Futurism logo

Mims

An Hour TV Drama Premise

By Donnell KeenanPublished 6 years ago 7 min read
Like
Rough Logo Sketch

MIMS is a drama concerning a community in the midst of a gang war where corruption, family, and ghosts are things that exist and thrive.

Themes

Family.

Ghosts.

Corruption.

Season Synopsis

22-year-old Marlon is returning to his hometown Mims after graduating from a prestigious university.

Mims, a growing town in Central Florida, has a track record of gang life, drugs, and drama. Marlon reunites with the childhood friends he left behind, Chris and Andrew, with plans for an unforgettable summer before eventually leaving again for the big city in the fall. Mims is turned upside down when Andrew and his pregnant girlfriend Shelly are brutally murdered in the middle of the night. Determined to take matters into his own hands, he and Chris join a local gang, The Black Bullets, to get a better understanding of the murder and all involved.

Angie struggles with dreams of premonitions. She tells Marlon that she saw Andrew's murder in her head, telling him the killer left with a gash on the right wrist. She holds a power she cannot understand, as well as sensitivity to ghosts; ghosts of Andrew and a young girl named Sirrah, who’s been dead for fifteen years now, attempt to contact her. In a way never seen on TV just yet, Sirrah teaches him the ins-and-outs of being a ghost: walking through walls, entering dreams, moving objects in the physical world, among other talents.

Opening Teaser

INT. COLLEGE APARTMENT, ATLANTA, GA - DUSK

MARLON Terry, a 22-year-old recent college graduate is relaxing at his going away party. A cake printed with “We’ll miss you” is on the counter. The apartment is comfy, college chic, and in the midst of being packed.

He shares the room with other young, educated African-Americans. RAE, BRION, and CINDY are pouring their pardons to a brother they’ve matriculated through college with.

CINDY

Well, I can’t believe you’re going and I’m going to miss you a lot, the first few months after graduation can be tough, I totally understand. Ugh, it was a struggle after I got my bachelors. Trust me, I know that life after graduation, it’s like, really hard and I been there and done that--

MARLON

...please. Your mother pays your note and your rent and you’ve been out of school a whole year-

CINDY

I don’t know why people think just because I have an, uh, savings account and just because there’s, uh, money in it means I’m rich or something.

MARLON

It does! It means you wouldn’t have to be evicted from your apartment and shipped back to your parent’s house.

CINDY

...close enough...

BRION

Okay. Marlon...

Brion pulls a handwritten letter to Marlon.

BRION (CONT’D)

If I know anybody who can turn tragedy into triumph and go balls to the wall non-stop, it’s you. I know you're going to have and be happy. You are smart, fun, and always ready to turn up and party. You're like a little brother to me and I will miss you. Please don’t make new friends and forget about us...

MARLON

(Laughing)

Aw, thanks, Brion but, I’m not. There’s nothing there, nothing. Crazy the kind a bullshit that goes down there... it’s different.

RAE

Yeah, but it’ll be good to be with family ya know?

MARLON

Yeah... it will.

RAE

You just gotta look on the bright side of it.

MARLON

Which is?...

(Sigh)

I’ll try but, no, thank you guys, really. I been kind of depressed all day packing but, this was a really nice surprise. Really, made my day much better.

CINDY

Aw...

RAE

When do you leave?

MARLON

Six in the morning.

BRION

Damn. Leaving so suddenly man? Wish you could stay a bit longer.

The girls co-sign.

MARLON

I’m sorry guys, eviction is a very abrupt, hasty kind of process. I stayed as long as I could. I’ll miss you guys.

Silence.

RAE

It’s ok, do what you got to do. We’ll miss you too, I’ll miss you.

She feels something for him.

RAE (CONT’D)

Just stay safe ok?

The room get’s a bit denser, Marlon attempts to move on.

MARLON

Brion, make me a slice of that lasagna you brought.

RAE

You don’t want none of that.

Brion bursts into laughter.

BRION

What you mean though?

RAE

Just... don’t do it. Marlon, it’s bad.

BRION

Ok. Listen. I just used a few substitutes, some of which Rae is dissatisfied with, and it just has an interesting flavor. But it’s good!

CINDY

No, thanks, we’ll be ok. Men shouldn’t cook.

