Futurism logo

MATA

Why did I leave Earth?

By Brittany UpchurchPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
MATA
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

"I knew she'd make it", the woman said as she peered into my eyes. I thought I was screaming because I felt my heart racing inside my chest, but I wasnt. The woman I woke up to said, "You will be able to speak soon. Your throat is sore because of the tubes used for feeding and oxygen." I could feel my eyes bulging and throat trying to scream even though I just heard the news. "Calm down honey, it'll be ok." she said.

A tear fell from my eye, down my cheek and onto my pillow. "My name is Junm. I've been watching over you since you arrived. I know you are wondering where you are and whats going on. Well.... Mata... you've been chosen." I'm pretty sure she could tell I was pondering.

Junm begin to speak again. "Do you remember anything before waking up here?"

She waved her hand and my eyes followed.

Candles lit all around the room and I could hear drums as low as a whisper. I smelled Egytptian Musk as soon as I woke up and it gave me a familiar feeling because I always smell like it with a hint of 360. I could tell the walls were filled with rose wallpaper decor. I could see the moon and stars above me with the help of a skylight. The sight of the moon softened me just a bit.

Junm continued.

"You were named Mata once you arrived. I saw the strength in you once your heart was put to the test and it never gave out. You arrived pretty beat up."

"You proved everyone in this Galaxy wrong."

My eyes bulged once again.

"Yes, Galaxy" she said, "Where you come from will be a task that is given to you to explore once you're better. Your memory will return, I'm sure, but for now, lets focus on getting better."

Junm stood up and I knew I was definitely on another planet. I saw that her hair was white when I woke up, but once again, didnt pay it any mind. Junm was as tall as the ceiling and all of a sudden she descended to my eye level. She wore a chest plate that was made of diamonds and fur. Her pants black, but with digital patterns flashing all over. Her shoes were platforms that were 3 tiered. Goldfish, sparkling dust and it looked like moonsand on the bottom. Her necklace had a glowing emblem in the middle with a picture of a woman on it. The woman in the picture winked at me and smiled.

I looked surprised.

She leaned in and said "I was chosen just like you." He took my legs and Elui gave them back to me once I arrived in this place. She took my hand. It is more than just my legs, it is the seeing of the horizon when I'm at my lowest point. I once thought I'd never walk again, but this place gave me hope. "You will get back what was taken from you in 7fold. While you're resting, try to remember what was taken so when the time comes, Elui can give you what you ask of. I'll be back Mata." She walked out of my eyesight and I began to process everything that just happened.

As I begin to remember my children, Junm appeared in the skylight taller than before and said. "They are here and safe. They are in the house of Trilo. Eating and drinking all their favorites and making new friends with children who have been chosen just like them."

A tear fell from my eye again. I was relieved to hear that I had not lost them or left them on Earth without me. It seemed as though Junm took a piece of the brightest star and crumbled it in her hands above me. For a second, as the sparkling dust fell, I saw pictographs of my boys doing just as Junm said. I smiled at the thought of their happiness.

I thought to myself,

"I gotta figure out why we left Earth, Who hurt me and what I want from Elui."

As I smiled, the dust blanketed me and I drifted off to sleep.

science fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.