Futurism logo

Maybe you`re right

Story

By kuljit mannPublished 3 years ago 12 min read
Like

MAYBE YOU'RE RIGHT

Today I am going through a deep depression and thinking deeply. Understand that the self is being shaken. The reason is that I am not responsible for it. Diseases are afflicted only by the words of the unconscious.

I read a true story of a girl. The girl came to Canada on a student visa. She got engaged in India, and her fiancee spends money to send her to Canada. Sport her three years believing that one day, they would join in Canada. How come anybody of that age could think of a conspiracy.

After getting the permanent resident card, she applied for a different boy, lived in her village.

I talked to the girl in my imagination. Maybe you're right, but why you did it in your early twenties?

"Sir, maybe you're right, but what's wrong with it? My imagination answered me. I have the legal right to do it."

"What is your name?" I asked my imagination."

"People call me with different names, but you could call me `Shadow.`"

I start laughing and said. "Yes, Miss Shadow, who gave you this name?"

"Nobody, I adopt this name myself because I am not independent."

"Nice name, suit you very much."

"Ask me further why I am not independent."

"No need, Miss Shadow, I understand, but if I feel like, I will ask you."

"I know one of your questions and am ready to answer."

"Miss Shadow, don't worry, I know your answer too."

"May I go now?"

"Just tell one thing, how many years you have been engaged."

"Three years, sir."

My phone rang. I went for the phone. Talk to my wife. She asks me to go and buy milk."

Maybe you are right. These words are often used in conversations, and you, Miss Shadow, also uses them.

"I have no alternative. You leave no other way. You want to play alone sometime, and I came to you for your pleasure.

"No, your observation is not quite right. I was thinking about the student girl who betrayed her finance, system, and values too."

"You are not thinking; you are comparing yourself and having good feelings. Am I right?"

"Maybe you are right. Don't believe the news; go and ask the student girl, who is twenty-four years old, about her love, sentiments, and existence; she will correct my question according to her convenience then answer, maybe you are right."

My shadow flashes and disappeared. I am optimistic; Miss shadow knows about my co-worker, Mr.Kumar.I always make hypotheses in my imagination about Mr.Kumar.

I remembered childhood; I finished my homework for summer vacation within a week to enjoy and play the rest of the weeks.

The same thing I did for my marriage. I married to get immigration while thinking to enjoy after going to Canada.

Society is changing with time; twenty years ago, He worked with me. He was on refugee status and trying to get immigration.

Mohan is a good source of income for his lawyer. In his early forties, he worked hard, do work for every dollar. His wife and two sons lived in India. Mohan lived alone in two bedrooms apartment building.

One of his friends came from Vancouver, and Mohan asked him to share his apartment. The friend agreed to start living together and share the rent.

HIs friend Azad was an older man, retired getting a pension but divorced. His second wife is forty years younger than him. That was why he moved to Ontario because his second wife was coming the first time.

Mohan was happier than Azad. Maybe he is right.

When he returned from work one day, Mohan saw a woman sitting on the sofa with Azad.

"Oh, here we are; meet my wife Asha, Mohan."

"You did not tell me before," Kumar asked.

I heard the doorbell open the door, and outside, Asha was smiling. Azad started laughing and said, "I don't know either. I rolled the two suitcases inside, pay the cab driver, and here it is, My Asha."

"Hi guys, I want to give you a surprise."

Asha heard the chirping of the sparrow from the balcony and said, "Wow, you have a sparrow in your balcony."

"No, Bhabi, I did not have it, but she uses to come. I always buy some bird food. Maybe she is getting food from me otherwise."

"Oh, Kumar, you are a smart guy. Having sparrow with no responsibility."

"Yes, Asha, Kumar is a perfect guy. That is why I stayed with him. Now it is your home."

"Guys, let's go for dinner. We celebrate today, Asha's arrival." Kumar was excited.

Asha looked at Kumar and smiled. A lovely invitation is labeled on her face now."

