

***

๐“Ÿ๐“ก๐“ž๐“›๐“ž๐“–๐“ค๐“” ๐“•๐“ž๐“ค๐“ก

The fight to survive

โ€”๐•ฐ๐–“๐–‰โ€”

๐“๐ก๐š๐ง๐ค ๐ฒ๐จ๐ฎ ๐Ÿ๐จ๐ซ ๐ซ๐ž๐š๐๐ข๐ง๐ ~

(ษ”โ—”โ€ฟโ—”)ษ” โ™ฅ

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Rise Of Bread

Welcome fellow divers,

To the virtual world of Dracosilk, a full-dive VR MMORPG set to take the world by storm. Join us, along with many others, as we explore this virtual and the real world.

Love,

Rise Of Bread & Chaotic Thread

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.