(She redacts)

I shouldn’t say that. We can’t keep telling these boys how to be men. That’s how we ended up with Trump! We’ll make a toast, I’ll pour glasses.

She get’s up to do so.

MARLON

What in the world are we about to toast to... for the last time.

CINDY

(reassuring)

Not the last time! To safe travels and well being for Marlon as he bravely takes a step backward before he takes a giant leap forward.

RAE

I’ll toast to that!

They laugh and then make the toast.

EXT. INSIDE - CAR/INT. ANGIES BEDROOM - AROUND 4 AM

Marlon’s car is packed to the brim with luggage and small furniture. He is making his way to Mims, Florida, on the phone with ANGIE, 50, his mother, a wise woman.

MARLON

I left Atlanta at one this morning trying the get a good head start. Should be there by daybreak or something close.

ANGIE

Okay, have you eaten? Do you need some money?

MARLON

Nah, I packed the cooler full of crap that was left in the fridge. Uh, yeah, I’m okay.

ANGIE

I’m gonna transfer some money into your account... stop and get yourself a hot meal, okay baby?

MARLON

I will mom. Thank you.

ANGIE

Be safe. Love you.

MARLON

Love you.

Angie pulls the string to her lamp and lays in bed.

INT. ANDREWS BEDROOM - NIGHT

In a bedroom in the basement of a Florida home, ANDREW and SHELLY are laying in bed after having sex. The red silk sheets barely cover their privates. He kisses her on the mouth.

ANDREW

You gonna rethink ya answer, right?

SHELLY

No, I'm not.

(beat)

Well, not right now... You can’t propose during sex and expect me to take you seriously!

ANDREW

But... I was serious. I am!

SHELLY

Listen, baby. Seriously, I’ma be one hun’ed and honest with you okay?

(moment)

Don’t think just because I’m pregnant you HAVE to marry me.

ANDREW

Oh, I’m not! I’m marrying you because I love you. I love you now more than ever. You strong, and you’ve stood by me.

SHELLY

I love you too but, I just don’t know about marriage Andrew. I love you so much but, let’s just focus on the baby and what we have right now...instead of trying to add to that ya kow?

ANDREW

(he lays his head on her body)

You know I love you right?

SHELLY

You say that...

ANDREW

(as he kisses her body)

‘I say that?’ What... you don’t love me?

SHELLY

You hear that?

ANDREW

Don’t try and avoid the question. I say what?

SHELLY

Hmph, I don’t know. Say that you love me but, can’t act right.

ANDREW

Can’t act right like how?

SHELLY

Sh! Don't you hear that?

ANDREW

You questionin’ me like you got evidence or somethin’. If you ain’t love me you wouldn’t here.

SHELLY

Well, maybe I shouldn’t be here...

THUD!

Andrew jumps up towards the door. Footsteps are heard coming towards the door.

SHELLY (CONT’D)

Who is that?

ANDREW

Don’t worry baby I got you...

BOOM!

The door is kicked down, three thugs wearing all black carrying handguns storm into the room and encircle him. Shelly shreaks. Another man in all black descends the stairs slowly. He must be the leader.

SHELLY

Baby, what did you do?

ANDREW

We’re fine...

A thug lifts his gun to Andrew. The leader puts his hand out. Without saying a word, Andrew pleads for not just his life but, the life of his girlfriend and his unborn child.

The leader signals the gunman and he puts two bullets in his chest and one in his stomach. Shelly screams. The other gunman shoots her in the stomach.

They wait to reassure their pray is dead. Shelly’s chest begins to rise and fall at a steady pace. The third gunman, not noticed to be a female, raises her gun.

Still fighting, Andrew rises to shield Shelly. The female gunman can’t seem to pull the trigger. The leader snatches the gun and shoots Andrew in the head.

CUT TO:

INT. ANGIES BEDROOM - NIGHT

Angie snaps awake in the middle of the night from having a bad, murderous dream.

Thank you for reading, this is copyrighted material.

REVISION 1300

November 1, 2017

Copyright (c) 2013-2017

Keenan Carver

All Rights Reserved

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Donnell Keenan

Donnell Keenan is a multimedia writer who enjoys acting, singing and binge-watching good TV. He has a B.A. in Drama from Morehouse College and is a student at Full Sail University seeking an M.F.A. in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.