Futurism logo

Mary and the Fairy Butterfly

There was a little girl named Mary. She lived in the woods with her parents. Mary loved to sing and dance.

By BIG NAPPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mary and the Fairy Butterfly
Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

There was a little girl named Mary.

She lived in the woods with her parents.

Mary loved to sing and dance.

She would sing every day while out playing in the garden.

One day, Mary went out to the garden.

She was singing and dancing amidst beautiful white roses, the saints of the roses filled the air in the utmost delight.

Mary loved the smell and moved closer to sniff the beautiful flowers. As she moved closer, a beautifully coloured butterfly perched on it, Mary smiled and held out her hand.

The butterfly flew and landed on her tiny palm, she carried the butterfly and danced around with it.

Soon she got tired and decided to head back home.

On turning back, she soon discovered how far she has gone into the woods and more distant into places she had never been.

She felt lost and afraid. As the sunsets, she began to worry about her parents and the danger of wild animals that may be in the woods.

Lost in her thoughts, she heard a whisper, it was the butterfly she played with.

Mary! Come with me to the fairyland, said the butterfly.

Mary was shocked to hear the butterfly speak. She opened her mouth and then covered it with her palm.

Don’t be afraid Mary, come with me and you shall be safe in the fairyland, the butterfly spoke again.

My parents would be worried about me. I need to go home now, Mary replied.

Going back home alone by this time is dangerous, you will be safe at the fairyland, the butterfly replied.

But won’t they think something dangerous already happened to me? Mary asked again.

I think your parents would want you to be safe for the night. The butterfly replied.

Do you know where I live? Can you take me home? Mary asked.

I know you live in a small cottage by the big tree in the inhabited area of the woods, and Yes! I can take you home. The butterfly replied.

How is it you know so much about me? Mary asked.

I know so much about you because I am your fairy butterfly. The butterfly replied.

My fairy butterfly? Mary stuttered.

Yes! I am bound to protect you if you ever got lost. But first, we must head over to the fairyland where you would be safe for the night.

Mary followed the fairy butterfly to the fairyland. She was amazed by what she saw, it was a beautiful garden with colourful flowers and glowworms swarming in the dark.

Welcome to the fairyland. A female voice echoed.

Mary turned around to saw a beautiful woman smiling warmly at her.

Thank you. Can I know who you are? Mary asked.

Yes! I am the fairy godmother. And I can make your wish come true.

Really? Can I make a wish? Mary asked.

Yes, and it shall be granted right away. Replied the fairy godmother.

I wish to live here forever! Mary said.

Careful what you wish for Mary, you might not like it. The fairy godmother warned.

Mary remembered her parents, their small comfortable cottage, and her garden of beautiful white roses.

She realized what she truly wanted was to be back home with her parents, sleeping on her warm cosy bed, and dreaming sweetly as the twilight gives way to the dawn.

I want to be back home to my parents with my fairy butterfly, Mary said.

The fairy godmother smiled and said, you have made the right choice, and your wish is granted!

So, Mary got back home with her fairy butterfly and lived happily with her parents.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

BIG NAP

BIG NAP features morally impactful bedtime stories and fairy tales for people who want to find rest and rejuvenate.

We created each new episode to help you rest and find sleep. Join BIG NAP!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.