"I think we ordered food; why we go outside in the dark. Kumar, I bought a bottle of scotch yesterday."

"You never told me about that. Now keep your scotch with you. I have mine, so don't worry, Mean Mohan."

Kumar starts laughing by giving the message.

"I am not mean, you know that. Asha knows too. You are working; that is the reason I did not tell you. Otherwise, I am going to tell you on Friday."

Kumar asked Asha too, but she refused, saying Indian women don't drink."

After the fourth shot, Mohan got emotional and said, "Kumar, you are my son; you know my only son is not like me. He disowned me as a father when I fought with my ex. And police involved. They put me in jail because it was my third offense."

Asha asked, "Why, you fought with your wife?"

"She is bitch big time. Always think about money.

"Mohan,sometime we miscaluted the other person."

"No Sunita, she did not visit me in the hospital during my sickness."

"Who is Sunita,Mohan?Kumar asked.

"No Kumar,She is not Sunita,she is Asha.Do You know the meaning of Asha?"

"Of course,He knows the meaning of Asha, mean Hope."

"Yes,Mohan hope for everyone." Asha laughed loudly.

I retired and she withdraw money from our joint account.I was not allowed to enter my house.So I decided to leave her.

"To Sunita?"

"Are you crazy, not Sunita? My ex-wife decided to leave me."

I sold my investment property and put it in my separate account. My son needed money. I know he was advised by his mother. I refused and moved to Toronto from Vancouver.

Now they are complaining to all my relatives. Relatives ask me to reconcile, but I know she is smart, only wants to snatch money which I have."

Kumar asked, "Maybe she thought you are not good enough in bed."

Mohan started laughing and said, "Kumar, it is not the right cause. Asha married me; she knew it is not right."

Asha laughed loudly; you are both drunk now. Why did you talk in front of me on the issue? Yes, Kumar, he is right. I am happy, only sometimes I feel bad when he dyed his hair, but that is ok."

"Everybody has to pay the price for Candian immigration."

"You are right, Kumar," Asha said.

"I disagree with you, Kumar. "Mohan said.

"You could do the business in the matter. Buy it and sell it in retail. Make money and be happy." Kumar said.

The door was knocked on; Kumar opened the door and got food from the delivery man.

"All right, Mohan, have a lovely peg for Asha's arrival, then we eat."

Mohan took it in one shot; he was drunk now. Asha said, "I have a joke for you guys."

"That's great; tell us your joke."

"One time, Lal Singh was drunk like you guys and came in the street where he lived and asked one lady who is standing outside her house,` you know where Lal Singh lives?"

"You are yourself, Lal Singh?

Lal Singh replied, "I know I am Lal Singh, but where Lal Singh lives?

Listening to Asha's joke, both Mohan and Kumar laugh loudly.

Kumar said, "Maybe one day Mohan also ask the same question from somebody."

Mohan was not able to eat. Kumar and Asha ate and then went to their rooms for sleep."

The next day Kumar came to work and told me something but not the whole truth.Actually, truth is still pending.

"What about living, Kumar? Are they going to stay with you under new developments?"

"I don't know yet; Mohan did not ask me to leave."

"Now, you have to share rent money in three parts. It would be good for you. You could save more money."

"No, Deep, I don't know what their plan is, but if they decided to stay, I wouldn't ask two-third of rent. I still pay half."

"I smiled and asked, "Why, you don't have to pay half."

"Deep, if a woman stays in the home, I don't have to cook, cleaning and do laundry myself."

I start laughing, and Kumar said, "I know what you are thinking. Maybe or maybe not. I will ask my wife first."

The next day Kumar was pleased. He told me that he phoned his wife at lunch break, and she said nothing was wrong. Save your money. At least you will get cooked food.

"How long have you stayed apart from your wife, Kumar?"

"Almost six years. I don't know how much time; we have to stay away from each other. My lawyer told me, almost you need two more years."

"Very hard to live like that, May God bless you, Kumar."

