Futurism logo

MAGICAL EVENING

Treasure Chest

By Lillian ChadPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
2

Oh, my goodness, sleep is not coming easy tonight. I am very aware of the reason for this as the excitement mounts. The alarm is set for 8 am for our girl's trip to the Harry Potter festival. That will allow me an hour to get ready. I could really use a little sleep beforehand as it is sure to be a very eventful day. Up I get to make a sleepytime tea, that should surely do the trick.

The alarm is buzzing away, I can always rely on sleepytime tea to put me out. The sun is shining, and the sky is bright what a wonderful day this is going to be. On goes the kettle for my morning coffee and then in the shower, I go. The excitement is mounting as I pull out the costume that is mine to wear. Each of us girls has picked their favorite Harry Potter character to create their costume for the day ahead. I will be the Golden Snitch. While dressing I was careful to make sure I was wearing my Citrine crystal to amplify my attraction to magic and wealth.

9 am Bonnie arrives, wearing her amazing Dobby costume. Oh, my goodness she looks amazing!! I would swear it is Dobby himself. Her costume even included the famous Dobby sock that gave him his freedom. The next knock on the door was Debbie, I laughed out loud seeing her costume. She would be Ronald Weasley for the day. Another amazing job on her costume, complete with the red hair and broken wand taped together. Bonnie will drive us to Stars’ house for our final pick-up. Star was adorned as Professor McGonagall appearing very authentic indeed. Now just a short 45-minute drive and we will be there; the wait is almost over.

Wow! Look at all the stunning festivities. There are spell lessons, a levitation exhibit, even a potions class, absolutely amazing! The shops were remarkable, all complete with the most magical of items.

I bought a little chest in one of the magic stores, it would not open in the store, but it had piqued my interest and imagination, so I had to have it. The etchings on the box were ancient and mystical and I thought it would make a great conversation piece. After leaving the store with my unique find I could feel a strange sensation in the tips of my fingers. I thought perhaps it was the way I was carrying the bag, so I switched hands. After about ten minutes it started again. The strange tingling in my fingers. How strange; what is going on? Am I having a bad reaction to something I ate? I sat down on a nearby bench and set the bag down beside me. I told the girls what was happening, then asked if they all felt fine? The answer was a resounding YES, they felt nothing but the excitement of the festival. I decided to put this out of my mind and continue enjoying our exhilarating day.

Off we go to Platform 9 ¾ for the train to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. This was our last stop at the festival and then time for our journey to end. The train started up and a short time later it went completely dark. Suddenly the bag with my treasure chest inside started pulsating! What in the world is happening? I was starting to believe I was utterly losing my mind! We arrived at our destination and made our way back to our vehicle for our ride home.

I carefully placed my purchase into the trunk and settled in for the ride home. The journey home was great we were all discussing our favorite event of the day. The sounds, the colors, the excitement that was in the air. Such incredible fun! Dobby was the costume winner. Dobby was asked all day to appear in everyone's photos. It was utterly amazing!!

We were all a buzz as we embarked on our final journey of the day, home. The absolute fun we had! We will definitely join the festival again next year. After dropping off Star and Debbie, it was my turn to bid Bonnie goodnight, thanking her for driving for the day. Grabbing my package from the trunk, I headed inside.

“Wow what a day! I had so much fun, I am blessed to have such incredible friends.” I was, however, worn out now, and my bed was looking welcoming. I placed my beautiful treasure on my dining table, after of course, admiring it once again.

I jolted awake. I could hear a very loud strange sound. I have to say it was giving me quite the fright. I peeked out of my room. There was a bright light that seemed to be coming from the table. Yes, the very table on which I put my amazing treasure. “Slowly I crept towards the table feeling very vulnerable, to say the least. What in the world was happening? The mystical chest was glowing and vibrating, and the lid was open?? What??” Strange the girls and I all tried to open the chest back at the festival, without any success... Now it is just sitting here open. Had it opened on its own? I crept a little closer, and closer again. I was within reach of the chest, but hesitation was making me stall. I wanted to reach out and touch the glowing box but was terribly afraid. I have never witnessed anything like this before. I have only really seen this type of thing in the movies. Was I dreaming? Yes, that had to be it, I was dreaming. I decided that if I pinched myself, I would be able to tell if I was awake or asleep.

Oh my gosh that hurt, I am definitely awake.

With trembling hands, I reached out for the glowing chest. How did the lid open? I hope this is safe to touch, “I can’t lie, the anticipation is killing me! Okay, here I go, picking it up, I can feel the power surging through me. Wow-what an amazing feeling! So much power in the palms of my hands.” I inspected the chest and there was a little black book inside. “That’s where the power was coming from, I can see it vibrating”. I slowly reach for the little black book and remove it from the chest. “It looks ancient-old world, perhaps.” The cover is bound leather, and the pages worn. I slowly open the cover to reveal what looks like instructions?

Turn my pages one by one, until they are completely done

Follow thru and do believe

Your greatest wish you will soon receive

Instill your wishes as you turn my pages

To bring forth the magic of the ages

Once completed place me in the magic chest

Within a day you will be blessed

Page one: DEAGUN your spell has begun

Page two: MEEKTU finances new

Page three: ABAISEE money will come to me

Page four: CEEFOR opportunity knocks at my door

Page five: AMPILZE prosperity thrives

Page six: IBRAXIS this spell is then fixed

Page seven: ZEEMOTO success is bestowed

Page eight: BELATE money is indeed great

Page nine: ABAGOSED all things are bestowed

Wow, that was intense! I followed all instructions as carefully as I could and placed the little black book back into the ancient chest. Seconds after removing my fingers from the box, the lid slammed closed. Incredible! It was back to the chest that would not open. Like this entire event was a figment of my imagination.

I definitely needed to lay down and rest after such an extraordinary experience. I was exhausted.

Sleep came easy, and I enjoyed a very peaceful slumber. I awoke to such a beautiful day. The birds were singing, the sun was shining, and I had experienced a great phenomenon. One that I am sure no one would believe. I enjoyed a lighthearted feeling deep inside as the day progressed. Around 4 pm I saw a black beautiful sedan pull up in my driveway. The driver was wearing a black cap. My heart started to race! What in the world? I proceeded to the door and opened it. Standing there was a very professional gentleman donned in a black suit and white gloves. In his hand was an official-looking envelope. My excitement was through the roof at this point!

He started to speak. “Excuse me, may I please speak with Marie Scot.”

“This is she.”

"I have a registered letter for you," he replied.

With trembling hands, I reached for the envelope. The driver handed me a pen to sign for the envelope and then instructed me to open it. It was his duty to ensure that I had indeed read the contents of the envelope. I opened the letter:

Dear Ms. Marie Scot, it is my duty to inform you that you have inherited the sum of $20,000.00 from Mr. K. Bary whom you assisted with kind-heartedness one afternoon on July 12, 2018 at Foodland.

The simple note attached read:

This act of kindness was never forgotten by me, a gesture dear to my heart, therefore I award you $20,000.00.

K. Bary

Wow, my heart was racing. How wonderful and so exceptionally kind of him to remember me and my small act of kindness. I am truly blessed.

Later that evening my thoughts went back to my strange evening the night before. Wow indeed the Little Black Book worked, and I have truly witnessed the magic of the Universe.

fantasy
2

About the Creator

Lillian Chad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.