"Thanks, Deep, Two years not bad, but I am worried about my eldest son. He is seventeen now. If I could not get immigration within the next four years, My son won't be able to come."

"Kumar, we should think about a step ahead. With small steps, we achieved our goals. You should think about Asha now, how to hook her in your net." I laughed and saw Kumar is smiling too.

"I want it, Deep, but I am scared. You guide me.

I will tell you everything from now on. Last night I saw her in the washroom half-naked.The door was not locked.I said sorry and came back to the living room. Mohan was in the kitchen. When Asha came out, she did not say anything and smiled a little. What does that mean, Deep?"

"You did not observe anything yet. Try to talk something in the right direction, and then we discuss the matter more."

After the weekend, Kumar told me about the relation of Asha and Mohan."

"Deep, Mohan was not home, and this is the time for me to talk to Asha."

"Asha Bhabi, are you happy here in Canada?"

"Yes, brother, I am happy."

"I mean your married life. Mohan is old, and you are still young. How you married?"

"Mohan is a nice guy, but he lied to us in India."

"What kind of lie?"

"He told us he is a rich businessman has four gas stations and his wife died. He needs a partner."

"Oh my God, Mohan is not like that, then what happens?"

"I was surprised with his lies. I faced so many lies in life, and Mohan was not a rich man. I knew right from the beginning."

"How come?"

"His habits, his behavior suggested me, but he is a Canadian citizen, that is enough for me."

"I think you also faced the cruel face of life like me."

"Yes, Bro, we have three sisters and one brother. My father died in a car accident. I have to quit my studies and join a job as we need money for bread and butter. I have to compromise with my boss, you know what I mean, and Mohan came to our office to meet my boss as they are friends. Mohan saw me working there, and after two days, Mohan came again, and my boss calls me in the office and tell me straight forward to stay with Mohan for two days."

"The time is changing very fast. It never happens when I was there seven years ago, but values are diluted day by day. What happens next?"

"Mohan and I went to Shimla for two days. I told my mother I am going out for office work. Mom understands everything but cannot do anything; she said, take care of yourself."

"In Shimla, he told me lots of lies and purposed me, which I accept. When immigration officer in the Canadian embassy, why you married with an older man who is almost forty years older than you. My lawyer already told me about this question and suggested the answer. I answered the officer that I love him because he believed in the values of life. I am very much impressed, I purpose him, and he kindly accepted it."

"In the past, the Canadian system believes you until it is proven wrong. Now I came to know the situation changed a little bit. You have to prove it now. The burden of proof on your shoulder to show that you are telling the truth."

"Interesting, Kumar, now lunch break is over. We will talk again tomorrow on the same topic.

I saw Kumar while working he is pleased as he found a treasure.

The next day, I observed he is delighted. I waited until lunch break.

We took lunch separate from others.

Just tell me, is there any hope?" I asked the first question.

"Yes, Deep, I asked the same question to Mohan too."

"Oh my God, what Mohan said and what you ask, smart guy?"

"Mohan?

"Yes, Kumar?"

"Asha is wonderful."

Mohan started laughing and said, "Don't think something stupid. She is my wife, and I want a baby from her. Let me finish my job first. I don't want to share anything with my first wife and her son."

"As soon as I heard Mohan about his first job. I knew Asha is just a toy for Mohan."

Evening around six, Mohan and I went outside. Mohan met his old friend in the Mall, and they started drinking in the car. I told them I am expecting a phone call from India came home alone."

"Yes, you have a golden chance to see Asha alone."

"I came home; Asha told me about a call from India from my wife."

"Then what you said to my wife.?"

"Your wife is a very nice and friendly brother. She told me to take care of you."

"Then listen to her and stop calling me brother."

Asha laughed loudly and said, "Et Tu brute?"

"Of course, I am a human being."

You can also watch the English song 'May Be You Right' on YouTube.

You may be right, and you may be wrong, but I don't want any more complications with you. I should have stopped thinking that long ago.

conventions
Like

About the Creator

kuljit mann

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.